Project profile — Health Services for the Poorest Populations

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Health Services for the Poorest Populations - Overview
CA-3-M013419001
$15,000,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (XM-DAC-41122)
2011-03-16 - 2013-09-30
Closed
Country / region • Africa, regional (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (60.00%)
• Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The Health for the Poorest Populations (HPP) program supports the integrated delivery of essential health and nutrition services across the continuum of care including maternal health during pregnancy, childbirth, the post natal period and childhood. UNICEF works with partner country Ministries of Health and within national health systems to identify country-specific needs with a focus on the greatest causes of maternal and child deaths and disabilities in the worst-off districts in terms of poverty, level of access to health services and population health status. Analyses on the burden of disease affecting populations of pregnant women, newborns and children under five are carried out to customize an effective and responsive package of health care services. Programming includes training and the provision of medicines to treat primarily, pneumonia, diarrhoea and malaria. The HPP program is implemented in a maximum of four high burden countries, at least 75% of which are in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2014 include: training 9,649 front-line health workers in maternal and newborn health care and in integrated community case management of the three leading causes of child death (malaria, pneumonia and diarrhea), to better diagnose and treat these childhood diseases at the community level. These health care workers provided over 1,038,152 treatments to children under age five in Sierra Leone and Uganda. This includes 95,071 treatments for diarrhea with oral rehydration salts and zinc, 99,232 treatments for pneumonia, and 852,409 treatments for malaria. These results are contributing to improving the health of children under the age of five in hard to reach communities by improving access to lifesaving health interventions.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Health Services for the Poorest Populations - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Améliorer l'accès aux services de santé pour les populations les plus démunies

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Améliorer l'accès aux services de santé pour les populations les plus démunies - Aperçu
CA-3-M013419001
15 000 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (XM-DAC-41122)
2011-03-16 - 2013-09-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Afrique, régional (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (60,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le programme sur l’amélioration de l’accès aux services de santé pour les populations les plus démunies soutient la prestation intégrée de services essentiels en matière de santé et de nutrition dans la continuité des soins, notamment pour assurer la santé des mères pendant la grossesse, l’accouchement, la période postnatale et la petite enfance. L’UNICEF collabore avec les ministères de la Santé des pays partenaires et utilise les systèmes de santé nationaux pour cerner les besoins particuliers des pays en mettant l’accent sur les plus importantes causes de mortalité et d’invalidité chez les mères et les enfants dans les pires districts sur le plan de la pauvreté, du niveau d’accès aux services de santé et de l’état de santé des populations. Des analyses sont effectuées du fardeau de la maladie touchant les femmes enceintes, les nouveau-nés et les enfants de moins de cinq ans afin d’adapter un ensemble de services de soins de santé efficace et responsable. Le programme comprend une formation et la fourniture de médicaments pour soigner principalement la pneumonie, la diarrhée et le paludisme. Le programme sur l’amélioration de l’accès aux services de santé pour les populations les plus démunies est mis en œuvre dans tout au plus quatre pays lourdement touchés par ce problème, dont au moins 75 % sont en Afrique subsaharienne.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2014 : la formation de 9 649 professionnels de la santé de première ligne en soins de santé aux mères et nouveau-nés et en gestion intégrée des cas de maladies en milieu communautaire des trois principales causes de mortalité infantile (paludisme, pneumonie et diarrhée) afin de mieux pouvoir diagnostiquer et traiter ces maladies infantiles à l’échelle communautaire. Ces travailleurs de la santé ont fourni plus de 1 038 152 traitements à des enfants de moins de cinq ans en Sierra Leone et en Ouganda, notamment 95 071 traitements contre la diarrhée, grâce à des sels de réhydratation par voie orale et du zinc, 99 232 traitements contre la pneumonie et 852 409 traitements contre le paludisme. Ces résultats aident à améliorer la santé des enfants de moins de cinq ans vivant dans des communautés isolées, en facilitant l’accès à des interventions sanitaires qui peuvent sauver des vies.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Améliorer l'accès aux services de santé pour les populations les plus démunies - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: