Project profile — Global Financing Facility: Advancing Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights



Overview 

CA-3-D004954001
$20,000,000
IBRD Trust Funds - World Bank (44001)
2018-03-29 - 2020-05-01
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch

Country / region 

• Côte d'Ivoire (50.00%)
• Burkina Faso (50.00%)

Sector 

• Population policy and administrative management:
Population policy and administrative management (13010) (20.00%)
Reproductive health care (13020) (20.00%)
Family planning (13030) (20.00%)
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (20.00%)
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (20.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The project aims to improve sexual and reproductive health and rights, including access to family planning, for women and girls of reproductive age in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire. This is done through Global Financing Facility (GFF) support to country implementation plans. The GFF is a multi-donor financing platform that provides country-led, sustainable financing. The support includes technical assistance to develop national health plans which support sexual and reproductive health and rights, including strengthening supply chains and procurement to ensure women and girls have access to modern contraceptives. Project activities include: (1) providing financing for quality sexual and reproductive health products and services; (2) encouraging both countries to improve equity and remove barriers to access services; and (3) providing women and girls access to a range of contraceptive options.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved supply of sexual and reproductive health commodities, services and information by national health systems in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire; and (2) increased equitable usage of quality sexual and reproductive health products and services, including family planning commodities, by women and girls of reproductive age in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (July 2022) include: (1) prioritized sexual and reproductive health and rights within the health sector plans of the Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire governments; (2) integrated sexual and reproductive health services, including access to contraceptives, in essential health services and primary health care in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire; (3) increased access to essential health services, including family planning and contraceptives, for people living in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire; and (4) increased rates of contraception use in Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire, notably in the poorest regions.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Mécanisme de financement mondial : Améliorer la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs



Aperçu 

CA-3-D004954001
20 000 000 $
Fonds fiduciaires BIRD - Banque mondiale (44001)
2018-03-29 - 2020-05-01
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement

Pays / région 

• Côte-d'Ivoire (50,00%)
• Burkina Faso (50,00%)

Secteur 

• Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative :
Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (20,00%)
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (20,00%)
Planification familiale (13030) (20,00%)
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (20,00%)
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (20,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet vise à améliorer la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs, y compris l’accès à des services de planification familiale, pour les femmes et les filles en âge de procréer au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire. Cela se fait au moyen d’un soutien offert par le Mécanisme de financement mondial (MFM) à l’appui des plans de mise en œuvre des pays. Le MFM est une plateforme de financement multidonateurs qui fournit des fonds durables gérés par le pays. Le soutien comprend une aide technique pour élaborer des plans de santé nationaux à l’appui de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs, notamment le renforcement des chaînes de valeur et de l’approvisionnement pour veiller à ce que les femmes et les filles aient accès à des contraceptifs modernes. Les activités de projet comprennent : 1) fournir du financement pour des produits et des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive de qualité; 2) encourager les deux pays à améliorer l’équité et à éliminer les obstacles à l’accès aux services; 3) assurer l’accès des femmes et des filles à une gamme d'options contraceptives.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés pour ce projet comprennent : 1) une prestation accrue de produits, services et renseignements liés à la santé sexuelle et reproductive par les systèmes de santé nationaux au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire; 2) une utilisation plus équitable de produits et services de santé sexuelle et reproductive de qualité, y compris des produits de planification familiale, par les femmes et les filles en âge de procréer au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (juillet 2022) : 1) priorité accordée à la santé sexuelle et reproductive et aux droits connexes dans les plans du secteur de la santé des gouvernements du Burkina Faso et de la Côte d’Ivoire; 2) intégration des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive, y compris l’accès aux contraceptifs, dans les services de santé essentiels et les soins de santé primaires au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire; 3) accès accru aux services de santé essentiels, y compris la planification familiale et les contraceptifs, pour les personnes vivant au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire; 4) augmentation des taux d’utilisation de la contraception au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire, notamment dans les régions les plus pauvres.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :