Project profile — Women, Agriculture and Resilience in Senegal



Overview 

CA-3-P005393001
$18,368,407
CECI - Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011136)
2019-03-29 - 2023-12-31
Operational
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa

Country / region 

• Senegal (100.00%)

Sector 

• Decentralisation and support to subnational government:
Decentralisation and support to subnational government (15112) (5.00%)
Women's rights organisations and movements, and government institutions (15170) (20.00%)
• Agricultural policy and administrative management:
Agricultural policy and administrative management (31110) (5.00%)
Agricultural development (31120) (5.00%)
Agricultural land resources (31130) (15.00%)
Agricultural water resources (31140) (15.00%)
Food crop production (31161) (20.00%)
Agricultural extension (31166) (5.00%)
Agricultural co-operatives (31194) (10.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (significant objective)
• Climate Change Adaptation (principal objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The project aims to transform gender and age group relations in Senegal in order to improve the status of women, young women and young men, as well as their influence and decision making power within their households, communities and farming organizations. It aims to increase access to economic opportunities that are adapted to climate change in irrigated crop sectors. The project also aims to increase the ability of women and young adults to control agricultural resources. It facilitates cooperation among stakeholders of integrated management processes for water resources through irrigated crops adapted to climate change. Project activities include: 1) developing training modules for emerging women and youth leaders on rights, leadership, and gender and intergenerational issues; 2) analyzing markets in target sectors to identify cost-effective and innovative opportunities based on adaptation priorities; and 3) identifying common adaptation strategies for climate variability and the resources available to address climate risks..

Expected results 

The expected outcomes of this project include: 1) increased socio-economic empowerment of women and youth; 2) sustainable and innovative intensification of irrigated agricultural activities adapted to climate change; and 3) improved, sustainable and fair local governance and territorial water management.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of March 2023 include: (1) 2 000 people, including 1 317 women, trained in human rights, leadership, positive masculinity, unpaid care work and its impact on economic development, as well as gender-based violence; (2) tools and training modules developed on integrated water resource management; (3) 2 472 people, including 1 857 women, implement new climate-smart practices; (4) 97.16% of women and 94.90% of girls declare that they have improved their entrepreneurial and technical skills, exceeding the target by 17.16% and 14.90% respectively; (5) the yield of the rice sector has almost doubled since the start of the project, rising from 1.65 tonnes per hectare to 2.75 tonnes per hectare; and (6) the percentage of women holding elected positions in farmers' organizations has increased from 31% to 36%.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
29-08-2023 Disbursement $1,189,209
16-11-2023 Disbursement $1,321,834
20-02-2024 Disbursement $950,492
15-03-2024 Disbursement $1,572,621
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Femmes et agriculture résilentes (FAR) au Sénégal



Aperçu 

CA-3-P005393001
18 368 407 $
CECI - Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011136)
2019-03-29 - 2023-12-31
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Sénégal (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Décentralisation et soutien aux administrations infranationales :
Décentralisation et soutien aux administrations infranationales (15112) (5,00%)
Organisations et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes et institutions gouvernementales (15170) (20,00%)
• Politique agricole et gestion administrative :
Politique agricole et gestion administrative (31110) (5,00%)
Développement agricole (31120) (5,00%)
Ressources en terres cultivables (31130) (15,00%)
Ressources en eau à usage agricole (31140) (15,00%)
Production agricole (31161) (20,00%)
Vulgarisation agricole (31166) (5,00%)
Coopératives agricoles (31194) (10,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (objectif significatif)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (objectif principal)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (objectif significatif)

Description 

Le projet vise à transformer les rapports de genre et entre les groupes d’âge au Sénégal afin de contribuer à améliorer le positionnement des femmes, des jeunes femmes et des jeunes hommes, ainsi qu’à leur pouvoir d’influence et de décision au sein de leur ménage, de leurs communautés et des organisations de producteurs agricoles. Le projet vise à augmenter l’accès à des opportunités économiques qui sont adaptées aux changements climatiques, et ce, dans les filières de cultures irriguées. Le projet vise aussi à augmenter le contrôle des femmes et de jeunes adultes sur les ressources du secteur de l’agriculture. Il permet la facilitation de la concertation des acteurs dans les processus de gestion intégrée des ressources en eau, par des cultures irriguées adaptées aux changements climatiques. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) développer des modules de formation aux leaders émergents femmes et jeunes sur les droits, le leadership, les enjeux de genre et intergénérationnels; 2) analyser des marchés dans les filières ciblées pour dégager les opportunités innovantes rentables, en fonction des mesures d’adaptation prioritaires; 3) identifier des stratégies d’adaptation courantes à la variabilité climatique et les ressources disponibles pour faire face aux risques climatiques.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) autonomisation socio-économique accrue des femmes et des jeunes; 2) intensification durable et novatrice des activités agricoles irriguées et adaptées aux changements climatiques; 3) gouvernance locale et gestion territoriale de l’eau améliorées, durables et équitables.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2023 : 1) 2000 personnes dont 1317 femmes formées sur les droits humains, le leadership, la masculinité positive, les soins non rémunérés et leurs impacts sur le développement économique, ainsi que les violences basées sur le genre; 2) des outils et des modules de formation élaborés sur la gestion intégrée des ressources en eau; 3) 2472 personnes, notamment 1857 femmes, mettent en œuvre de nouvelles pratiques intelligentes face au climat; 4) 97,16 % de femmes et 94,90 % de filles déclarent avoir amélioré leurs capacités entrepreneuriales et techniques, ce qui représente un dépassement de l’objectif de 17,16 % et 14,90 % respectivement; 5) le rendement de la filière riz a presque doublé depuis le début du projet en passant de 1,65 tonnes par hectare à 2,75 tonnes par hectare; 6) le pourcentage de femmes occupant des positions d’élues au sein des organisations agricoles a augmenté en passant de 31 % à 36 %.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
29-08-2023 Déboursé 1 189 209 $
16-11-2023 Déboursé 1 321 834 $
20-02-2024 Déboursé 950 492 $
15-03-2024 Déboursé 1 572 621 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :