Project profile — Supporting Women Cooperatives and Associations in the Agro-Food Sector

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Supporting Women Cooperatives and Associations in the Agro-Food Sector - Overview
CA-3-P005218001
$6,342,509
FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (XM-DAC-41301)
2018-05-03 - 2022-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Lebanon (100.00%)
Sector • Secondary Education
Vocational training (11330) (35.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (5.00%)
• Business And Other Services
Business support services and institutions (25010) (23.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural co-operatives (31194) (37.00%)
Policy marker • Trade development (significant objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the livelihoods of rural Lebanese and Syrian refugee women and contributes to their empowerment through training in business management, communication skills and legal issues related to women’s rights. This project supports women-led cooperatives and associations to establish sustainable income-generating enterprises. It supports an enabling environment for women by reinforcing the capacity of relevant institutions and organisations to provide more equitable services. It also provides training to Ministry of Agriculture staff in mainstreaming gender equality in the development of policies and strategies in the agricultural sector. It empowers women in achieving equal participation in Lebanon’s economy, and improves their access to and control over resources. Project activities include: (1) increasing awareness of the rights and roles of women at the family and community levels, and this among all levels of society in targeted rural areas; (2) increasing the capacity of the General Directorate of Cooperatives (GDC) to improve their management information system for the registration and monitoring of cooperatives, including a data tracking system based on sex disaggregated data; (3) increasing the awareness of the need for more gender-responsive services from government institutions and non-governmental organizations at national and local levels; (4) increasing the knowledge in the development of business plans and technical aspects of small-scale agri-food enterprise development for targeted rural women cooperatives/associations; and (5) increasing the capacity of women cooperatives/associations to improve productivity in local agro-food business ventures. .

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved enabling social and cultural environment for rural women’s economic empowerment is created; and (2) increased participation of women cooperatives/associations in local economies to establish and/or expand sustainable agri-food income-generating enterprises.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2021 include: (1) gender mainstreaming training for 255 women cooperatives and groups, and gender awareness training and the launch of the gender awareness campaign scheduled for throughout 2021; (2) training for 37 staff members of the General Directorate of Cooperatives (of whom 23 are women) on business process design, development, mapping, monitoring, and strategic management; (3) the completion of a desk review of women’s challenges and opportunities in the agri-food sector through 40 key informant interviews; (4) the training for 621 individuals (of whom 577 are women) representing 261 women groups on business and market analysis, operational and financial planning, risk management and performance monitoring; (5) technical support for 138 women groups developing small-scale agri-food enterprise business plans; and (6) the hiring of 636 Syrian refugees (of whom 461 are women) to provide a total of 18,364 work days to support the implementation of women cooperatives’ business plans.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Supporting Women Cooperatives and Associations in the Agro-Food Sector - Related information
Related links
Partner website — FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Soutien aux coopératives et associations organisées de femmes dans le secteur agro-alimentaire

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Soutien aux coopératives et associations organisées de femmes dans le secteur agro-alimentaire - Aperçu
CA-3-P005218001
6 342 509 $
FAO - Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (XM-DAC-41301)
2018-05-03 - 2022-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Liban (100,00%)
Secteur • Éducation secondaire
Formation professionnelle (11330) (35,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (5,00%)
• Entreprises et autres services
Services et institutions de soutien commerciaux (25010) (23,00%)
• Agriculture
Coopératives agricoles (31194) (37,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement du commerce (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à améliorer les moyens de subsistance des réfugiées syriennes et des Libanaises en milieu rural et à contribuer au renforcement de leur pouvoir d’agir par la prestation de formations sur la gestion des affaires, les compétences en communication et les questions juridiques liées aux droits des femmes. Ce projet aide les coopératives et les associations dirigées par des femmes à établir des entreprises durables et génératrices de revenus. Il favorise un environnement favorable aux femmes par le renforcement de la capacité des institutions et des organisations pertinentes à offrir des services plus équitables. Le projet vise également à offrir de la formation au personnel du ministère de l’agriculture pour l’intégration de l’égalité entre les sexes dans l’élaboration des politiques et des stratégies pour le secteur agricole. Il permet d’habiliter les femmes à assurer leur participation égale à l’économie du Liban et d’améliorer leur capacité à accéder aux ressources et à contrôler celles-ci. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) accroître la sensibilisation aux droits et aux rôles des femmes dans les familles et les collectivités, à tous les échelons de la société dans des régions rurales ciblées; 2) renforcer la capacité de la direction générale des coopératives à améliorer son système d'information de gestion pour l’enregistrement et le suivi des coopératives, ce qui comprend un système de suivi fondé sur les données ventilées par sexe ; 3) accroître la sensibilisation à la nécessité d’obtenir des services tenant mieux compte des sexospécificités de la part des institutions gouvernementales et des organisations non gouvernementales à l'échelle nationale et locale; 4) approfondir la connaissance de l’élaboration de plans d’affaires et des aspects techniques du développement de petites entreprises agroalimentaires pour certaines coopératives et associations de femmes en milieu rural; 5) renforcer la capacité des coopératives et des associations de femmes à améliorer la productivité dans les entreprises agroalimentaires locales.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) la création d’un environnement social et culturel plus favorable au renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes en milieu rural; 2) l’accroissement de la participation des coopératives et des associations de femmes aux économies locales pour l’établissement ou le développement d’entreprises agroalimentaires durables et génératrices de revenus. .

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2021 : 1) formation à l’intégration des considérations liées à l’égalité des genres offerte à 255 coopératives et groupes de femmes, ainsi qu’une formation à la sensibilisation à l’égalité des genres et le lancement de la campagne de sensibilisation à l’égalité des genres prévus tout au long de 2021; 2) formation de 37 membres du personnel de la Direction générale des coopératives (dont 23 sont des femmes) sur la conception, le développement, la cartographie, le suivi et la gestion stratégique des processus d’affaires; 3) l’achèvement d’une étude documentaire sur les défis et les possibilités des femmes dans le secteur agroalimentaire dans le cadre de 40 entretiens avec des informateurs clés; 4) formation de 621 personnes (dont 577 sont des femmes) représentant 261 groupes de femmes sur l’analyse des affaires et du marché, la planification opérationnelle et financière, la gestion des risques et le suivi des performances; 5) soutien technique offert à 138 groupes de femmes élaborant le plan d’affaires de petites entreprises agroalimentaires; 6) embauche de 636 réfugiés syriens (dont 461 sont des femmes) pour fournir un total de 18 364 jours de travail afin de soutenir la mise en œuvre des plans d’affaires des coopératives de femmes.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Soutien aux coopératives et associations organisées de femmes dans le secteur agro-alimentaire - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — FAO - Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: