Project profile — Improving Nutrition through Homestead Food Production

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Improving Nutrition through Homestead Food Production - Overview
CA-3-M013707001
$15,000,000
HKI - Helen Keller International
2013-03-27 - 2016-12-30
Closed
Country / region • Senegal (15.37%)
• Côte d'Ivoire (24.30%)
• Burkina-Faso (28.44%)
• Tanzania (31.89%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (40.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural inputs (31150) (20.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (30.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural education/training (31181) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the nutrition of women and young children in select target populations in three or four countries in sub-Saharan Africa. The project seeks to improve nutrition by providing training in home-based agricultural production, education on nutrition, and raising awareness of behaviour change, such as promoting good breast-feeding practices. In addition, this project aims to continuously monitor the impact of these activities on child growth and nutritional status as well as the number of women adopting good breast-feeding and nutrition practices in the home.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) increased sustainable production under women’s control of nutrient-rich plant- and animal-source foods in target villages; (2) improved intake of nutritious foods and adoption of good nutrition and water sanitation and hygiene (WASH) practices by beneficiaries of homestead food production; and (3) increased adoption of policies for scale up of Enhanced Homestead Food Production (EHFP) by local and national governments and national and Africa regional strategic partners.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2016 include: (1) training and service delivery to over 13,000 beneficiaries (including 11,500 women) in all four countries have been completed; (2) there are positive outcomes in nutrition including an overall improvement of nutritious food intake by children under five; (3) the percentage of mothers with knowledge of exclusive breastfeeding practices has increased from approximately 48% to 80%; (4) over 4,500 beneficiary households gained access to the production of micronutrient-rich foods including orange-fleshed sweet potatoes, dark green leafy vegetables, legumes, chickens and eggs; (5) since 2013, the dietary diversity of beneficiary women in Tanzania and Burkina Faso has increased from 48% to 80% and the percentage of children consuming iron rich foods increased from 37% to 91%; and (6) in Côte d’Ivoire household food insecurity has decreased from 84% to 60%.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Improving Nutrition through Homestead Food Production - Related information
Related links
Partner website — HKI - Helen Keller International
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcement de la nutrition au moyen de la production alimentaire améliorée

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcement de la nutrition au moyen de la production alimentaire améliorée - Aperçu
CA-3-M013707001
15 000 000 $
HKI - Helen Keller International
2013-03-27 - 2016-12-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Sénégal (15,37%)
• Côte-d'Ivoire (24,30%)
• Burkina-Faso (28,44%)
• Tanzanie (31,89%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (40,00%)
• Agriculture
Produits à usage agricole (31150) (20,00%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (30,00%)
• Agriculture
Éducation et formation dans le domaine agricole (31181) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à améliorer la nutrition des femmes et des jeunes enfants dans des populations ciblées de trois ou quatre pays de l’Afrique subsaharienne. Pour ce faire, on formera les populations à la production agricole à domicile, on leur enseignera les fondements de la nutrition et on les encouragera à changer leurs habitudes, par exemple en les sensibilisant aux bonnes pratiques en matière d’allaitement. On fera également un suivi continuel des effets de ces activités sur la croissance et l’état nutritionnel des enfants ainsi que du nombre de femmes qui adoptent de saines pratiques en matière d’allaitement et de nutrition à la maison.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet : 1) production durable accrue d’aliments de sources végétale et animale riches en nutriments sous la direction de femmes dans les villages ciblés; 2) consommation accrue d’aliments nutritifs et adoption d’une bonne alimentation et de pratiques d’assainissement, d’hygiène et d’approvisionnement en eau par les bénéficiaires de la production alimentaire au sein des ménages; 3) adoption accrue de politiques pour mettre en œuvre à plus grande échelle le programme de production alimentaire améliorée de la part des administrations locales et nationales et des partenaires stratégiques régionaux d’Afrique.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2016 : 1) formation et prestation de services à plus de 13 000 bénéficiaires (y compris 11 500 femmes) dans les quatre pays; 2) il y a des résultats positifs en matière de nutrition, y compris une amélioration globale de la consommation d’aliments nutritifs chez les enfants de moins de cinq ans; 3) le pourcentage de mères connaissant les pratiques d’allaitement maternel exclusif s’est accru pour passer d’environ 48 % à 80 %; 4) plus de 4 500 ménages bénéficiaires ont eu accès à la production d’aliments riches en micronutriments, y compris des pommes de terre sucrées à la chaire orange, des légumes feuillus vert foncé, des légumes, du poulet et d’œufs; 5) depuis 2013, la variété de l’alimentation des femmes qui bénéficient du programme en Tanzanie et au Burkina Faso est passée de 48 % à 80 % et le pourcentage d’enfants qui consomment des aliments à haute teneur en fer s’est accru, en passant de 37 % à 91 %; 6) en Côte d’Ivoire, l’insécurité alimentaire des ménages, qui était de 84 %, a diminué pour s’établir à 60 %.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcement de la nutrition au moyen de la production alimentaire améliorée - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: