Project profile — Implementing the Recommendations of the UN Accountability Commission - II

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Implementing the Recommendations of the UN Accountability Commission - II - Overview
CA-3-M013603002
$11,000,000
WHO - World Health Organization (XM-DAC-41143)
2012-03-26 - 2016-04-29
Closed
Country / region • America, regional (25.00%)
• Europe, regional (25.00%)
• Africa, regional (25.00%)
• Asia, regional (25.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project supports the World Health Organization (WHO)'s workplan that was developed to implement the recommendations of the Commission on Information and Accountability for Women’s and Children’s Health (Commission). The workplan was developed in consultation with key stakeholders and is expected to be implemented at both the country and global levels, through to 2015. At the country-level, implementation efforts include: Strengthening civil registration and vital statistics systems (e.g., births and deaths); Integrating the eleven core indicators proposed by the Commission into countries’ monitoring and evaluation systems; and Improving the tracking of resources and health expenditures. At the global level, implementation efforts include: The establishment of the independent Expert Review Group, including its secretariat; The creation of a global digital health strategy to accelerate the integration and use of information and telecommunications technologies and other innovative approaches into countries’ monitoring and evaluation systems; Ongoing outreach and engagement to promote the implementation of the Commission’s recommendations in other fora; Analysis and reporting of country specific information on results and resources; and Dissemination, interpretation and use of data. This project represents an addition to the existing grant for project "Implementing the Recommendations of the UN Accountability Commission - I" (M013603001), which started in 2011.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: strengthened global and country-level mechanisms and practices to enhance accountability for women's and children's health in the 74 countries listed in the Commission's report.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2014 include: (1) 70 out of the 75 countries with the highest maternal and child mortality rates have developed or are in the process of developing roadmaps to strengthen their accountability systems; (2) more than 30 countries have completed or are in the process of conducting assessments of the civil registration and vital statistics systems; and (3) the independent Expert Review Group has been established, and has produced two reports (2012 and 2013) on progress in achieving the objectives of the Global Strategy for Women's and Children's Health, and the implementation of the recommendations of the Commission on Information and Accountability for Women's and Children's Health.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Implementing the Recommendations of the UN Accountability Commission - II - Related information
Related activities
Implementing the Recommendations of the UN Accountability Commission - I
Related links
Partner website — WHO - World Health Organization
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de la redevabilité de l'ONU - II

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de la redevabilité de l'ONU - II - Aperçu
CA-3-M013603002
11 000 000 $
OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé (XM-DAC-41143)
2012-03-26 - 2016-04-29
Fermé
Pays / région • Amérique, régional (25,00%)
• Europe, régional (25,00%)
• Afrique, régional (25,00%)
• Asie, régional (25,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet fournit un soutien au plan de travail de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), qui vise à mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission de l’information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l’enfant (la Commission). Ce plan de travail a été élaboré en consultation avec des intervenants clés et devrait être mis en œuvre tant au niveau national que mondial jusqu’en 2015. Parmi les efforts de mise en œuvre déployés au niveau national, mentionnons le renforcement des systèmes d’enregistrement des déclarations d’état civil et des statistiques de l’état civil (p. ex. naissances et décès); l’intégration des 11 indicateurs de base proposés par la Commission dans les systèmes de suivi et d’évaluation des pays; l’amélioration du suivi des ressources et des dépenses en santé. Parmi les efforts de mise en œuvre déployés au niveau mondial, mentionnons la mise sur pied du Groupe d’examen indépendant composé d’experts et de son secrétariat; la création d’une stratégie mondiale en matière de cybersanté afin d’accélérer l’intégration et l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de télécommunication ainsi que d’autres approches novatrices dans les systèmes de suivi et d’évaluation des pays; la réalisation d’activités de sensibilisation et de mobilisation afin de favoriser la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission dans d’autres tribunes; l’analyse de renseignements propres à un pays sur des résultats et des ressources, et l’établissement de rapports connexes; la diffusion, l’interprétation et l’utilisation de données. Ce projet représente un ajout à la subvention existante accordée au projet « Mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de la redevabilité de l'ONU - I » qui a débuté en 2011.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : les pratiques et les mécanismes renforcés à l’échelle mondiale et nationale afin d’améliorer la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l’enfant dans les 74 pays mentionnés dans le rapport de la Commission.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2014 : 1) au total, 70 des 75 pays qui affichent les taux de mortalité maternelle et infantile les plus élevés ont élaboré ou s’emploient actuellement à élaborer des cartes routières pour renforcer leurs systèmes de responsabilisation; 2) plus de 30 pays ont terminé des évaluations de leurs systèmes d’établissement des statistiques de l’état civil et d’enregistrement des faits d’état civil ou s’emploient actuellement à mener ces évaluations; 3) le groupe d’examen indépendant composé d’experts a été mis en place et il a produit deux rapports (2012 et 2013) sur les progrès réalisés relativement à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Stratégie mondiale pour la santé de la femme et de l’enfant ainsi qu’à la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de l’information et de la redevabilité pour la santé de la femme et de l’enfant.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de la redevabilité de l'ONU - II - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de la redevabilité de l'ONU - I
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — OMS - Organisation mondiale de la Santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: