Project profile — Women's Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - South Sudan

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Women's Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - South Sudan - Overview
CA-3-P001980002
$149,600
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2020-07-15 - 2021-03-31
Operational
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (50.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (50.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the project is supporting women’s rights organizations (WROs) to combat the harmful effects that the pandemic response is having on women’s rights in South Sudan, including sexual and gender-based violence. This project is part of Canada’s Women’s Voice and Leadership Program, which supports local and regional women’s organizations and networks that are working to promote women’s rights, and advance women’s empowerment and gender equality in developing countries. This is done by supporting their activities, building institutional capacity, and promoting network and alliance-building, as women’s rights and feminist organizations are critical agents of change. The Program also responds to the significant, globally recognized gap in funding and support to women’s rights organizations and movements around the world. The project is implemented by CARE Canada, who is supporting an estimated 15 women’s rights organizations in South Sudan to pursue their agendas and priorities. The organizations are working across the former states of Jonglei, Central Equatoria, and Eastern Equatoria.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved management and sustainability of local women’s rights organizations in South Sudan, particularly those representing vulnerable and marginalized women and girls; (2) enhanced performance of women’s rights organizations’ programming and advocacy to advance gender equality and empower women and girls; and (3) increased effectiveness of national and sub-national women’s rights platforms, networks, and alliances to affect gender-sensitive policy change and policy implementation in South Sudan.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2021 include: (1) provided reliable, multi-year funding to 16 Women-led Organizations (WLOs) to pursue their own agendas and priorities; (2) supported the development of capacity building plans, tailored to the needs and priorities of the 16 WLOs, with training and mentoring provided in financial management, governance, prevention of sexual abuse and exploitation, human resources, advocacy, media communications, resource mobilization, proposal development and project management; (3) supported five WLOs in producing strategic plans and budgets that align with the priority needs of marginalized women and girls; (4) supported seven WLOs to develop resource mobilization strategies and successfully diversify their income sources; (5) provided Rapid Response Fund grants to an additional 16 WLOs to respond to the gendered impacts of COVID-19 and other urgent women’s rights issues; and (6) supported three women’s networks in launching multi-stakeholder advocacy platforms on gender equality issues, such as a new policy to end child marriage, the National Action Plan 1325 on Women, Peace and Security, COVID-19, sexual and gender-based violence, the constitutional commitment to 35% women representation across all levels of government, and WLO access to funding and participation in decision-making for humanitarian response. This has helped to improve the management capacity of the 16 partner WLOs, as well as their capacity to undertake programming and advocacy to advance gender equality. It has also increased the effectiveness of the three women’s networks to affect gender-sensitive policy change and policy implementation in South Sudan. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the project has supported 9 WLOs in combatting the harmful effects of the pandemic on women’s and girls’ rights in South Sudan, including sexual and gender-based violence.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
15-07-2020 Commitment $149,600
20-07-2020 Disbursement $149,600
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Women's Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - South Sudan - Related information
Related links
Partner website — CARE Canada
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Soudan du Sud

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Soudan du Sud - Aperçu
CA-3-P001980002
149 600 $
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2020-07-15 - 2021-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (50,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (50,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet fait partie du Programme Voix et leadership des femmes du Canada, qui soutient les organisations et les réseaux de femmes locaux et régionaux qui s’emploient à promouvoir les droits des femmes de même que le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et l’égalité des sexes dans les pays en développement. Étant donné que les organisations de défense des droits des femmes et les organisations féministes sont des agents de changement essentiels, le but est d’appuyer leurs activités, de renforcer leurs capacités institutionnelles et de favoriser la création de réseaux et d’alliances. Le programme répond également à un important manque de financement et d’appui, reconnu à l’échelle mondiale, pour les organisations et les mouvements de défense des droits des femmes dans le monde. Le projet est mis en œuvre par CARE Canada, qui aide environ 15 organisations de défense des droits des femmes au Soudan du Sud à réaliser leurs programmes et à concrétiser leurs priorités. Les organisations travaillent dans les anciens États de Jongleï, de l'Équatoria central et de l'Équatoria oriental.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés pour ce projet comprennent ce qui suit : (1) amélioration de la gestion et de la viabilité des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes au Soudan du Sud, particulièrement celles qui représentent les femmes et les filles vulnérables et marginalisées; (2) amélioration du rendement des programmes et des activités de défense des organisations des droits des femmes pour faire progresser l'égalité entre les sexes et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles; (3) accroissement de l’efficacité des plateformes, des réseaux et des alliances nationaux et sous-nationaux de défense des droits des femmes pour influer sur les changements de politiques et la mise en œuvre de politiques tenant compte des sexospécificités au Soudan du Sud.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2021 : 1) fourniture d’un financement fiable et pluriannuel à 16 organisations dirigées par des femmes (ODF) afin qu’elles poursuivent leurs propres programmes et priorités; 2) soutien à l’élaboration de plans de renforcement des capacités, adaptés aux besoins et aux priorités des 16 ODF, avec une formation et un encadrement dans les domaines de la gestion financière, de la gouvernance, de la prévention des abus et de l’exploitation sexuels, des ressources humaines, de la sensibilisation, de la communication avec les médias, de la mobilisation des ressources, de l’élaboration de propositions et de la gestion de projets; 3) soutien à cinq ODF dans l’élaboration de plans stratégiques et de budgets qui correspondent aux besoins prioritaires des femmes et des filles marginalisées; 4) aide à sept ODF pour élaborer des stratégies de mobilisation des ressources et pour diversifier avec succès leurs sources de revenus; 5) attribution de subventions du Fonds d’intervention rapide à 16 autres ODF pour répondre aux répercussions sexospécifiques de la COVID-19 et à d’autres questions urgentes relatives aux droits des femmes; 6) soutien à trois réseaux de femmes pour le lancement de plateformes de plaidoyer multipartites sur des questions d’égalité des sexes, comme une nouvelle politique visant à mettre fin au mariage des enfants, le Plan d’action national (résolution 1325) sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, la COVID-19, la violence sexuelle et sexiste, l’engagement constitutionnel de 35 % de représentation des femmes à tous les niveaux du gouvernement, et l’accès des ODF au financement et à la participation à la prise de décision pour la réponse humanitaire. Cela a permis d’améliorer la capacité de gestion des 16 ODF partenaires, ainsi que leur capacité d’entreprendre des programmes et de promouvoir l’égalité des sexes. L’efficacité des trois réseaux de femmes a également été renforcée afin d’influencer le changement de politique et la mise en œuvre des politiques en matière de genre au Soudan du Sud. En réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, le projet a soutenu 9 ODF dans la lutte contre les effets néfastes de la pandémie sur les droits des femmes et des filles au Soudan du Sud, y compris la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
15-07-2020 Engagement 149 600 $
20-07-2020 Déboursé 149 600 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Soudan du Sud - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — CARE Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: