Project profile — Gender and Social Protection in Iraq: Towards Women's Economic Empowerment



Overview 

CA-3-P005619001
$2,498,550
World Bank
2018-09-12 - 2022-06-30
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh

Country / region 

• Iraq (100.00%)

Sector 

• Public sector policy and administrative management:
Public sector policy and administrative management (15110) (15.00%)
Women's rights organisations and movements, and government institutions (15170) (40.00%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services: Employment policy and administrative management (16020) (35.00%)
• Business And Other Services: Business support services and institutions (25010) (10.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)

Description 

The project aims to advance inclusive governance and women’s empowerment in Iraq by identifying legal barriers and constraints affecting women’s ability to work, and by supporting the drafting and effective implementation of legislation removing these legal barriers. The project works in partnership with the Secretariat General of the Council of Ministers, and the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs. It supports the delivery of the Government of Iraq’s programs focusing on the economic and political empowerment of women. Project activities include: (1) providing technical assistance to review legislation and draft recommendations; (2) training government staff to conduct gender sensitization and awareness; and (3) publishing manuals and guidelines for use in policy development and legislative drafting.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) reduced legal barriers to women’s economic and political empowerment; and (2) reduced social and psychological barriers to women’s empowerment, including those related to their capacities.

Results achieved 

Results achieved at the end of the project (June 2022) include: (1) developed and disseminated a comprehensive report on the laws and policies that impact women’s rights in Iraq, particularly their economic rights; (2) provided recommendations for legislative reform that the Kurdistan region of Iraq integrated into revisions of its labour law and are informing revisions to Iraq’s federal labour law; (3) developed and disseminated an assessment of the main challenges affecting the implementation of existing laws; (4) developed and disseminated a gender mainstreaming toolkit and strengthened the capacity of 16 staff members from the Women’s Empowerment Directorate to use the toolkit to mainstream gender equality consideration into Iraq’s policies and legislation; (5) developed and disseminated a comprehensive review of women’s business leadership and skills training programs in Iraq to improve training programs and ensure more effective monitoring and evaluation of their impacts; (6) strengthened the capacity of 10 individuals from the Directorate of Non-Governmental and Civil Society Organizations to improve the service delivery to support women’s empowerment, and strengthened their capacity to transfer this knowledge to their peers; such as training of trainers; (7) strengthened the capacity of 14 Director Generals and Directors of women’s empowerment sections in key Ministries and the Iraqi Council of Ministers Secretariat to effectively deliver programs on women’s business and leadership skills; (8) developed and disseminated a study on the barriers that prevent Iraqi women from joining the workforce; (9) conducted a household survey to better understand how social norms and cultural beliefs influence women’s ability or decisions to participate in the workforce; (10) provided recommendations for social behaviour change campaigns currently integrated into media campaigns implemented in federal Iraq and the Kurdistan Region of Iraq; (11) conducted a peer-reviewed study of women’s self-employment in Iraq targeting the poorest and most vulnerable and identified priorities for engagement by government and non-government organizations in the future; and (12) designed an economic inclusion pilot study focused on improving women’s self-employment opportunities in rural Iraq, which is now being funded and implemented through another project. Iraq and the Kurdistan region of Iraq actively use many of the reports and studies produced under this project to inform ongoing legislation revisions. They are also helping to increase the effectiveness and integration of gender equality and women’s empowerment programming implemented through other initiatives, including the Canada-funded Mashreq Gender Facility project.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Genre et protection sociale en Irak : Vers le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes



Aperçu 

CA-3-P005619001
2 498 550 $
Banque mondiale
2018-09-12 - 2022-06-30
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma

Pays / région 

• Irak (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Politiques publiques et gestion administrative :
Politiques publiques et gestion administrative (15110) (15,00%)
Organisations et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes et institutions gouvernementales (15170) (40,00%)
• Infrastructure et services sociaux divers : Politique de l'emploi et gestion administrative (16020) (35,00%)
• Entreprises et autres services : Services et institutions de soutien commerciaux (25010) (10,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet a pour but de faire progresser la gouvernance inclusive et de renforcer le pouvoir des femmes en Irak en déterminant les obstacles légaux et autres contraintes qui limitent l’aptitude des femmes à travailler, et en aidant à la rédaction et à la mise en œuvre d’une législation apte à éliminer ces barrières. Le projet est mené en partenariat avec le Secrétariat général du conseil des ministres et le ministère du Travail et des Affaires sociales. Il appuie la prestation des programmes gouvernementaux irakiens de renforcement du pouvoir économique et politique des femmes. Parmi les activités du projet : 1) fournir de l’assistance technique pour examiner la législation et rédiger des recommandations; 2) former le personnel du gouvernement en vue de mener des activités de sensibilisation à l’égalité entre les sexes; 3) publier des manuels et des lignes directrices à utiliser pour l’élaboration de politiques et la rédaction législative.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats attendus du projet comprennent : 1) réduire les obstacles juridiques au renforcement du pouvoir politique et économique des femmes; 2) réduire les barrières sociales et psychologiques s’opposant au renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, y compris celles liées à leurs capacités.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (juin 2022) : 1) élaboration et diffusion d'un rapport complet sur les lois et les politiques qui ont une incidence sur les droits des femmes en Irak, en particulier leurs droits économiques; 2) formulation de recommandations en vue d'une réforme législative que la région du Kurdistan irakien a intégrées dans les révisions de son droit du travail et qui éclairent les révisions du droit du travail fédéral de l'Irak; 3) élaboration et diffusion d'une évaluation des principaux défis affectant la mise en œuvre des lois existantes; 4) élaboration et diffusion d'une boîte à outils pour l'intégration de la dimension de genre et renforcement de la capacité de 16 membres du personnel de la direction de l'autonomisation des femmes à utiliser cette boîte à outils pour intégrer la dimension d'égalité entre les hommes et les femmes dans les politiques et la législation irakiennes; 5) élaboration et diffusion d'un examen complet des programmes de formation au leadership et aux compétences commerciales des femmes en Iraq afin d'améliorer les programmes de formation et d'assurer un suivi et une évaluation plus efficaces de leur impact; 6) renforcement de la capacité de 10 personnes de la direction des organisations non gouvernementales et de la société civile à améliorer la prestation de services pour soutenir l'autonomisation des femmes, et renforcement de leur capacité à transférer ces connaissances à leurs pairs; 7) renforcer la capacité de 14 directeurs généraux et directeurs des sections chargées de l'autonomisation des femmes dans les principaux ministères et le secrétariat du Conseil des ministres irakien à mettre en œuvre efficacement des programmes sur les compétences des femmes en matière d'affaires et de leadership; 8) élaboration et diffusion d'une étude sur les obstacles qui empêchent les femmes irakiennes de rejoindre le marché du travail; 9) réalisation d'une enquête auprès des ménages pour mieux comprendre comment les normes sociales et les croyances culturelles influencent la capacité ou la décision des femmes de participer au marché du travail; 10) formuler des recommandations pour les campagnes de changement de comportement social actuellement intégrées dans les campagnes médiatiques mises en œuvre dans l'Irak fédéral et la région du Kurdistan irakien; 11) mener une étude évaluée par des pairs sur l'emploi indépendant des femmes en Irak, ciblant les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, et identifier les priorités pour l'engagement des organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales à l'avenir; 12) concevoir une étude pilote sur l'inclusion économique axée sur l'amélioration des possibilités d'emploi indépendant des femmes dans l'Irak rural, qui est actuellement financée et mise en œuvre dans le cadre d'un autre projet. L'Irak et la région du Kurdistan irakien utilisent activement un grand nombre de rapports et d'études produits dans le cadre de ce projet pour éclairer les révisions législatives en cours. Ils contribuent également à accroître l'efficacité et l'intégration des programmes d'égalité des sexes et d'autonomisation des femmes mis en œuvre dans le cadre d'autres initiatives, notamment le projet Mashreq Gender Facility financé par le Canada.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :