Project profile — Support to the UN Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Support to the UN Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund - Overview
CA-3-P002381002
$1,500,000
UN Women (XM-DAC-41146)
2017-03-29 - 2020-06-30
Operational
Country / region • Africa, regional (25.00%)
• Europe, regional (25.00%)
• Asia, regional (25.00%)
• America, regional (25.00%)
Sector • Conflict Prevention And Resolution, Peace And Security
Civilian peace-building, conflict prevention and resolution (15220) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to enhance women’s engagement in peace and security. Civil society, the United Nations and Member States established the Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund to steer resources directly to women’s civil society organizations at the forefront of conflict prevention, conflict resolution and recovery efforts. The Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund supports initiatives that enhance women’s engagement, leadership and empowerment in conflict prevention by: (1) undertaking advocacy and technical support; (2) ensuring women’s meaningful participation by promoting favorable attitudes towards their participation in conflict prevention; (3) addressing barriers to women’s representation and participation in peace negotiations; and (4) ensuring that women’s and girls’ safety, health and security are assured, and that their human rights are respected through measures that prevent acts of violence, facilitate access to services for survivors, and strengthen accountability. There has been indisputable evidence that women’s participation and inclusion in peace and security processes strengthen the protection efforts of peacekeepers, improves prevention efforts against radicalization and the spread of extremism, and accelerates economic recovery through more diverse peace dividends. Evidence also shows that women’s significant participation results in a more sustainable peace, through inclusive peace talks and implementation of peace agreements.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) national strategies, financing and accountability mechanisms are in place for the implementation of women, peace and security commitments; (2) national and regional conflict prevention systems are gender sensitive;(3) increased participation of women in formal and informal peace negotiations; (4) women and girls' safety and security are enhanced; and (5) the socio-economic recovery of women is promoted in post-conflict situations.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Support to the UN Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UN Women
Global Affairs Canada
IFM International Security
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Appui au Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund des Nations Unies

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Appui au Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund des Nations Unies - Aperçu
CA-3-P002381002
1 500 000 $
ONU Femmes des femmes (XM-DAC-41146)
2017-03-29 - 2020-06-30
Actif
Pays / région • Afrique, régional (25,00%)
• Europe, régional (25,00%)
• Asie, régional (25,00%)
• Amérique, régional (25,00%)
Secteur • Prévention et règlement des conflits, paix et sécurité
Dispositifs civils de construction de la paix, et de prévention et de règlement des conflits (15220) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet a pour objectif d’accroître la participation des femmes aux efforts de paix et de sécurité. La société civile, les Nations-Unies et ses États membres ont créé le Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund afin d’acheminer les ressources directement aux organismes féminins de la société civile qui sont à l’avant-garde des efforts de prévention de résolution de conflits et de relèvement à la suite de conflits. Le fond appuie des initiatives qui favorisent la participation, le leadership et l’habilitation des femmes dans la prévention des conflits : 1) en offrant des services de défense des droits et un soutien technique; 2) en encourageant une participation significative par la promotion d’attitudes favorables à leur participation aux efforts de résolution de conflits; 3) en luttant contre les obstacles à la représentation et à la participation des femmes aux négociations en matière de paix; 4) en garantissant la sûreté, la santé et la sécurité des femmes et des filles, le respect de leurs droits et la prise de mesures qui renforcent la reddition de comptes et permettent d’éviter des actes de violence à leur endroit et, qui facilitent l’accès des survivantes à des services. Il y a des preuves incontestables que la participation et l’inclusion des femmes aux processus de paix et de sécurité renforcent les efforts de protection des soldats du maintien de la paix, renforcent les efforts de prévention contre la radicalisation et la propagation de l’extrémisme, et accélèrent la reprise économique au moyen de dividendes de la paix plus diversifiés. On a également constaté qu’une forte participation des femmes mène à une paix plus durable par l’entremise de pourparlers de paix et d’accords de paix plus inclusifs.

Résultats escomptés

Parmi les résultats escomptés de ce projet : 1) l’adoption de stratégies nationales et de mécanismes de financement et de reddition de compte permettant la mise en œuvre d’engagements à l’égard des femmes, de la paix et de la sécurité; 2) des systèmes nationaux et régionaux de prévention des conflits qui tiennent compte de la spécificité des sexes; 3) une plus grande participation des femmes aux négociations de paix officielles et officieuses; 4) une amélioration de la situation de sûreté et de sécurité des femmes et de filles; 5) un encouragement à la reprise socio-économique des femmes dans les situations d’après-conflit.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Appui au Women's Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Fund des Nations Unies - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — ONU Femmes des femmes
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
IFM Sécurité internationale
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: