Project profile — Women’s Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Ethiopia

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Women’s Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Ethiopia - Overview
CA-3-P002931002
$500,000
Plan International Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011149)
2020-07-31 - 2020-07-31
Operational
Country / region • Ethiopia (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

In response to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, this project supports women's organizations (WOs) to combat the harmful effects of this crisis on gender equality gains and the rights of women and girls in Ethiopia, including sexual and gender-based violence. As part of its response plan, the project will provide 20 WOs with the financial support required to provide COVID-19 response activities. This project is part of Canada's Women's Voice and Leadership Program, which supports local and regional women's organizations and networks to advance women's empowerment and gender equality in developing countries. This is done by supporting their activities, building institutional capacity, and promoting network and alliance-building as women's and feminist organizations are critical agents of change. The program also responds to the globally recognized, significant gap in funding and support to women's organizations and movements worldwide. The project aims to reach up to 113 local, regional and national WOs across four Ethiopia regions (Addis Ababa, Amhara, Oromia, and Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples' Region - SNNPR). The project also provides training and support to over 70 young feminists and 24 core trainers and coaches.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project includes: (1) improved management and sustainability of women’s organizations advancing gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in Ethiopia, particularly those representing vulnerable and marginalized women and girls; (2) enhanced performance of women’s organizations’ programming and advocacy to advance gender equality and empower women and girls in Ethiopia; and (3) increased effectiveness of sub-national and national women’s platforms, networks and alliances to affect policy, legal and social change in Ethiopia that advances gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $500,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-07-2020 Commitment $500,000
31-03-2021 Disbursement $500,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Women’s Voice and Leadership - Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Ethiopia - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Plan International Canada
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Éthiopie

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Éthiopie - Aperçu
CA-3-P002931002
500 000 $
Plan International Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011149)
2020-07-31 - 2020-07-31
Actif
Pays / région • Éthiopie (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

En réponse à la pandémie coronavirus (COVID-19), ce projet soutient les organisations de femmes pour lutter contre les effets néfastes que la crise a sur les gains obtenus en matière d'égalité de genres et droits des femmes et des filles en Éthiopie, y compris la violence sexuelle et sexiste. Dans le cadre de son plan de réponse, ce projet vise à fournir à 20 organisations de femmes un soutien financier nécessaire pour mener à bien les activités de réponse au COVID-19. Ce projet fait partie du programme Voix et leadership des femmes du Canada qui appuie les organisations et les réseaux locaux et régionaux de femmes œuvrant à renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et l’égalité des genres dans les pays en développement. Étant donné que les organisations de femmes et les organisations féministes sont des agents de changement essentiels, le but est d’appuyer leurs activités, de renforcer leurs capacités institutionnelles et de favoriser la création de réseaux et d’alliances. Le programme répond à un important manque de financement et d’appui, reconnu à l’échelle mondiale, pour les organisations et les mouvements de femmes à travers le monde. Ce projet vise à soutenir indirectement jusqu’à 113 organisations de femmes locaux, régionales et nationales à travers quatre régions d'Éthiopie (Amhara, Addis-Abeba, Oromia et Région des nations, nationalités et peuples du Sud). Le projet offre également une formation à plus de 70 jeunes féministes et 24 formateurs de base.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) l’amélioration de la gestion et de la viabilité des organisations locales de femmes en Éthiopie, particulièrement celles qui représentent les femmes et les filles vulnérables et marginalisées; 2) l’amélioration de la performance de la programmation et du plaidoyer des organisations de femmes pour faire progresser l'égalité entre les genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles; 3) l’efficacité accrue des plateformes, réseaux et alliances nationaux et sous-nationaux de femmes pour influer sur les changements politiques, juridiques et sociaux en Éthiopie qui fait progresser l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 500 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-07-2020 Engagement 500 000 $
31-03-2021 Déboursé 500 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix et leadership des femmes - Réponse au coronavirus (COVID-19) - Éthiopie - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Plan International Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: