Project profile — Yemen - Emergency Water, Hygiene, Health and Livelihoods Assistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Yemen - Emergency Water, Hygiene, Health and Livelihoods Assistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019 - Overview
CA-3-P006073001
$4,100,000
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2018-04-27 - 2020-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Yemen (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (RMNCH) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

May 2018 - Yemen is currently the world’s largest humanitarian crisis according to the United Nations, with 22.2 million people in need of humanitarian assistance, including 11.3 million that require immediate life-saving assistance. Sixty percent of the population (17.8 million people) is food insecure, with 8.4 million people on the brink of famine. Malnutrition has soared by over 65% in 2017, and an estimated 400,000 children under five years of age are suffering from severe acute malnutrition. More than 3 million people have been displaced and basic service provision is collapsing. Yemen is currently facing a diphtheria outbreak with over 1,500 suspected cases, and could face another wave of cholera with the beginning of its rainy season in April. In 2017, it was afflicted by one of the largest cholera outbreaks ever recorded, with over 1 million suspected cases and 2,200 deaths reported. Many health facilities have been destroyed or have stopped functioning. Humanitarian access remains a significant challenge. With GAC’s multi-year support, CARE Canada is providing emergency water, sanitation, hygiene, reproductive health services and livelihoods support to up to 65,877 of the most vulnerable conflict-affected people, particularly women, in the Taiz governorate of Yemen. Project activities include: (1) providing cash assistance to enable beneficiaries to meet their basic needs; (2) rehabilitating or establishing water sources and latrines in rural communities; (3) providing hygiene and dignity kits; and (4) training community health workers and providing medical supplies to promote sexual and reproductive health services.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased ability to meet livelihoods and basic needs; (2) improved access to safe water, sanitation and hygiene services; and (3) increased access to sexual and reproductive health services. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crisis or that are facing acute food insecurity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $1,200,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
12-08-2019 Disbursement $1,200,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Yemen - Emergency Water, Hygiene, Health and Livelihoods Assistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — CARE Canada
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by international organisations (multilateral, INGO)
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Yémen - Aide d’urgence en eau, hygiène, santé et moyens de subsistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Yémen - Aide d’urgence en eau, hygiène, santé et moyens de subsistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-P006073001
4 100 000 $
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2018-04-27 - 2020-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Yémen (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Mai 2018 – Le Yémen constitue actuellement, selon les Nations Unies, la plus importante crise humanitaire au monde, avec 22,2 millions de personnes ayant besoin d’une aide humanitaire, dont 11,3 millions exigeant une assistance vitale immédiate. Soixante pour cent de la population (soit 17,8 millions de personnes) vit dans l’insécurité alimentaire, dont 8,4 millions de personnes au bord de la famine. La malnutrition s’est accrue de plus de 65 % en 2017, et environ 400 000 enfants de moins de cinq ans souffrent de malnutrition aiguë sévère. Plus de trois millions de personnes ont été déplacées, et l’on ne parvient plus à assurer la prestation des services de base. Le Yémen est présentement confronté à une éclosion de diphtérie, avec plus de 1 500 cas présumés, et pourrait devoir faire face à une nouvelle flambée de choléra après le début de la saison des pluies, en avril. En 2017, le pays a subi une des plus importantes épidémies de choléra jamais consignées, dénombrant plus d’un million de cas présumés et 2 200 décès signalés. Plusieurs centres de santé ont été détruits ou ont cessé de fonctionner. L’accès à l’aide humanitaire reste un défi de taille. Grâce au soutien pluriannuel d’AMC, CARE Canada fournit une aide d’urgence touchant l’approvisionnement en eau, les installations sanitaires, l’hygiène, les services de santé reproductive et les moyens de subsistance à plus de 65 877 personnes parmi les plus vulnérables au conflit, et particulièrement aux femmes, dans le gouvernorat de Taïz, au Yémen. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) l’octroi d’une aide financière permettant aux bénéficiaires de combler leurs besoins de base; 2) l’aménagement ou la remise en état de sources d’eau et de latrines dans les collectivités rurales; 3) la distribution de trousses d’hygiène et de dignité; et 4) la formation des travailleurs en santé communautaire et la fourniture d’équipements médicaux pour promouvoir les services de santé sexuelle et reproductive.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats prévus de ce projet sont : 1) une capacité accrue à rétablir les moyens de subsistance et à répondre aux besoins élémentaires; 2) un meilleur accès à l’eau et aux services d’hygiène et d’assainissement; et 3) un accès accru aux services de santé sexuelle et reproductive. Le résultat ultime escompté est le suivant : vies sauvées, souffrances atténuées et dignité humaine préservée dans des pays où sévit une crise humanitaire ou une insécurité alimentaire grave.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 1 200 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
12-08-2019 Déboursé 1 200 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Yémen - Aide d’urgence en eau, hygiène, santé et moyens de subsistance – CARE Canada 2018-2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — CARE Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: