Project profile — Work Empowerment for Women in Iraq

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Work Empowerment for Women in Iraq - Overview
CA-3-P006009001
$4,250,000
PartnersGlobal
2019-02-28 - 2022-06-30
Operational
Country / region • Iraq (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Legal and judicial development (15130) (40.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (30.00%)
• Other Social Infrastructure And Services
Employment policy and administrative management (16020) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to increase protection and access to equitable employment for women in Iraq. Through collaboration with the Iraqi Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, the Ministry of Justice’s Higher Judicial Council, Iraqi law firms, the Iraqi Bar Association, Iraqi trade unions, and local women’s community organizations, the project informs women of their rights in the workplace, gives them resources to ensure they are respected, and thereby encourages them to join the workforce. Project activities include: (1) the training of up to 275 women, following which at least 85% will be able to demonstrate knowledge of their rights in the workplace and how to assert them; (2) the establishment of a monitoring and liaison body on gender discrimination and harassment in the workplace. Up to 75 labour court judges and lawyers and up to 120 labour inspectors will be trained for this purpose; and (3) Addressing the social and cultural stigmas inhibiting women’s access to work, and providing them with informed narratives that promote the role of Iraqi women in the country’s economic revitalization. As a result of this implementation, Iraqi women will be able to enter and remain in the workforce without fear of discrimination or harassment, allowing them to contribute toward Iraq’s economic revitalization.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) reduced vulnerability to harassment and discrimination in the workplace for women in Iraq; (2) improved good governance processes and networks of support for women in asserting their workplace rights in Iraq; and (3) improved social attitudes towards working women and their rights among businesses, men, women, and families in Baghdad and Basra.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2022 include: (1) reached 301 beneficiaries directly in this reporting period ( 276 women and 25 men); (2) conducted six awareness-raising workshops on women's rights and protection for 296 participants (271 women and 25 men) in Baghdad, Basra, and Ninawa; (3) conducted a three-day training on gender-based provisions of the Iraqi labour law for 60 labour inspectors of the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (MOLSA) to support the inspectors in recognizing and documenting anti-discrimination violations in the workplace; and (4) conducted two sessions to share on-the-ground challenges that hinder the implementation of labour laws and key shortfalls in the legal framework. Also developed an action plan to address these challenges for 22 participants from the MoLSA, the Iraqi Bar Association, Civil Society Organizations, the General Federation of Iraq Workers, female employees, and private sector representatives.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $849,340
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
05-12-2022 Disbursement $250,106
23-08-2022 Disbursement $99,613
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Work Empowerment for Women in Iraq - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes irakiennes sur le marché du travail

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes irakiennes sur le marché du travail - Aperçu
CA-3-P006009001
4 250 000 $
PartnersGlobal
2019-02-28 - 2022-06-30
Actif
Pays / région • Irak (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Développement des services légaux et judiciaires (15130) (40,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (30,00%)
• Infrastructure et services sociaux divers
Politique de l'emploi et gestion administrative (16020) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à accroître la protection et l'accès à un emploi équitable pour les femmes en Irak. Grâce à une collaboration avec le ministère irakien du Travail et des Affaires sociales, le Conseil supérieur de la magistrature du ministère de la Justice, des cabinets d'avocats irakiens, l'Association du barreau irakien, des syndicats irakiens et des organisations communautaires féminines locales, le projet informe les femmes de leurs droits sur le lieu de travail, leur donne des ressources pour qu’elles soient respectées et les encourage à intégrer le marché du travail. Les activités du projet comprennent: 1) la formation d’un maximum de 275 femmes, à la suite de quoi au moins 85% seront capables de démontrer la connaissance de leurs droits sur le lieu de travail et de comment les faire valoir; 2) la création d'un organe de surveillance et de liaison sur la discrimination et le harcèlement sexistes sur le lieu de travail. Un maximum de 75 juges et avocats du tribunal du travail et jusqu'à 120 inspecteurs du travail seront formés à cette fin; et 3) la lutte contre les stigmates sociaux et culturels qui entravent l’accès des femmes au travail et en leur fournissant des récits éclairés qui promeuvent le rôle des femmes irakiennes dans la revitalisation économique du pays. Grâce à cette mise en œuvre, les Irakiennes pourront entrer et rester sur le marché du travail sans crainte de discrimination ou de harcèlement, ce qui leur permettra de contribuer à la revitalisation de l’économie irakienne.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) vulnérabilité réduite au harcèlement et à la discrimination sur le lieu de travail pour les femmes en Irak; 2) amélioration des processus de bonne gouvernance et des réseaux de soutien aux femmes pour faire valoir leurs droits sur le lieu de travail en Irak; 3) l'amélioration des attitudes sociales à l'égard des travailleuses et de leurs droits parmi les entreprises, les hommes, les femmes et les familles à Bagdad et à Bassorah.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mars 2022 : 1) sensibilisation directe de 301 bénéficiaires au cours de cette période de rapport (dont 276 femmes et 25 hommes); 2) organisation de six ateliers de sensibilisation sur les droits et sur la protection des femmes pour 296 participants (271 femmes et 25 hommes) à Bagdad, à Basra et à Ninewa; 3) organisation d’une formation de trois jours sur les dispositions fondées sur le genre du droit du travail irakien pour 60 inspecteurs du travail du ministère du Travail et des Affaires sociales (MTAS) afin d’aider les inspecteurs à reconnaître et à documenter les violations de la législation contre la discrimination sur le lieu de travail; 4) organisation de deux séances visaient à présenter les défis qui entravent la mise en œuvre du droit du travail sur le terrain et les principales lacunes du cadre juridique, puis ensuite à élaborer un plan d’action pour relever ces défis pour 22 participants du MTAS, de l’Association du barreau irakien, d’organisations de la société civile, de la Fédération générale des travailleurs irakiens, d’employées, et de représentants du secteur privé.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 849 340 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
05-12-2022 Déboursé 250 106 $
23-08-2022 Déboursé 99 613 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes irakiennes sur le marché du travail - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: