Project profile — Women's Voice and Leadership - Benin

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Women's Voice and Leadership - Benin - Overview
CA-3-P002796002
$2,800,000
Oxfam-Québec (XM-DAC-22501)
2019-03-20 - 2023-12-29
Operational
Country / region • Benin (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project is part of Canada’s Women’s Voice and Leadership Program, which supports local and regional women’s organisations and networks that are working to promote women’s rights, and advance women’s empowerment and gender equality in developing countries. This is done by supporting activities, building institutional capacity, and promoting network and alliance-building as women’s rights and feminist organizations are critical agents of change. The Program also responds to the globally recognized, significant gap in funding and support to women’s rights organizations and movements around the world. This project is implemented by Oxfam-Québec. Specifically, this project aims to strengthen the capacity of organizations that work to defend the rights of women and girls and to promote gender equality in their communities in Benin. The project focuses on three key aspects within beneficiary organizations: institutional and management capacity, quality of service delivery to women and girls, and the effectiveness of their joint actions in support of public policies that benefit women and girls.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) the integration of innovative approaches and the improvement of the management and sustainability of local women's rights organizations in Benin; (2) improving the performance of programming and advocacy, as well as the delivery of quality programmes and services by women's rights organizations to advance gender equality in Benin, including through innovative approaches; and (3) improving the effectiveness of national and subnational women's rights platforms, networks and alliances to change gender policies and contribute to their implementation in Benin.

Results achieved

Among the results obtained as of March 2021: 1) launch of reactive funds for the benefit of 10 women's rights organizations in year two in order to deal with the consequences of COVID-19 impacting women's rights in Burkina Faso; 2) funding of 14 women's rights organizations, six of which were emerging and eight established in the first quarter of year two in Benin after the implementation of a reactive fund; 3) the value of investments in support to women's rights organizations and women's networks at the local level amounted to $ 461,181 ($ 196,862 in Benin and $ 378,240 in Burkina Faso). From this amount, $ 82,941 was allocated to reactive funds and $ 378,240 to multi-year funds; 4) in total, 25 women's rights organizations (10 in Benin and 15 in Burkina Faso) promote women's rights, gender equality and have gained support for their programming and/or their institutional strengthening; 5) 18 administrators from selected women's rights organizations benefited from program support during the ownership workshop and webinars organized in Benin and 30 in Burkina Faso.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $200,000
Planned Disbursement $711,662
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
09-12-2022 Disbursement $335,952
06-07-2022 Disbursement $222,881
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Women's Voice and Leadership - Benin - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Oxfam-Québec
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix et leadership des femmes - Bénin

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix et leadership des femmes - Bénin - Aperçu
CA-3-P002796002
2 800 000 $
Oxfam-Québec (XM-DAC-22501)
2019-03-20 - 2023-12-29
Actif
Pays / région • Bénin (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet fait partie du programme Voix et leadership des femmes du Canada qui appuie les organisations et les réseaux locaux et régionaux de femmes œuvrant à promouvoir les droits des femmes, le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, l’égalité des genres dans les pays en développement. Étant donné que les organisations de défense des droits des femmes et les organisations féministes sont des agents de changement essentiels, le but est d’appuyer leurs activités, de renforcer leurs capacités institutionnelles et de favoriser la création de réseaux et d’alliances. Le programme répond à un important manque de financement et d’appui, reconnu à l’échelle mondiale, pour les organisations et les mouvements de défense des droits des femmes à travers le monde. Ce projet est mis en œuvre par Oxfam-Québec. Spécifiquement, ce projet vise à renforcer la capacité des organisations qui cherchent à promouvoir l’égalité des genres dans leur communauté au Bénin. Le projet se concentre sur trois aspects clés au sein des organisations bénéficiaires : la capacité institutionnelle et de gestion, la qualité des services offerts aux femmes et filles et l'efficacité de leurs actions communes en faveur des politiques publiques favorables aux femmes et aux filles.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) l'intégration d'approches innovantes et l’amélioration de la gestion et de la viabilité des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes au Bénin; 2) l’amélioration de la performance de la programmation et du plaidoyer, ainsi que de la prestation de programmes et de services de qualité des organisations de défense des droits des femmes pour faire progresser l’égalité entre les sexes au Bénin, incluant par le biais d’approches innovantes; 3) l’amélioration de l’efficacité des plateformes, des réseaux et des alliances de défense des droits des femmes nationaux et infranationaux afin de faire changer les politiques sexospécifiques et de contribuer à leur mise en œuvre au Bénin.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2021 : 1) lancement de fonds réactif au profit de 10 organisations de défense des droits des femmes au cours de l’an deux pour faire face aux conséquences de la COVID-19 sur la jouissance des droits des femmes au Burkina Faso; 2) financement de 14 organisations de défense des droits des femmes dont six émergentes et huit établies dans le premier trimestre de l’an deux au Bénin après la mise en œuvre d’un fonds réactif; 3) la valeur des investissements en appui aux organisations de défense des droits des femmes et réseaux de femmes au niveau local s’est établie à 461 181 $ (196 862 $ au Bénin et 378 240 $ au Burkina Faso). De ce montant, 82 941 $ était alloué aux fonds réactif et 378 240 $ aux fonds pluriannuel; 4) au total, ce sont 25 organisations de défense des droits des femmes (10 au Bénin et 15 au Burkina Faso) qui font la promotion des droits des femmes et de l’égalité des genres et qui bénéficient d’un appui pour leur programmation et/ou leur renforcement institutionnel; 5) 18 administratrices des organisations de défense des droits des femmes sélectionnées ont bénéficié d’un appui programme au cours de l’atelier d’appropriation et des webinaires organisés au Bénin et 30 au Burkina Faso.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 200 000 $
Décaissements prévus 711 662 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
06-07-2022 Déboursé 222 881 $
09-12-2022 Déboursé 335 952 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix et leadership des femmes - Bénin - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Oxfam-Québec
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: