Project profile — Women’s Voice and Leadership – Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Women’s Voice and Leadership – Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) - Overview
CA-3-D004891001
$9,000,000
The Carter Center (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011123)
2018-12-24 - 2023-12-01
Operational
Country / region • Congo, Democratic Republic (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project is part of Canada’s Women’s Voice and Leadership Program, which supports local and regional women’s organizations and networks that are working to promote women’s rights, and advance women’s empowerment and gender equality in developing countries. This is done by supporting activities, building institutional capacity, and promoting network and alliance-building as women’s rights and feminist organizations are critical agents of change. The Program also responds to the globally recognized, significant gap in funding and support to women’s rights organizations and movements around the world. This project provides Congolese women’s organizations with the tools, resources, funding and mentoring needed to strengthen and sustain their technical and organizational capacity to drive change and promote the rights of women and girls, as well as advance gender equality in five provinces of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). This project is implemented by The Carter Centre. Project activities include: (1) providing tailored, long-term training and mentorship for Congolese women’s organizations; (2) providing Congolese women’s organizations with direct, multi-year funding; (3) establishing and strengthening networks of women’s organizations by facilitating exchanges to share experiences, accomplishments and lessons learned in order to build solidarity around a common vision for the feminist movement; and (4) supporting women’s rights organizations in the design and development of their advocacy strategies. This project supports new and innovative approaches to promote the rights of women and girls and advance their empowerment through a separate fund open to a broad range of Congolese women’s organizations.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved management, sustainability, performance and innovation of local women’s rights organizations; (2) increased collaboration, collective action and innovation of local women’s rights organizations and platforms to advance gender equality and the rights of women; and (3) increased effectiveness of women’s rights organizations, platforms and movements to affect policy, legal and social change in the DRC.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2022 include: (1) increased the capacity to manage programs sustainably in 57% of women’s rights organizations supported by this project; (2) delivered funds to 21 women’s rights organizations to achieve at least 50% of their objectives; (3) increased the ability of seven women’s rights organizations to work together on key women’s rights issues of shared concern; and (4) increased the capacity to advocate and network for women’s participation in nine women’s rights organizations. Ultimate results include the contribution to increased enjoyment of human rights by women and girls and the advancement of gender equality.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,330,000
Planned Disbursement $3,000,000
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Women’s Voice and Leadership – Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix et leadership des femmes – République démocratique du Congo (RDC)

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix et leadership des femmes – République démocratique du Congo (RDC) - Aperçu
CA-3-D004891001
9 000 000 $
The Carter Center (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011123)
2018-12-24 - 2023-12-01
Actif
Pays / région • Congo, République démocratique du (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet fait partie du programme Voix et leadership des femmes du Canada, qui appuie les organisations et les réseaux locaux et régionaux de femmes œuvrant à promouvoir le droit des femmes, le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, et l’égalité des genres dans le pays en développement. Étant donné que les organisations de défense des droits des femmes et les organisations féministes sont des agents de changement essentiels, le but est d’appuyer leurs activités, de renforcer leurs capacités institutionnelles et de favoriser la création de réseaux et d’alliances. Le programme répond également à un important manque de financement et d’appui, reconnu à l’échelle mondiale, pour les organisations et les mouvements de défense des droits des femmes à travers le monde. Ce projet fournit aux organisations de femmes les outils, les ressources, le financement et le parrainage nécessaires pour renforcer et pérenniser leurs capacités techniques et organisationnelles afin de susciter un changement progressif et de promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles, et de renforcer l’égalité des genres en cinq provinces de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC). Le projet est mis en œuvre par The Carter Centre. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) livrer un ensemble de formation et de mentorat adapté, et à long terme visant le renforcement des capacités des organisations de femmes congolaises; 2) fournir un financement direct et pluriannuel à des organisations de femmes congolaises; 3) établir et renforcer des réseaux de promotion des droits des femmes en facilitant des échanges d’expériences, de succès et de leçons apprises dans le but de construire une solidarité autour d'une vision commune pour le mouvement féministe; 4) appuyer des organisations de femmes congolaises œuvrant à promouvoir les droits des femmes dans la conception et le développement de leurs stratégies de plaidoyer. Ce projet appuie aussi des approches novatrices pour promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles, le renforcement de leur pouvoir, et l’égalité des genres à travers un fonds spécifique qui est accessible à un large éventail d’organisations de femmes congolaises.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés pour ce projet comprennent : 1) l’amélioration de la gestion, viabilité, performance et innovation des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes; 2) collaboration, action collective et innovation accrues des organisations et des plateformes des droits des femmes pour faire progresser l'égalité entre les genres et le droit des femmes; 3) l’efficacité accrue des plateformes, des réseaux et d’alliances nationaux et sous-nationaux (ou régionaux) de défense des droits des femmes pour influer sur les changements politiques, juridiques et sociaux en RDC.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2022 : 1) la capacité de gérer des programmes de manière durable de 57 % des organisations de défense des droits des femmes soutenues par ce projet a été renforcée; 2) des fonds ont été accordés à 21 organisations de défense des droits des femmes pour qu’elles atteignent au moins 50 % de leurs objectifs; 3) la capacité de sept organisations de défense des droits des femmes à travailler ensemble sur des questions clés de droits des femmes d’intérêt commun a été renforcée; 4) la capacité de défense des droits et de mise en réseau pour la participation des femmes de neuf organisations de défense des droits des femmes a été renforcée. Les résultats ultimes incluent la contribution au renforcement de l’exercice des droits de la personne des femmes et des filles et le renforcement de l’égalité des genres.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 330 000 $
Décaissements prévus 3 000 000 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix et leadership des femmes – République démocratique du Congo (RDC) - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: