Project profile — Supporting the Continuum of Care for Mothers and Children - COVID-19 response



Overview 

CA-3-P001033002
$1,100,000
Université de Montréal - Office of Research Services and Development (CA-CRA_ACR-2108160995)
2021-03-30 - 2022-09-30
Terminating
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Haiti (100.00%)

Sector 

• Basic health care:
Basic health care (12220) (20.00%)
Basic health infrastructure (12230) (17.50%)
Basic nutrition (12240) (25.00%)
Health personnel development (12281) (17.50%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health: Reproductive health care (13020) (20.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The initiative supports the implementation of maternal, newborn and child health programs, contributing to the reduction in the number of maternal, newborn and child deaths in the country’s northern region by working with the Ministry of health and the local population. This project provides additional funds in response to immediate needs to respond to the coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19). Project activities include: 1) support for the achievement of essential public health functions and the development of innovative strategies for adapting services; 2) support for the implementation of Integrated Management of Childhood Illnesses (IMCI), with a focus on malnutrition mainly affecting children; 3) support for the adaptation and strengthening of social mobilization activities for health, health promotion, prevention among populations, as well as activities to prevent violence against women / girls; 4) training and supervision of service delivery staff, support staff and support for the organization and adaptation of services; and 5) logistical support. This initiative is implemented through a consortium led by the Université de Montréal, and including the Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved delivery (and quality) of essential health services to mothers, pregnant women, newborns and children under five; (2) improved utilization of essential health services by mothers, pregnant women, newborns, and children under five; and (3) increased awareness of Canadians in maternal, newborn and child health issues.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (September 2022): (1) project activities reached 1,530 people (922 women and 608 men). The activities aim to prevent, respond to and end sexual and gender-based violence, including child marriage, early and forced marriage, and female genital mutilation; (2) 2,000 children aged 6 to 59 months (compared with a target of 1,481 children) received micronutrients, vitamins and anti-parasitic agents at the community and institutional level; (3) multi role community health officers and community health centres referred 640 individuals with severe cases of malnutrition to the treatment centres; (4) 408 health professionals (153 women and 255 men) received training on COVID-19, specifically on epidemiological monitoring as well as health and environmental standards relating to COVID-19; (5) six health facilities received equipment and material to respond to COVID-19, and; (6) the health centres received 7,200 surgical masks and 975 N-95 masks to deal with COVID 19.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui au continuum santé mères-enfants - Réponse à la COVID-19



Aperçu 

CA-3-P001033002
1 100 000 $
Université de Montréal – Bureau Recherche-Développement-Valorisation (BRDV) (CA-CRA_ACR-2108160995)
2021-03-30 - 2022-09-30
Finalisation
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Haïti (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Soins et services de santé de base :
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (20,00%)
Infrastructure pour la santé de base (12230) (17,50%)
Nutrition de base (12240) (25,00%)
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (17,50%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (20,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet appuie la mise en place de programmes de santé pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Santé et la population locale, afin de contribuer à la réduction du nombre de décès chez les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants dans le nord du pays. Ce projet apporte des fonds supplémentaires en réponse aux besoins immédiats de réponse à la pandémie de coronavirus (COVID-19). Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) le soutien à la réalisation des fonctions essentielles de santé publique et au développement de stratégies innovantes d’adaptation des services; 2) l’appui à la mise en œuvre de la Prise en charge intégrée des maladies de l'enfant (PCIME), avec une focalisation sur la malnutrition touchant principalement les enfants; 3) le soutien à l’adaptation et au renforcement des activités de mobilisation sociale pour la santé, promotion de la santé, prévention auprès des populations, ainsi que des activités de prévention de la violence faite aux femmes/filles; 4) la formation et encadrement du personnel de prestations de services, personnel de soutien et appui à l’organisation et l’adaptation des services; 5) le soutien logistique. Le projet est mis en œuvre par un consortium composé de l’Université de Montréal, qui en assure la direction et du Centre d’étude et de coopération internationale.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) meilleure prestation (et meilleure qualité) de services de santé essentiels aux mères, aux femmes enceintes, aux nouveau-nés et aux enfants de moins de cinq ans; 2) meilleure utilisation des services de santé essentiels par les mères, les femmes enceintes, les nouveau-nés et les enfants de moins de cinq ans; 3) sensibilisation accrue des Canadiens aux enjeux de santé des mères, des nouveau nés et des enfants.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’à la fin du projet (septembre 2022) : 1) les activités du projet ont touchées 1 530 personnes «922 femmes et 608 hommes ». Ces activités vise entre autres à prévenir, à répondre et à mettre fin à la violence sexuelle fondée sur le genre. Cela inclut les mariages d’enfants, les mariages précoces et forcés et les mutilations génitales féminines; 2) 2 000 enfants âgés de six à 59 mois, par rapport à une cible de 1 481 enfants, ont reçu des micronutriments, des vitamines et des antiparasitaires au niveau communautaire et institutionnel; 3) les Agents de Santé Communautaire Polyvalent et les Centres Communautaires de Santé ont référé 640 cas de malnutrition sévère traités dans les centres de prise en charge; 4) formés 408 professionnels de la santé «153 femmes et 255 hommes » sur la COVID-19. Plus précisément sur sa surveillance épidémiologique, et sur les normes sanitaires et environnementales liées à la COVID-19; 5) six établissements de santé ont reçu de l’équipement ou du matériel pour répondre à la COVID-19; 6) les centres de santé ont reçu 7 200 masques chirurgicaux et 975 masques N-95 pour lutter contre le COVID-19.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :