Project profile — Bangladesh - Humanitarian Response for Rohingya Refugees - Doctors Without Borders 2017

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Bangladesh - Humanitarian Response for Rohingya Refugees - Doctors Without Borders 2017 - Overview
CA-3-P005470001
$3,500,000
Doctors Without Borders (21029)
2017-10-31 - 2018-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

October 2017 - The escalation of violence in Myanmar on August 25, 2017 has severely limited humanitarian access, restricting the delivery of essential food, medication and other basic commodities for all people living in northern Rakhine State, particularly the Rohingya population. The mass exodus of more than 519,000 Rohingya to Bangladesh, the majority being women and children, has triggered a humanitarian crisis of such a scale that concerted international co-operation is urgently required. This latest movement adds to an already significant caseload of an estimated 300,000 refugees in Bangladesh. The number of Rohingya refugees in Cox’s Bazaar, Bangladesh continues to grow, and key humanitarian actors are describing the current situation as the world’s fastest deteriorating refugee crisis. With GAC’s support, Doctors Without Borders is helping to meet the basic health, water, sanitation, and hygiene needs of up to 250,000 refugees in Cox’s Bazaar, Bangladesh, focusing particularly on women and girls. Project activities include: (1) providing emergency, primary and secondary healthcare services with a focus on sexual and reproductive health and rights, mental health, sexual and gender-based violence, maternity services and obstetric care; and (2) providing access to sufficient quantity and quality of water, sanitation and hygiene facilities.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved access to primary health care services, with a focus on sexual and reproductive health and rights, mental health, and sexual and gender-based violence; (2) improved access to life-saving emergency and secondary health care services, including maternity services; and (3) improved access to sufficient quantity and quality of water, sanitation, and hygiene facilities. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crisis or that are facing acute food insecurity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $1,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-10-2017 Commitment $3,500,000
01-11-2017 Disbursement $1,000,000
07-02-2018 Disbursement $1,500,000
28-12-2017 Disbursement $1,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Bangladesh - Humanitarian Response for Rohingya Refugees - Doctors Without Borders 2017 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Doctors Without Borders
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Bangladesh - Réponse humanitaire pour les réfugiés Rohingya - Médecins Sans Frontières 2017

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Bangladesh - Réponse humanitaire pour les réfugiés Rohingya - Médecins Sans Frontières 2017 - Aperçu
CA-3-P005470001
3 500 000 $
MSF - Médecins Sans Frontières (21029)
2017-10-31 - 2018-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
Description et résultats

Description

Octobre 2017 – En réponse à l’attaque de postes militaires et postes de police de l’État de Rakhine par l’Armée du salut des Rohingyas de l’Arakan, le 25 août 2017, l’armée du Myanmar a entamé une sévère répression de la population rohingya. La vague de violence occasionnée a amené plus de 600 000 Rohingyas, dont une majorité de femmes et d’enfants, à fuir au Bangladesh. Cette migration de masse s’ajoute aux quelque 300 000 réfugiés rohingyas déjà accueillis par le Bangladesh, déclenchant une crise humanitaire d’une telle ampleur qu’une coopération internationale concertée s’impose de toute urgence. La situation causée par l’augmentation toujours croissante du nombre de réfugiés rohingyas dans le district bangladais de Cox’s Bazaar est décrite par les principaux intervenants humanitaires comme étant la crise de réfugiés qui, à l’échelle mondiale, se détériore le plus rapidement. Grâce au soutien d’AMC, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) contribue à assurer les besoins de base en matière de santé, d’hygiène et d’accès à l’eau et aux installations sanitaires de près de 250 000 réfugiés dans le Cox’s Bazaar, au Bangladesh, en mettant un accent particulier sur les femmes et les filles. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) fournir des services de santé d’urgence, primaires et secondaires, axés sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs, la santé mentale et la prévention de la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe, les services de maternité et d’obstétrique; 2) fournir un meilleur accès à des installations d’approvisionnement en eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène suffisantes et de qualité.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) un accès accru à des services de soins de santé primaires, axés sur la santé et les droits sexuels et génésiques, la santé mentale et la prévention de la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe; 2) un accès accru aux services de soins de santé d’urgence et secondaires vitaux, y compris les services de maternité; 3) un accès accru à des installations d’approvisionnement en eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène suffisantes et de qualité. Le résultat ultime escompté est le suivant : vies sauvées, souffrances atténuées et dignité humaine préservée dans des pays où sévit une crise humanitaire ou une insécurité alimentaire grave.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 1 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-10-2017 Engagement 3 500 000 $
01-11-2017 Déboursé 1 000 000 $
07-02-2018 Déboursé 1 500 000 $
28-12-2017 Déboursé 1 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Bangladesh - Réponse humanitaire pour les réfugiés Rohingya - Médecins Sans Frontières 2017 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — MSF - Médecins Sans Frontières
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des organisations internationales (multilatérales, ONGI)
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: