Project profile — UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2014

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2014 - Overview
CA-3-M013665003
$2,000,000
UNU-INWEH - United Nations University - Institute for Water, Environment and Health (XM-DAC-41134)
2012-10-11 - 2015-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Europe, regional (5.00%)
• Africa, regional (50.00%)
• America, regional (15.00%)
• Asia, regional (30.00%)
Sector • Water And Sanitation
Water sector policy and administrative management (14010) (10.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Water resources conservation (including data collection) (14015) (20.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (20.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic sanitation (14032) (20.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Education and training in water supply and sanitation (14081) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This grant represents Canada's institutional support to the United Nations University Institute for Water, Environment and Health (UNU-INWEH). UNU-INWEH uses these funds, along with other donors funding, to achieve its mandate. UNU-INWEH’s mandate is to contribute, through capacity development and directed research, to efforts to resolve pressing global water problems that are of concern to the United Nations, its member states and their peoples. UNU-INWEH acts as the “UN Think-Tank on Water”. It responds directly to global water issues and supports efforts to meet the Millennium Development Goals. Canada’s support to UNU-INWEH contributes to finding durable solutions to global water problems, with positive impacts on health, food security and nutrition.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) institutionalized adaptation strategies for coastal ecosystems of tropical waters, particularly mangroves and coral reefs; (2) better managed land resources and sustainable use of water and biodiversity resources in developing countries; (3) advanced education, capacity and information management, leading to improved implementation of Integrated Water Resource Management; and, (4) improved human well-being through sustainable, healthy ecosystems.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of December 2014 include: (1) launch of a free Massive, Open, Online Course (MOOC) on the economics of land degradation, which was successfully completed by about 100 people worldwide; (2) continued engagement in the deliberations around the post-2015 development agenda, particularly those pertaining to water by undertaking a country-level analysis of 11 countries representing different geographies and economies in Africa, Latin America, North America and Southeast Asia; (3) developed a partnership with the Government of Uganda to develop robust and scalable technologies, combined with a business model to tap private sector resources for sustainable wastewater management; (4) worked with the Governments of Kenya and Tanzania to develop a curriculum on environment and health training for water professionals; (5) developed an international online course on mangrove biodiversity to build the capacity of professionals and institutions in developing countries to undertake monitoring, research, and conservation of critical coastal ecosystems in mangrove forests; and, (6) organized seminars, workshops and events in Canada and internationally to engage development communities and promote research results on food security, science-policy integration, water, maternal health, and the management of coastal ecosystems. These have contributed to: institutionalized adaptation strategies for coastal ecosystems of tropical waters, particularly mangroves and coral reefs; better managed land resources and sustainable use of water and biodiversity resources in developing countries; advanced education, capacity and information management; and, improved human well-being through sustainable, healthy ecosystems.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
29-05-2014 Disbursement $2,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2014 - Related information
Related activities
UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2012
UNU - Institute for Water, Environment and Health - Institutional Support 2013
Related links
Partner website — UNU-INWEH - United Nations University - Institute for Water, Environment and Health
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Multilateral
Core contributions to multilateral institutions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — UNU - Réseau international sur l'eau, l'environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2014

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

UNU - Réseau international sur l'eau, l'environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2014 - Aperçu
CA-3-M013665003
2 000 000 $
UNU-INWEH - Université des Nations Unies - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé (XM-DAC-41134)
2012-10-11 - 2015-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Europe, régional (5,00%)
• Afrique, régional (50,00%)
• Amérique, régional (15,00%)
• Asie, régional (30,00%)
Secteur • Eau et assainissement
Politique du secteur de l’eau et gestion administrative (14010) (10,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Préservation des ressources en eau (y compris collecte de données) (14015) (20,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (20,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Assainissement - dispositifs de base (14032) (20,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Éducation/formation dans la distribution d'eau et l'assainissement (14081) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette subvention constitue l'appui institutionnel du Canada à l'Institut universitaire des Nations Unies pour l'eau, l’environnement et la santé (UNU-INWEH). L’UNU-INWEH utilise ces fonds, ainsi que ceux d'autres donateurs, pour la réalisation de son mandat. Le mandat de l'UNU-INWEH est de contribuer, à travers le développement des capacités et la recherche dirigée, aux efforts visant à résoudre les problèmes urgents mondiaux concernant l'eau qui préoccupent les Nations Unies, ses états membres et leurs peuples. L'UNU-INWEH agit comme le centre d’études et de recherches de l’ONU sur l'eau. Il répond directement aux enjeux mondiaux concernant l'eau et soutient les efforts pour atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. L'appui du Canada à l'UNU-INWEH contribue à trouver des solutions durables aux problèmes mondiaux concernant l’eau, avec des impacts positifs sur la santé, la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats intermédiaires escomptés, notons: (1) des stratégies d’adaptation institutionnalisées axées sur les écosystèmes côtiers des eaux tropicales, particulièrement les mangroves et les récifs coralliens; (2) une meilleure gestion des ressources terrestres et une utilisation durable de l’eau et des ressources de la biodiversité dans les pays en développement; (3) une éducation de pointe, une capacité accrue et une meilleure gestion de l’information, menant à une mise en œuvre améliorée de la Gestion intégrée des ressources en eau; (4) une amélioration du bien être humain grâce à des écosystèmes durables et sains.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en décembre 2014, notons: (1) le lancement d’un cours en ligne ouvert à tous sur les aspects économiques de la dévastation des terres, suivi avec succès par une centaine de personnes sur la planète; (2) l’engagement continu dans le cadre des délibérations entourant le programme de développement de l’après-2015, particulièrement celles portant sur l’eau grâce à une analyse nationale de 11 pays représentant différentes particularités géographiques et économiques en Afrique, en Amérique latine, en Amérique du Nord et en Asie du Sud-Est; (3) la création d’un partenariat avec le gouvernement de l’Ouganda afin de développer de solides technologies évolutives, combinées à un modèle d’affaire visant à exploiter les ressources du secteur privé pour la gestion durable des eaux usées; (4) la collaboration avec les gouvernements du Kenya et de la Tanzanie à l’élaboration d’un programme de formation en environnement et en santé à l’intention des professionnels de l’eau; (5) l’élaboration d’un cours international en ligne sur la biodiversité des mangroves afin de renforcer la capacité des professionnels et des institutions des pays en développement afin d’entreprendre des activités de surveillance, de recherche et de conservation des écosystèmes côtiers essentiels dans les mangroves; (6) des séminaires, ateliers et activités organisés au Canada et à l’étranger visant à mobiliser les communautés de développement et promouvoir les résultats de recherche sur la sécurité alimentaire, l’intégration des sciences et des politiques, l’eau et la santé maternelle ainsi que la gestion des écosystèmes côtiers. Ces résultats ont contribué à mettre sur pied des stratégies d’adaptation institutionnalisées axées sur les écosystèmes côtiers des eaux tropicales, particulièrement les mangroves et les récifs coralliens, à une meilleure gestion des ressources terrestres et à l’utilisation durable de l’eau et des ressources de la biodiversité dans les pays en développement, à une éducation de pointe, une capacité accrue et une meilleure gestion de l’information, ainsi qu’à une amélioration du bien être humain grâce à des écosystèmes durables et sains.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
29-05-2014 Déboursé 2 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

UNU - Réseau international sur l'eau, l'environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2014 - Information reliée
Activités reliées
UNU - Institut pour l'eau, l'environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2012
UNU - Réseau international sur l'eau, l'environnement et la santé - Appui institutionnel 2013
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNU-INWEH - Université des Nations Unies - Institut pour l’eau, l’environnement et la santé
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Multilatéral
Contributions aux budgets réguliers des institutions multilatérales
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: