Project profile — Enhanced Governance for Improving the Well-Being of the Most Vulnerable Women and Girls in Iraq

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Enhanced Governance for Improving the Well-Being of the Most Vulnerable Women and Girls in Iraq - Overview
CA-3-P005907001
$5,000,000
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund (XM-DAC-41119)
2018-03-28 - 2021-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Iraq (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Population policy and administrative management (13010) (50.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (17.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (33.00%)
Policy marker • Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Gender equality (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project seeks to encourage greater use of integrated sexual and reproductive health services by women and girls. The project works to increase policy makers’ awareness of gender gaps in existing policies and programs, with the aim of strengthening these policies in Iraq. The project aims to increase awareness of the need to prevent and respond to gender-based violence (GBV) and other harmful practices. The project offers training to health managers to strengthen health systems to deliver quality integrated sexual and reproductive health services.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, especially for the most vulnerable and marginalized, are advanced through 2,000 decision- makers trained to address gender equality (GE) and GBV issues, and at least three national policies and two laws integrate GE; (2) 12 advocacy campaigns on GE, GBV, and harmful practices led by authorities and coordinated by the UNFPA; (3) significant rise (40% in targeted groups) in awareness of domestic abuse, and legal and protection recourses; (4) more than 800 women accessing new protection support in 4 new shelters; (5) women and girls, especially those most vulnerable, utilize integrated sexual and reproductive health services, and exercise reproductive rights, free of coercion, discrimination and violence through: 2,000 health workers trained in reproductive health, and 40 health facilities receive new equipment; (6) reproductive health data improved through 4 surveys (in conflict-affected areas); increased use of contraceptives; (7) high proportion of deliveries attended by skilled health workers.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of December 2020 include: (1) provided 29,182 women and girls access to gender-based violence (GBV) services through women protection facilities in 12 districts of Iraq; (2) facilitated the participation of 295 individuals, including gender-based violence (GBV) specialists, case managers, and GBV and Reproductive Health (RH) coordinators in Iraq, in writing GBV standard operating procedures; (3) reviewed or developed policies and legal frameworks of a clinical management of rape protocol, a child marriage strategy, a national GBV strategy and national and regional violence against women strategies and action plans, through United Nations Population Fund’s (UNFPA) coordination with the Kurdistan Region of Iraq’s High Council of Women’s Affairs and the Supreme Judicial Council; (4) facilitated the UNFPA in conducting four advocacy campaigns in coordination with authorities in federal Iraq and the Kurdistan Region of Iraq ; (5) revised one reproductive health policy and finalized a family planning strategy; (6) trained 31 social workers and case managers to provide GBV services through a hotline centre; (7) trained 400 health workers on reproductive health topics; and (8) supported 55 health facilities with reproductive health commodities and equipment.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $500,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
11-03-2022 Disbursement $250,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Enhanced Governance for Improving the Well-Being of the Most Vulnerable Women and Girls in Iraq - Related information
Related links
Partner website — UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Gouvernance améliorée pour des conditions de vie meilleures pour les Irakiennes les plus vulnérables

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Gouvernance améliorée pour des conditions de vie meilleures pour les Irakiennes les plus vulnérables - Aperçu
CA-3-P005907001
5 000 000 $
UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (XM-DAC-41119)
2018-03-28 - 2021-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Irak (100,00%)
Secteur • Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (50,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (17,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (33,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à encourager une utilisation accrue des services intégrés de santé sexuelle et reproductive par les femmes et les filles en Irak. Le projet travaille à améliorer les connaissances des décideurs en matière de genre et ce, en ce qui a trait aux politiques et politiques déjà existantes, de façon à les rendre plus efficaces. Ce projet comprend un programme de sensibilisation aux efforts nécessaires de prévention et d'intervention face à la violence fondée sur le genre et à d'autres pratiques néfastes. Le projet offre une formation à des gestionnaires travaillant dans le domaine de la santé afin renforcer les systèmes de santé pour fournir des services intégrés de santé sexuelle et reproductive de qualité.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : (1) l'égalité des sexes (ÉS) et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles, en particulier pour les plus vulnérables et les plus marginalisés, sont favorisés par 2 000 décideurs formés aux questions d'égalité des sexes et de VBG, et au moins trois politiques nationales et deux lois intègrent le concept de ÉS ; (2) 12 campagnes de sensibilisation sur la VBG et les pratiques néfastes menées par les autorités et coordonnées par le UNFPA ; (3) plus de 800 femmes ont accès à un nouveau soutien en matière de protection dans quatre nouveaux refuges ; (4) plus de 800 femmes ont accès à un nouveau soutien en matière de protection dans 4 nouveaux refuges ; (5) les femmes et les filles, en particulier les plus vulnérables, utilisent les services intégrés de santé sexuelle et reproductive et exercent leurs droits en matière de reproduction, sans contrainte, discrimination et violence : 2 000 agents de santé formés à la santé en matière de procréation et 40 établissements de santé reçoivent du nouveau matériel ; (6) les données sur la santé en matière de procréation ont été améliorées grâce à 4 enquêtes (dans les zones touchées par le conflit) ; l'utilisation des contraceptifs a augmenté ; (7) une forte proportion des accouchements ont été effectués par des agents sanitaires qualifiés.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en décembre 2020 : 1) on a assuré à 29 182 femmes et filles l’accès à des services de lutte contre la violence sexiste par l’entremise de centres de protection des femmes dans 12 districts de l’Irak; 2) on a facilité la participation de 295 personnes, dont des spécialistes de la violence sexiste, des gestionnaires de cas et des coordinateurs en violence sexiste et en santé reproductive en Irak, à la rédaction de procédures opérationnelles standard en la matière; 3) on a révisé ou élaboré les politiques et cadres juridiques d’un protocole de conduite du traitement clinique du viol, d’une stratégie relative au mariage des enfants, d’une stratégie nationale de lutte contre la violence sexiste et de stratégies et plans d’action nationaux et régionaux de lutte contre la violence à l’égard des femmes, grâce à la coordination du FNUAP avec le Haut conseil de la condition féminine de la région du Kurdistan irakien et la Cour suprême fédérale; 4) on a aidé le FNUAP à mener quatre campagnes de sensibilisation de concert avec les autorités fédérales de l’Irak et de la région du Kurdistan irakien; 5) on a révisé une politique de santé reproductive et mis au point une stratégie de planification familiale; 6) on a formé 31 travailleurs sociaux et gestionnaires de cas pour fournir des services de violence sexiste par l’entremise d’un centre d’assistance téléphonique; 7) on a formé 400 travailleurs de la santé sur des sujets liés à la santé reproductive; 8) on a soutenu 55 établissements de santé en fournissant des produits et équipements liés à la santé reproductive.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 500 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
11-03-2022 Déboursé 250 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Gouvernance améliorée pour des conditions de vie meilleures pour les Irakiennes les plus vulnérables - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — UNFPA - Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: