Project profile — Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP)

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) - Overview
CA-3-M013185002
$182,000,000
Global Agriculture and FoodSecurity Program (XM-DAC-47503)
2010-04-21 - 2013-03-28
Terminating
Country / region • Bangladesh (15.58%)
• Mongolia (3.89%)
• Ethiopia (16.04%)
• Rwanda (15.58%)
• Haiti (10.90%)
• Niger (10.28%)
• Sierra Leone (15.58%)
• Togolese Republic (12.15%)
Sector • Agriculture
Agricultural policy and administrative management (31110) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural development (31120) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural inputs (31150) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural extension (31166) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural research (31182) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural services (31191) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural financial services (31193) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Trade development (significant objective)
• Desertification (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) seeks to address the underfunding of country and regional agriculture and food security strategic investment plans by focusing on longer-term investments in developing countries. The GAFSP provides grants (public sector window), and loans and equity investments (private sector window) to developing countries. CIDA’s support to the GAFSP helps to improve the income and food security of poor people in developing countries through more and better country-led public and private sector investments, thereby contributing to the achievement of the first Millennium Development Goal to cut hunger and poverty in half by 2015. The GAFSP, established in April 2010, enables participating developing countries to help raise agricultural productivity; links farmers to markets; strengthens the technical capacity of institutions to plan and develop appropriate agricultural policies; reduces risk and vulnerability of the most vulnerable populations; and improves non-farm rural livelihoods. The GAFSP Public Sector Window projects are expected to improve the lives of approximately 7.5 million beneficiaries, raising total incomes by an estimated US $100 million per year. Sixty countries are eligible to receive GAFSP funding through a competitive process.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) helping rural households manage income shocks and develop long-term resilience; (2) raising agricultural productivity and improving resilience to climate change; and (3) linking farmers to markets and supporting value chains.

Results achieved

Results achieved from July 2012 to June 2013 include: - In Ethiopia, 91,700 client days of training have been provided to technical specialists and other government officials. Women accounted for 29 percent of participants. - In Cambodia, a 30,000-ton paddy drying and storage facility is being established. This facility will accommodate post-harvest paddy supplies to ensure better processing quality. The facilities will be operated by public-private partnerships. - In Malawi, 50 kilometres of access roads is being rehabilitated to further connect farm areas to markets.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) - Related information
Related activities
Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP) II
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Programme mondial pour l'agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire (GAFSP)

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Programme mondial pour l'agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire (GAFSP) - Aperçu
CA-3-M013185002
182 000 000 $
Global Agriculture and FoodSecurity Program (XM-DAC-47503)
2010-04-21 - 2013-03-28
Finalisation
Pays / région • Bangladesh (15,58%)
• Mongolie (3,89%)
• Éthiopie (16,04%)
• Rwanda (15,58%)
• Haïti (10,90%)
• Niger (10,28%)
• Sierra Leone (15,58%)
• République togolaise (12,15%)
Secteur • Agriculture
Politique agricole et gestion administrative (31110) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Développement agricole (31120) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Produits à usage agricole (31150) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Recherche agronomique (31182) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Services agricoles (31191) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Services financiers agricoles (31193) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Désertification (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le Programme mondial pour l’agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire (GAFSP) vise à combler les lacunes au chapitre du financement des plans d’investissement stratégiques des pays et des régions en matière d’agriculture et de sécurité alimentaire, en mettant l’accent sur des investissements à plus long terme dans les pays en développement. Le GAFSP offre à ces pays des subventions (volet « secteur public ») ainsi que des prêts et des participations au capital (volet « secteur privé »). L’appui de l’ACDI au GAFSP contribue à améliorer les revenus et la sécurité alimentaire des populations pauvres des pays en développement grâce à des investissements plus massifs et mieux ciblés effectués dans les secteurs public et privé et pilotés par les pays eux-mêmes, qui contribuent à la réalisation du premier Objectif du Millénaire pour le développement, c’est-à-dire réduire de moitié la faim et la pauvreté d’ici 2015. Créé en avril 2010, le GAFSP permet aux pays en développement participants d’accroître la productivité agricole; de relier les agriculteurs aux marchés; de renforcer la capacité technique des institutions à planifier et à élaborer des politiques agricoles adéquates; de réduire les risques et la vulnérabilité des populations les plus vulnérables; d’améliorer les moyens de subsistance non agricoles de la population rurale. Les projets relevant du volet « secteur public » du GAFSP devraient améliorer les conditions de vie d’environ 7,5 millions de personnes en augmentant le revenu total annuel de quelque 100 millions de dollars américains. Soixante pays sont admissibles au financement du GAFSP, qu’ils peuvent obtenir par le biais d’un processus concurrentiel.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet sont les suivants : 1) la fourniture d’un appui aux ménages des communautés rurales pour les aider à gérer les pertes de revenus et à renforcer leur résilience à long terme; 2) l’accroissement de la productivité agricole et l’amélioration de la résilience au changement climatique; 3) l’établissement de liens entre les producteurs et les marchés ainsi que le soutien des chaînes de valeur.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus de juillet 2012 à juin 2013 : – En Éthiopie, 91 700 jours-clients de formation ont été offerts aux spécialistes techniques et à d’autres responsables gouvernementaux. Les femmes représentaient 29 % des participants. – Au Cambodge, une installation de séchage et de stockage de 30 000 tonnes de riz paddy est actuellement mise en place. Cette installation pourra accueillir des réserves de riz paddy post récolte afin d’assurer une meilleure qualité de la transformation. Les installations seront exploitées dans le cadre de partenariats public-privé. – Au Malawi, 50 kilomètres de chemins d’accès sont restaurés et permettront de mieux raccorder les zones agricoles aux marchés.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Programme mondial pour l'agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire (GAFSP) - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Programme mondial pour l'agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire (GAFSP) II
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: