Project profile — Plan International Canada - Plan for Girls



Overview 

CA-3-D004877001
$18,145,637
Plan International Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011149)
2018-10-31 - 2025-09-30
Operational
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Cameroon (50.00%)
• Benin (50.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Education: Basic life skills for youth and adults (11230) (20.00%)
• Secondary Education: Vocational training (11330) (10.00%)
• Population policy and administrative management:
Population policy and administrative management (13010) (20.00%)
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (15.00%)
• Women's rights organisations and movements, and government institutions:
Women's rights organisations and movements, and government institutions (15170) (20.00%)
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (15.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The project will help empower adolescent girls in Benin and Cameroon. It will give them access to improved, adolescent-friendly services in the areas of education, sexual and reproductive health and rights and economic empowerment by creating an integrated package of core, community-level activities for adolescents. The project uses an approach that put girls at the center of its actions, working in collaboration with parents, community leaders and governments, to advance gender equality and empower adolescent girls. The project also addresses persistent challenges to girls’ rights and wellbeing, including discriminating social practices. Project activities include: (1) increasing girls’ knowledge regarding their rights, and child protection; (2) strengthening adolescent girls’ and boys’ groups that conduct peer-to-peer education on gender equality, rights and child protection and monitoring of related services; (3) changing attitudes of families, communities and leaders to contribute to a gender equitable social environment conductive to the realization of adolescent girls’ rights; and (4) providing training to service providers to deliver improved services to adolescent girls in sexual and reproductive health, education and vocational training, and child protection. The project engages adolescent girls and service providers across various sectors, including health, education and children’s rights to increase their life skills, and active participation in decision making and governance bodies. The project expects to directly benefit nearly 123,367 people, including 57,000 adolescent girls.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved agency of adolescent girls and young women to execute decisions regarding their rights; (2) improved delivery of protective, gender-responsive and adolescent-friendly services; and (3) Enhanced local government coordination and institutional responsiveness to the rights of adolescent girls and young women.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of March 2023 include: (1) 8,047 young people (4,982 girls and 3,065 boys) are mobilized in groups (school and savings groups); (2) 4,271 girls trained on life skills and skills for a successful transition to economically productive options such as entrepreneurship, financial literacy and job training; (3) 689 traditional and religious leaders sensitized to the girls' empowerment program; (4) 12,375 parents (7,060 women and 5,315 men) sensitized to support girls' education and participation; (5) 88 health service providers (35 women and 53 men) trained to provide adolescent-friendly and gender-sensitive services; and (6) 362 employees (158 women and 204 men) at the commune and district levels trained on laws, policies and mechanisms that support adolescent girls' issues and participation.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $500,000
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Plan International Canada - Plan pour les filles



Aperçu 

CA-3-D004877001
18 145 637 $
Plan International Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011149)
2018-10-31 - 2025-09-30
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Cameroun (50,00%)
• Bénin (50,00%)

Secteur 

• Éducation de base : Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11230) (20,00%)
• Éducation secondaire : Formation professionnelle (11330) (10,00%)
• Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative :
Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (20,00%)
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (15,00%)
• Organisations et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes et institutions gouvernementales :
Organisations et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes et institutions gouvernementales (15170) (20,00%)
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (15,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet contribue à l’autonomisation des adolescentes au Bénin et au Cameroun. Il leur permettra d'accéder à des services améliorés et adaptés aux adolescents dans les domaines de l'éducation, de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs et de l'autonomisation économique en créant un ensemble intégré d'interventions de base au niveau de la communauté pour les adolescents. Le projet utilise une approche qui place les filles au centre de ses actions, en travaillant en collaboration avec les parents, les dirigeants de communauté et les gouvernements, afin de faire progresser l'égalité entre les genres et d’autonomiser des adolescentes. Le projet s'attaque également aux problèmes persistants qui menacent les droits et le bien-être des filles, notamment les pratiques sociales discriminatoires. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) améliorer les connaissances des filles concernant leurs droits et la protection de l'enfance; 2) renforcer les groupes d'adolescents et de garçons qui mènent une éducation de pair à pair sur l'égalité des sexes, les droits et la protection de l'enfance et le suivi des services connexes; 3) changer les attitudes des familles, de la communauté et des dirigeants pour contribuer à un environnement social équitable entre les sexes et propice à la réalisation des droits des adolescentes; 4) fournir la formation aux prestataires de services pour qu'ils puissent offrir de meilleurs services aux adolescentes en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive, d'éducation et de formation professionnelle, et de protection de l'enfance. Le projet engage les adolescentes et les prestataires de services dans divers secteurs, notamment la santé, l'éducation et les droits de l'enfant, afin d'accroître leurs compétences de vie, et leur participation active aux organes de décision et de gouvernance. Le projet compte bénéficier directement à environ 123 367 personnes, dont 57 000 adolescentes.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) amélioration du pouvoir des adolescentes et des jeunes femmes pour l’exercice des décisions concernant leurs droits; 2) amélioration de la prestation de services de protection, sexospécifiques et adaptés aux besoins des adolescentes; 3) amélioration de la coordination des autorités locales et de la réactivité des institutions vis-à-vis des droits des adolescentes et des jeunes femmes.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2023 : 1) 8 047 jeunes (4 982 filles et 3 065 garçons) sont mobilisés dans des groupes (groupes scolaires et groupes d'épargne); 2) formation de 4 271 filles sur les compétences de vie et les compétences pour une transition réussie vers des options économiquement productives telles que l'esprit d'entreprise, l'alphabétisation financière et la formation professionnelle; 3) 689 chefs traditionnels et religieux sont sensibilisés au programme d'autonomisation des filles; 4) 12 375 parents (7 060 femmes et 5 315 hommes) sensibilisés au soutien de l'éducation et de la participation des filles; 5) 88 prestataires de services de santé (35 femmes et 53 hommes) formés à fournir des services adaptés aux adolescents et sensibles à la dimension de genre; (6) 362 employés (158 femmes et 204 hommes) formés au niveau de la commune et du district aux lois, politiques et mécanismes qui soutiennent les questions et la participation des adolescentes.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 1 000 000 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
09-01-2024 Déboursé 1 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :