Project profile — Rural Social Protection: Productive Safety Net Program 2018-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Rural Social Protection: Productive Safety Net Program 2018-2019 - Overview
CA-3-P001433002
$10,000,000
WFP - World Food Programme (XM-DAC-41140)
2018-03-01 - 2022-06-30
Terminating
Country / region • Ethiopia (100.00%)
Sector • Agriculture
Agricultural services (31191) (25.00%)
• Developmental Food Aid/Food Security Assistance
Food aid/food security programs (52010) (75.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project represents Canada's continuing support for Ethiopia's Productive Safety Net Program (PSPN). Led by the Government of Ethiopia, with support from Canada and other partners, this initiative aims to enhance household and community resilience to shocks, such as droughts, and improve household food security, nutrition and economic well-being in Ethiopia's most vulnerable communities. To achieve these objectives, PSNP provides food insecure households with predictable food or cash transfers. In exchange for these transfers, PSNP beneficiaries participate in public works activities to build community assets and improve watershed management; a number of these activities build resilience to climate change. The most vulnerable beneficiaries (e.g. elderly people and pregnant and lactating mothers) receive transfers without contributing their labour for public works. The project reach is up to 10 million rural beneficiaries. Project activities include: (1) providing cash and food transfers to food insecure households; (2) conducting livelihoods interventions (e.g. crop and livestock production, and off-farm income generating activities); (3) providing key health and nutrition services (e.g. behaviour change communication activities), (4) construction of community assets (e.g. land rehabilitation, health posts); and (5) offering capacity development activities. Canada's support to this program is provided through the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP)and the World Bank.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) enhanced livelihoods and resilience to shocks for rural female/male headed households vulnerable to food insecurity; and (2) food security and nutrition improved for rural female/male headed households vulnerable to food insecurity.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of August 2018 include: (1) provided timely food transfers to food insecure people affected by the drought crisis in Ethiopia. This funding covered the provision of food (cereals and pulses) over an additional period of two months to food insecure households, with a particular focus on the poorest and most vulnerable, including pregnant and lactating women, and young children; and (2) met the needs of up to 318,170 PSNP beneficiaries affected by the drought. These results have contributed to an enhanced livelihood and resilience to shocks for rural households affected by food insecurity. These results have also contributed to an improved food security and nutrition for rural households.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Rural Social Protection: Productive Safety Net Program 2018-2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WFP - World Food Programme
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Protection sociale en milieu rural : Programme de protection des moyens de production 2018-2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Protection sociale en milieu rural : Programme de protection des moyens de production 2018-2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-P001433002
10 000 000 $
PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial (XM-DAC-41140)
2018-03-01 - 2022-06-30
Finalisation
Pays / région • Éthiopie (100,00%)
Secteur • Agriculture
Services agricoles (31191) (25,00%)
• Aide alimentaire à des fins de développement/aide à la sécurité alimentaire
Programmes de sécurité et d'aide alimentaire (52010) (75,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet représente l’appui continu du Canada pour le Programme de protection des moyens de production de l’Éthiopie (PPMP). Dirigé par le gouvernement de l’Éthiopie avec le soutien du Canada et d’autres donateurs, cette initiative vise à accroître la résilience des ménages et des collectivités aux chocs, tels que les sécheresses, et d’améliorer la sécurité alimentaire, la nutrition et le bien-être économique dans les collectivités les plus vulnérables de l’Éthiopie. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, le PPMP fournit aux ménages souffrant d’insécurité alimentaire des transferts prévisibles de vivres ou d’argent. En échange de ces transferts, les bénéficiaires du PPMP participent à des activités de travaux publics pour construire des biens communautaires et améliorer la gestion des bassins versants. Certaines de ces activités renforcent la résilience au changement climatique. Les bénéficiaires les plus vulnérables (les personnes âgées, les femmes enceintes et qui allaitent) reçoivent des transferts directs sans participer aux travaux publics. Le projet pourra aider 10 millions de bénéficiaires ruraux. Parmi les activités du projet : (1) la provision de transferts d’argent et de vivres aux ménages qui souffrent d’insécurité alimentaire; (2) la conduite d’interventions relatives aux moyens de subsistance (cultures agricoles et production de bétail ainsi que des activités rémunérées à l’extérieur de la ferme); (3) l’octroi de services de santé et de nutrition clés (des activités de communication sur les changements de comportement) ; (4) le développement d’actifs communautaires (restauration des terres, postes sanitaires); (5) des activités de renforcement des capacités. Le soutien du Canada pour ce programme est accordé par l’entremise du Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) des Nations Unies et de la Banque mondiale.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats intermédiaires escomptés du projet : (1) améliorer les moyens de subsistance et la résilience aux chocs des ménages dirigés par des femmes ou des hommes en milieu rural, qui sont vulnérables à l’insécurité alimentaire; (2) améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition des ménages dirigés par des femmes ou des hommes en milieu rural, qui sont vulnérables à l’insécurité alimentaire.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en août 2018: 1) le projet a fourni des transferts de denrées alimentaires en temps opportun aux personnes en situation d'insécurité alimentaire touchées par la crise de la sécheresse en Éthiopie. Ce financement couvrait la fourniture de denrées alimentaires (céréales et légumineuses) pendant deux mois supplémentaires aux ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, en mettant l'accent sur les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, notamment les femmes enceintes et allaitantes, et les jeunes enfants; 2) le projet a répondu aux besoins de 318 170 bénéficiaires du Programme touchés par la sécheresse. Ces résultats ont contribué à améliorer les moyens de subsistance et la résilience aux perturbations des ménages ruraux (dirigés par des femmes ou des hommes) touchées par l’insécurité alimentaire. Ils ont aussi contribué à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition des ménages ruraux dirigés par des femmes ou des hommes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Protection sociale en milieu rural : Programme de protection des moyens de production 2018-2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — PAM - Programme alimentaire mondial
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: