Project profile — CHVI - HIV/AIDS Prevention Trials Capacity Building - Phase II

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

CHVI - HIV/AIDS Prevention Trials Capacity Building - Phase II - Overview
CA-3-M012901002
$10,000,000
IDRC - International Development Research Centre (CA-CRA_ACR-2107511586)
2010-01-05 - 2014-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Africa, regional (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The goal of this program under the Clinical Trials Capacity Building component of the Canadian HIV Vaccine Initiative (CHVI) is to strengthen the capacity of researchers and research institutions to conduct high-quality clinical trials, and to build site capacity to undertake clinical trials of HIV vaccines and other preventive technologies, in low- and middle-income countries. The second phase of the project continues to support building sustainable African capacity and leadership to conduct future HIV/AIDS prevention trials, with a special focus on innovations in HIV vaccines trials. The project also seeks to advance the collaboration and networking of African, Canadian, and international researchers and institutions in global HIV/AIDS prevention trials. The project intends to build capacity at multiple levels (individual, team, institution, network, etc.), while emphasizing the need to extend the concept of capacity beyond the traditional technical and scientific skills to include management, leadership, administration, and community and policy engagement.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2013 include: Nine project teams in 14 African countries have started their work to strengthen the ability and leadership of African researchers and research institutions to conduct future HIV/AIDS prevention trials; five complementary research grants were awarded to young African researchers to increase research and development activities; two African-based research teams completed their projects that build stronger infrastructure and procedures for clinical trials; the number of collaborations between Canadian and African researchers increased through the convention of the Afri-Can Forum and by engaging with Health Canada and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research; in Botswana, the knowledge about the use of evidence was increased through the training of 58 parliamentarians, including five Ministers; additional funds were obtained for two research teams supported by this program; in Benin, two students completed their doctoral degrees and one physician completed a Master’s of Science degree in epidemiology through support of this program.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,500,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
07-05-2013 Disbursement $2,500,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

CHVI - HIV/AIDS Prevention Trials Capacity Building - Phase II - Related information
Related activities
CHVI HIV/AIDS Prevention Trials Capacity Building - Phase II
Related links
Partner website — IDRC - International Development Research Centre
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — ICVV -Renforcement des capacités en essais cliniques en matière de prévention du VIH/sida - phase II

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

ICVV -Renforcement des capacités en essais cliniques en matière de prévention du VIH/sida - phase II - Aperçu
CA-3-M012901002
10 000 000 $
CRDI - Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CA-CRA_ACR-2107511586)
2010-01-05 - 2014-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Afrique, régional (100,00%)
Secteur • Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L’objectif de ce programme dans le cadre du volet Renforcement de la capacité de procéder à des essais cliniques et réseaux de l’Initiative canadienne de vaccin contre le VIH (ICVV) consiste à renforcer la capacité des chercheurs et des établissements de recherche de mener des essais cliniques de qualité supérieure et de soumettre à des essais cliniques les vaccins contre le VIH et d'autres technologies de prévention dans les pays à revenu faible ou moyen. La deuxième phase du projet continue à renforcer durablement le leadership et la capacité de l’Afrique au regard des essais cliniques pour la prévention du VIH/sida. Ce projet vise aussi à faire avancer la coopération et le réseautage entre les institutions et les chercheurs internationaux, africains et canadiens qui participent aux essais cliniques en matière de prévention du VIH/sida dans le monde. Dans le cadre du projet, on vise à renforcer les capacités à différents niveaux (particulier, équipe, institution, réseau, etc.) tout en mettant l’accent sur le besoin d’étendre le concept de « capacité » au délà des habiletés scientifiques et techniques traditionnelles afin d'inclure la gestion, le leadership, l’administration, la mobilisation de la collectivité et la participation au développement des politiques.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2013 : Neuf équipes de projet dans 14 pays africains ont commencé leurs activités destinées à renforcer le leadership des chercheurs et des établissements de recherche en Afrique et leurs capacités en vue d’effectuer de futurs essais de prévention du VIH/sida; cinq subventions de recherche complémentaires ont été octroyées à de jeunes chercheurs africains pour accroître leurs activités de recherche et de développement; deux équipes de recherche en Afrique ont terminé leurs projets consistant à améliorer l’infrastructure et les procédures des essais cliniques; le nombre de collaborations entre les chercheurs canadiens et africains a augmenté grâce au congrès du Forum Afrique-Canada et à l’engagement avec Santé Canada et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada; au Botswana, 58 parlementaires, dont cinq ministres, ont suivi une formation pour approfondir leurs connaissances sur l’utilisation des preuves, et deux équipes de projets ont reçu des fonds supplémentaires dans le cadre du programme; deux étudiants au Bénin ont obtenu leur doctorat, et un médecin a obtenu sa maîtrise ès sciences en épidémiologie grâce aux fonds de ce même programme.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 500 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
07-05-2013 Déboursé 2 500 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

ICVV -Renforcement des capacités en essais cliniques en matière de prévention du VIH/sida - phase II - Information reliée
Activités reliées
ICVV Renforcement des capacités en essais cliniques en matière de prévention du VIH/sida - phase II
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — CRDI - Centre de recherches pour le développement international
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: