Project profile — UN Commission on Information and Accountability for Women's and Children's Health

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

UN Commission on Information and Accountability for Women's and Children's Health - Overview
CA-3-M013432001
$500,000
WHO - World Health Organization (XM-DAC-41143)
2011-01-21 - 2011-12-30
Closed
Country / region • Europe, regional (25.00%)
• Africa, regional (25.00%)
• Asia, regional (25.00%)
• America, regional (25.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This grant represents CIDA's support to the United Nations Commission on Information and Accountability for Women's and Children's Health. The Commission uses these funds, along with funding from other donors, to support its functioning and achieve its mandate. The Commission was proposed as a time-limited mechanism by the World Health Organization (WHO) in response to requests from the UN Secretary-General to chair a process to determine the most effective international institutional arrangements for global reporting, oversight and accountability on women and children's health, including through the UN system. The G8 also requested that the WHO provide guidance on monitoring and evaluation for maternal, newborn and child health, including by identifying a set of core indicators to measure progress in developing countries.

Results achieved

Results achieved by the World Health Organization with the support of the Government of Canada and other international donors, as of the end of the project (September 2012) include: establishing a time-limited Commission on Information and Accountability for Women’s and Children's Health to determine the most effective international institutional arrangements to improve global reporting, oversight and accountability on women’s and children’s health, including through the UN system. The Commission, which was co-chaired by President Kikwete of Tanzania and Prime Minister Harper and included 30 Commissioners, met for the first time in January 2011 and published its final report in May 2011. The Commission report provided high-level guidance to partners to strengthen accountability for women's and children's health in five key areas by: (i) proposing a framework for global reporting, oversight and accountability on women's and children's health; (ii) identifying a core set of health indicators for results and resources relating to women's and children's health; (iii) proposing actions to improve health information and registration of vital events, such as births and deaths, in low-income countries; (iv) proposing actions to improve tracking of resources and expenditures at global and country levels; and (v) exploring opportunities for innovation in information technology to improve access to reliable information on resources and outcomes. At the recommendation of the Commission, an independent Expert Review Group was established and reports to the UN Secretary-General (every year until 2015) on the results and resources required to implement the UN Global Strategy for Women and Children's Health and the Commission’s recommendations.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

UN Commission on Information and Accountability for Women's and Children's Health - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WHO - World Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Commission de l'ONU de l'information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l'enfant

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Commission de l'ONU de l'information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l'enfant - Aperçu
CA-3-M013432001
500 000 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (XM-DAC-41143)
2011-01-21 - 2011-12-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Europe, régional (25,00%)
• Afrique, régional (25,00%)
• Asie, régional (25,00%)
• Amérique, régional (25,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Par cette subvention, l’ACDI appuie la Commission des Nations Unies de l'information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l'enfant. La Commission utilise ces fonds, ainsi que les fonds d’autres donateurs, pour financer ses activités et réaliser son mandat. La Commission a été proposée par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) comme mécanisme ponctuel en réponse aux demandes du Secrétaire général de l’ONU pour qu’elle gère un processus permettant de recenser les meilleures ententes institutionnelles internationales en matière de production de rapports à l’échelle mondiale, de surveillance et de reddition de comptes sur la santé des femmes et des enfants, y compris au moyen du système onusien. Le G8 a également demandé que l’OMS fournisse des directives quant au suivi et à l’évaluation de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, y compris en établissant un ensemble d’indicateurs de base pour mesurer le progrès dans les pays en développement.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé à la fin du projet (en septembre 2012) avec le soutien du gouvernement du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux : création d’une Commission de l’information et de la responsabilisation en matière de santé de la femme et de l’enfant d’une durée limitée, en vue de déterminer les arrangements institutionnels internationaux les plus efficaces pour améliorer l’établissement de rapports mondiaux, la surveillance et la responsabilisation en matière de santé des femmes et des enfants. Présidée conjointement par le président tanzanien Kikwete et le premier ministre Harper et composée de 30 membres, la Commission s’est réunie pour la première fois en janvier 2011 et a publié son rapport final en mai 2011. La Commission a fourni des conseils de haut niveau aux partenaires afin de renforcer la responsabilité à l’égard de la santé des femmes et des enfants. Elle a : i) proposé un cadre pour l’établissement de rapports, la supervision et la responsabilité à l’égard de la santé des femmes et des enfants à l’échelle de la planète; ii) établi un ensemble d’indicateurs de santé clés pour les résultats et les ressources liés à la santé des femmes et des enfants; iii) proposé des mesures pour améliorer l’information sur la santé et l’enregistrement de statistiques de l’état civil (comme les naissances et les décès) dans les pays à faible revenu; iv) proposé des mesures pour améliorer le suivi des ressources et des dépenses aux échelons national et international; v) étudié les possibilités d’innovation dans le domaine des technologies de l’information pour améliorer l’accès à des données fiables sur les ressources et les résultats. Un Groupe d’experts indépendants, créé sur recommandation de la Commission, doit faire rapport au secrétaire général des Nations Unies (et ce, une fois par année et jusqu’en 2015) sur les résultats obtenus au chapitre de la santé des femmes et des enfants et les ressources nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre la Stratégie mondiale des Nations Unies pour la santé des femmes et des enfants et donner suite aux recommandations de la Commission.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Commission de l'ONU de l'information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l'enfant - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: