Project profile — Women's Voice and Leadership - Peru

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Women's Voice and Leadership - Peru - Overview
CA-3-P005633001
$5,249,668
Cuso International (CA-CRA_ACR-3811116813)
2019-03-14 - 2023-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Peru (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project is part of Canada’s Women’s Voice and Leadership Program, which supports local and regional women’s organisations and networks that are working to promote women’s rights, and advance women’s empowerment and gender equality in developing countries. This is done by supporting activities, building institutional capacity, and promoting network and alliance-building as women’s rights and feminist organizations are critical agents of change. The Program also responds to the globally recognized, significant gap in funding and support to women’s rights organizations and movements around the world. This project is implemented by Cuso International in 14 regions of Peru. It strengthens the capacity of a wide range of women's rights organizations, including 4 leading national organizations, 180 grassroots organizations and 20 national and sub-national feminist networks.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved management and sustainability of local women’s rights organizations in Peru, particularly those representing vulnerable and marginalized women and girls; (2) enhanced performance of women’s rights organizations’ programming and advocacy to advance gender equality and empower women and girls in Peru; and (3) increased effectiveness of national and sub-national women’s rights platforms, networks and alliances to affect gender-sensitive policy change and policy implementation in Peru.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of (March 2020) include: the four Peruvian implementing partners “Estudios para la Defensa de los Derechos de la Mujeres, Flora Tristán, Movimiento Manuela Ramos, Organización Nacional de Mujeres Andinas y Amazónicas”, in collaboration with several local women rights organisations, (1) drafted petitions to the Minister of Justice and Human Rights advocating for the decriminalization of abortion in rape cases for girls under the age of 14 and advancements in the legal framework on Gender Equality and non-discrimination. As a result, the Government announced the preparation of a bill to legalize abortion in cases of rape of children under the age of 14; (2) organized citizen actions to denounce the increase of femicides in Peru, demanding for urgent measures; (3) participated in decision-making spaces and designed advocacy activities to denounce Gender-Based Violence; (4) issued public statements, for example, presenting a petition to the President of Peru and Minister of Women to approve the bill to prevent and punish political harassment against women; (5) requested resources allocation for the implementation of the National Policy on Gender Equality; and (6) denounced 20 incidents of political harassment against women authorities and/or political candidates as part of its ‘We are half, we want parity’ campaign. This campaign was advocating for greater representation of women in politics. After a long and successful campaign, the Peruvian government finally passed a law that would increase the representation of women in Congress.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $698,890
Planned Disbursement $1,184,752
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Women's Voice and Leadership - Peru - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Cuso International
Global Affairs Canada
NGM Americas
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Voix et leadership des femmes - Pérou

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Voix et leadership des femmes - Pérou - Aperçu
CA-3-P005633001
5 249 668 $
Cuso International (CA-CRA_ACR-3811116813)
2019-03-14 - 2023-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Pérou (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet fait partie du programme Voix et leadership des femmes du Canada, qui appuie les organisations et les réseaux locaux et régionaux de femmes œuvrant à promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles, le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes, et l’égalité des genres dans les pays en développement. Étant donné que les organisations de défense des droits des femmes et les organisations féministes sont des agents de changement essentiels, le but est d'appuyer leurs activités, renforcer leurs capacités institutionnelles, et favoriser la création de réseaux et d'alliances. Le programme répond à un important manque de financement et d'appui, reconnu à l'échelle mondiale, pour les organisations et mouvements de défense des droits des femmes à travers le monde. Ce projet est mis en œuvre par Cuso International dans 14 régions du Pérou. Il renforce les capacités d'un large éventail d'organisations de défense des droits des femmes, dont 4 organisations œuvrant à l'échelle nationale, 180 petites organisations locales, et 20 réseaux féministes nationaux et régionaux.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : (1) amélioration de la gestion et de la viabilité des organisations de défense des droits des femmes au Pérou, en particulier des organisations représentant des femmes et des filles vulnérables; (2) amélioration de la performance des programmes et du plaidoyer des organisations de défense des droits des femmes pour faire progresser l’égalité des genres au Pérou et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles; et 3) efficacité accrue des plateformes, réseaux et alliances nationaux et sous-nationaux de défense des droits des femmes pour influer sur les changements politiques, juridiques et sociaux au Pérou.

Résultats atteints

Les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2020 comprennent : les quatre partenaires d'exécution péruviens « Estudios para la Defensa de los Derechos de la Mujeres, Flora Tristán, Movimiento Manuela Ramos, Organización Nacional de Mujeres Andinas y Amazónicas », en collaboration avec plusieurs organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes, ont 1) rédigé des pétitions adressées au Ministre de la Justice et des Droits humains défendant la dépénalisation de l'avortement dans les cas de viol de filles de moins de 14 ans et demandant des progrès du cadre juridique sur l'égalité des genres et la non-discrimination. En conséquence, le Gouvernement a annoncé l'élaboration d'un projet de loi visant à légaliser l'avortement en cas de viol d'enfants de moins de 14 ans; 2) organisé des actions citoyennes pour dénoncer l'augmentation des fémicides au Pérou, exigeant des mesures urgentes; 3) participé à des espaces de prise de décision et conçu des activités de plaidoyer pour dénoncer la violence basée sur le genre; 4) publié des déclarations publiques, par exemple en présentant une pétition au Président du Pérou et à la Ministre de la femme pour approuver le projet de loi visant à prévenir et à punir le harcèlement politique à l'égard des femmes; 5) demandé une allocation de ressources pour la mise en œuvre de la Politique nationale sur l'égalité des genres; 6) dénoncé 20 incidents de harcèlement politique contre des femmes, des autorités et / ou des candidates politiques dans le cadre de la campagne « Nous sommes la moitié, nous voulons la parité ». Cette campagne plaidait pour une plus grande représentation des femmes en politique. Après une longue et fructueuse campagne, le gouvernement péruvien a finalement adopté une loi qui augmenterait la représentation des femmes au Congrès.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 698 890 $
Décaissements prévus 1 184 752 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Voix et leadership des femmes - Pérou - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Cuso International
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
NGM Amériques
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: