Project profile — Support to the Inter-American Investment Corporation (IIC) - IDB Invest 2016-2025

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to the Inter-American Investment Corporation (IIC) - IDB Invest 2016-2025 - Overview
CA-3-D004901001
$87,907,528
IIC – Inter-American Investment Corporation (XM-DAC-46012)
2016-03-18 - 2025-12-31
Operational
Country / region • America, regional (100.00%)
Sector • Education, Level Unspecified
Education facilities and training (11120) (0.00%)
• Basic Education
Primary education (11220) (0.01%)
• Secondary Education
Secondary education (11320) (0.20%)
• Post-Secondary Education
Higher education (11420) (0.37%)
• Post-Secondary Education
Advanced technical and managerial training (11430) (0.00%)
• Health, General
Medical services (12191) (0.11%)
• Water And Sanitation
Water supply - large systems (14021) (0.39%)
• Water And Sanitation
Sanitation - large systems (14022) (0.39%)
• Water And Sanitation
River basins' development (14040) (1.19%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Housing policy and administrative management (16030) (0.03%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Low-cost housing (16040) (0.22%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Multi-sector aid for basic social services (16050) (0.03%)
• Transport And Storage
Transport policy and administrative management (21010) (0.15%)
• Transport And Storage
Road transport (21020) (13.21%)
• Transport And Storage
Water transport (21040) (1.70%)
• Transport And Storage
Air transport (21050) (0.12%)
• Communication
Telecommunications (22020) (0.04%)
• Communication
Information and communication technology (ICT) (22040) (0.10%)
• Energy Generation, Renewable Resources
Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies (23210) (17.59%)
• Energy Generation, Renewable Resources
Hydro-electric power plants (23220) (3.75%)
• Heating, Cooling And Energy Distribution
Electric power transmission and  distribution (23630) (0.99%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Financial policy and administrative management (24010) (6.69%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Monetary institutions (24020) (2.52%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Formal sector financial intermediaries (24030) (30.35%)
• Banking And Financial Services
Informal/semi-formal financial intermediaries (24040) (3.51%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural development (31120) (0.03%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural extension (31166) (0.05%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural research (31182) (0.08%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural financial services (31193) (3.55%)
• Forestry
Forestry policy and administrative management (31210) (4.04%)
• Industry
Industrial policy and administrative management (32110) (1.20%)
• Industry
Small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) development (32130) (1.19%)
• Industry
Textiles, leather and substitutes (32163) (4.03%)
• Industry
Fertilizer plants (32165) (0.03%)
• Mineral Resources And Mining
Coal (32261) (1.49%)
• Trade Policy And Regulations And Trade-Related Adjustment
Trade education/training (33181) (0.21%)
• Tourism
Tourism policy and administrative management (33210) (0.33%)
• General Environmental Protection
Environmental policy and administrative management (41010) (0.02%)
• Other Multisector
Urban development (43032) (0.03%)
• Unallocated/ Unspecified
Sectors not specified (99810) (0.06%)
Policy marker • Climate change mitigation (significant objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This contribution represents Canada’s institutional support to the Inter-American Investment Corporation (IIC) – IDB Invest, which is part of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Group. The IIC is the IDB Group's main entity for private sector operations. The IIC is a development finance institution that traditionally has provided loans to support small and medium sized enterprises. As of January 2016, the private sector operations of the IDB were merged into the IIC, which also included a capital increase to support its expanded activities, and in 2017, the IIC was rebranded to IDB Invest. IDB Invest works with large corporations, financial intermediaries, micro-, small- and medium-sized enterprises, and partially or wholly-owned state enterprises, providing advisory services and financing in the form of loans, equity investments and guarantees in Latin America and the Caribbean. Projects financed by IDB Invest must demonstrate a return on investment and foster sustainable economic development. This can include projects that create jobs, broaden capital ownership, generate net foreign exchange income, facilitate transfers of resources and technology, use local resources, encourage local savings or promote economic integration. IDB Invest focuses its operations on the following five priority business areas: (1) increasing micro-, small- and medium-sized enterprises access to finance and technical assistance; (2) promoting infrastructure for development; (3) supporting innovation and technological development; (4) enhancing private provision of basic goods and services; and (5) fostering green growth. Each priority business area takes into account three transversal issues: gender and diversity, environmental and social sustainability, and enabling environment.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) reductions of greenhouse gas emissions (annual millions tons CO2 equivalent); (2) contribution to support formal employment of women; (3) students benefit through education projects; (4) beneficiaries receiving health services; (5) help beneficiaries improve the management and sustainable use of natural capital; (6) households benefit from housing solutions; (7) jobs created by supported firms; (8) people benefit from on-the-job training programs; (9) women benefit from economic empowerment initiatives; (10) micro, small and medium sized enterprises financed; (11) households with new or upgraded access to drinking water; (12) households with new or upgraded access to sanitation; (13) installed power generation from renewable energy sources; and (14) roads built or upgraded.

Results achieved

2017 marked the second year that the Inter-American Development Group (IDB Group) consolidated its results reporting under a single Corporate Results Framework (CRF) for 2016-2019 with common indicators and many joint targets covering the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), IDB Invest (Inter-American Investment Corporation – IIC) and IDB Lab (Multilateral Investment Fund – MIF). Cumulative results achieved at the corporate level in 2016 and 2017 by the IDB Group through the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors include: (1) supported approximately 6.2 million students through education projects; (2) provided about 9.4 million individuals with health services; (3) supported 8.3 million individuals through targeted anti-poverty programs; (4) provided access to new or improved sanitation to more than 662,000 households and drinking water to over 634,000 households; (5) improved housing for over 266,000 households; (6) supported approximately 627,000 women through economic empowerment initiatives; (6) created almost 175,000 jobs through IDB supported firms and provided on-the-job training to almost 544,000 individuals; (7) built, maintained or upgraded 4,181 km of roads; (8) ensured 100% of installed power generation capacity was from renewable energy and reduced close to 8.5 million tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions; (9) helped over 812,000 beneficiaries improve the management and sustainable use of natural capital; (10) trained or assisted over 62,000 public and private sector professionals in trade and investment; (11) financed more than 967,000 micro, small, and medium sized enterprises (MSMEs) and provided non-financial support to almost 184,000 MSMEs; (12) supported 123 government agencies to improve public service delivery through projects that strengthen technological and managerial tools; and (13) supported 470 subnational governments in Latin America and the Caribbean through citizen security projects.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,924,990
Planned Disbursement $3,208,759
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to the Inter-American Investment Corporation (IIC) - IDB Invest 2016-2025 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — IIC – Inter-American Investment Corporation
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Encashment basis
Multilateral
Core contributions to multilateral institutions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui à la Société interaméricaine d'investissement (SII) - BID Invest 2016-2025



Aperçu 

CA-3-D004901001
87 907 528 $
SII – Société interaméricaine d’investissement (46012)
2016-03-18 - 2025-12-31
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement

Pays / région 

• Amérique, régional (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Éducation, niveau non spécifié : Équipements scolaires et formation (11120) (0,00%)
• Éducation de base : Enseignement primaire (11220) (0,01%)
• Éducation secondaire : Enseignement secondaire (11320) (0,20%)
• Enseignement supérieur :
Enseignement supérieur (11420) (0,37%)
Formation technique supérieure de gestion (11430) (0,00%)
• Santé, général : Services médicaux (12191) (0,11%)
• Approvisionnement en eau - systèmes à grande échelle :
Approvisionnement en eau - systèmes à grande échelle (14021) (0,39%)
Assainissement - systèmes à grande échelle (14022) (0,39%)
Aménagement de bassins fluviaux (14040) (1,19%)
• Politique du logement et gestion administrative :
Politique du logement et gestion administrative (16030) (0,03%)
Logement à coût réduit (16040) (0,22%)
Aide plurisectorielle pour les services sociaux de base (16050) (0,03%)
• Politique des transports et gestion administrative :
Politique des transports et gestion administrative (21010) (0,15%)
Transport routier (21020) (13,21%)
Transport par voies d'eau (21040) (1,70%)
Transport aérien (21050) (0,12%)
• Télécommunications :
Télécommunications (22020) (0,04%)
Technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) (22040) (0,10%)
• Production d'énergie, sources renouvelables - multiples technologies :
Production d'énergie, sources renouvelables - multiples technologies (23210) (17,59%)
Centrales hydrauliques (23220) (3,75%)
• Chauffage, refroidissement et distribution d’énergie : Transport et distribution d'électricité (23630) (0,99%)
• Politique des finances et gestion administrative :
Politique des finances et gestion administrative (24010) (6,69%)
Institutions monétaires (24020) (2,52%)
Intermédiaires financiers officiels (24030) (30,35%)
Intermédiaires financiers du secteur informel et semi-formel (24040) (3,51%)
• Développement agricole :
Développement agricole (31120) (0,03%)
Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (0,05%)
Recherche agronomique (31182) (0,08%)
Services financiers agricoles (31193) (3,55%)
• Sylviculture : Politique de la sylviculture et gestion administrative (31210) (4,04%)
• Politique de l'industrie et gestion administrative :
Politique de l'industrie et gestion administrative (32110) (1,20%)
Développement des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) (32130) (1,19%)
Industrie textile, cuirs et produits similaires (32163) (4,03%)
Production d'engrais chimiques (32165) (0,03%)
• Industries extractives : Charbon (32261) (1,49%)
• Politique commerciale et réglementations et ajustements lié au commerce : Éducation/formation dans le domaine du commerce (33181) (0,21%)
• Tourisme : Politique du tourisme et gestion administrative (33210) (0,33%)
• Protection de l'environnement, général : Politique de l'environnement et gestion administrative (41010) (0,02%)
• Autres multisecteurs : Développement urbain (43032) (0,03%)
• Non affecté/Non spécifié : Secteur non spécifié (99810) (0,06%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Cette contribution représente le soutien institutionnel du Canada à la Société interaméricaine d’investissement (SII) – BID Invest qui fait partie du groupe de la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID). La SII est le principal organisme membre du groupe BID responsable des activités du secteur privé. La SII est un organisme de financement pour le développement qui fournit des prêts aux petites et moyennes entreprises. Depuis janvier 2016, la BID a regroupé toutes les activités du secteur privé sous la SII, ainsi qu’augmenté le capital pour soutenir ses activités de croissance, et en 2017, la SII a été rebaptisée BID Invest. La SII collabore avec de grandes sociétés, des intermédiaires financiers, des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises, et des entreprises entièrement ou partiellement contrôlées par l’État, qui fournissent des services de consultation et des produits financiers sous la forme de prêts, de placements en actions et de garanties en Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. Pour obtenir un soutien financier de la SII, les projets doivent démontrer qu’ils génèrent un rendement du capital investi et favorisent le développement économique durable. Cela comprend des projets qui permettent de créer des emplois, d’étendre les droits de propriété en capital, de générer des revenus nets sur change, de faciliter les transferts de ressources et de technologie, d’utiliser les ressources locales, de promouvoir les épargnes locales ou de favoriser l’intégration économique de la région. Les activités de la SII mettent l’accent sur les cinq domaines d’activités prioritaires suivant : 1) accroître l’accès des micros, petites et moyennes entreprises à de l’assistance financière et technique; 2) promouvoir l’infrastructure pour le développement; 3) favoriser l’innovation et le développement technologique; 4) renforcer la prestation privée de biens et de services de base; 5) miser sur la croissance écologique. Dans chacun des domaines d’activités prioritaires, on met l’accent sur trois enjeux transversaux : genre et diversité, viabilité écologique et sociale, et milieu propice.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats attendus de ce projet sont : 1) réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (volume annuel d’émissions de tonnes d’équivalents de CO2); 2) contribution pour aider de femmes parmi le nombre d’embauches officielles; 3) d’étudiants qui bénéficient des projets éducatifs; 4) d’usagers des services de santé; 5) bénéficiaires de la gestion améliorée et de l’utilisation durable du capital naturel; 6) foyers bénéficiaires des solutions en matière de logement; 7) d'emplois créés par les entreprises soutenues 8) bénéficiaires des programmes de formation en emploi; 9) femmes bénéficiaires des initiatives de renforcement du potentiel économique; 10) des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises ayant reçu un financement; 11) foyers bénéficiant d’un accès nouveau ou amélioré à des sources d’eau potable; 12) foyers bénéficiant d’un accès nouveau ou amélioré à des services d’assainissement; 13) capacité de production d’électricité à partir de sources d’énergie renouvelable; 14) des routes construites ou remises à neuf.

Résultats atteints 

En 2017, le Groupe de la Banque interaméricaine de développement (Groupe de la BID) a, pour la deuxième année, consolidé ses rapports sur les résultats en un seul cadre de résultats organisationnels pour 2016-2019 avec des indicateurs et des cibles en commun pour ses trois institutions membres, soit la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID), BID Invest ( Société interaméricaine d’investissement (SII)) et BID Lab (fonds multilatéral d’investissement – MIF). Les résultats cumulatifs atteints au niveau de l’organisation en 2016 et 2017 par le Groupe de la BID avec le soutien du gouvernement du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux comprennent : (1) environ 6,2 millions d’étudiants ont bénéficié de projets éducatifs; (2) environ 9,4 millions de personnes ont reçu des services de santé ; (3) 8,3 millions de personnes ont participé à des programmes ciblés de lutte contre la pauvreté; (4) plus de 662 000 ménages ont eu accès à des services d’assainissement et d’hygiène nouveaux ou améliorés et plus de 634 000 foyers ont eu accès à une alimentation en eau potable; (5) plus de 266 000 ménages ont bénéficié de solutions en matière de logement; (6) environ 627 000 femmes ont participé à des initiatives de renforcement de leur pouvoir économique; (6) près de 175 000 emplois ont été créés par des entreprises qui reçoivent une aide de la BID et une formation en cours d’emploi a été donnée à près de 544 000 personnes; (7) 4 181 km de routes ont été construits, entretenus ou remis à neuf; (8) la totalité de la capacité de production d’électricité mise en place vient d’énergies renouvelables et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre ont été réduites de près de 8,5 millions de tonnes; (9) plus de 812 000 personnes ont tiré profit de la gestion améliorée et de l’utilisation durable du capital naturel; (10) plus de 62 000 professionnels dans les domaines du commerce et des investissements des secteurs public et privé ont bénéficié d’une formation ou d’un appui; (11) plus de 967 000 micro-, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) ont reçu un financement et près de 184 000 MPME ont reçu un soutien non financier; (12) 123 organismes gouvernementaux ont reçu de l’aide pour améliorer la prestation de services publics grâce à des projets qui renforcent les outils technologiques et les outils de gestion; et (13) 470 gouvernements infranationaux en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes ont reçu de l’aide dans le cadre de projets liés à la sécurité des citoyens.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Base des encaissements
Type de collaboration Multilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions aux budgets réguliers des institutions multilatérales
Date de modification :