Project profile — Health and Education in Cox's Bazar

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Health and Education in Cox's Bazar - Overview
CA-3-P006407001
$16,269,421
International DevelopmentAssociation (XM-DAC-44002)
2018-07-30 - 2023-07-19
Operational
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Education, Level Unspecified
Education policy and administrative management (11110) (10.00%)
• Education, Level Unspecified
Education facilities and training (11120) (10.00%)
• Education, Level Unspecified
Teacher training (11130) (10.00%)
• Basic Education
Basic life skills for youth and adults (11230) (10.00%)
• Secondary Education
Vocational training (11330) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health infrastructure (12230) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (10.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (significant objective)
• Nutrition (significant objective)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The influx of more than 700,000 Rohingya from Myanmar into Bangladesh since August 2017 has increased the total displaced Rohingya population to approximately 1 million people in the Cox’s Bazar District of Bangladesh. This population, including large numbers of women, children and other vulnerable groups, has significant needs for health, nutrition and population and sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) services, and is placing an immense strain on an already under-resourced service delivery system. There is also a significant need for education and life skills learning support for the approximately 300,000 Rohingya children and adolescents, as well as needs for teacher training, psycho-social activities to deal with shock and trauma and awareness raising among Rohingya children, adolescents and their families on issues such as child rights, gender violence and personal safety. The sudden influx of Rohingya has also posed an unprecedented burden on the host communities (approximately 1.3 million people) which were already among the poorest in Bangladesh. This project supports the Government of Bangladesh’s efforts to address the health, nutrition and basic education needs of the displaced Rohingya population in Cox’s Bazar. Through an innovative financing mechanism, for every dollar contributed by Canada, the World Bank is providing five additional grant dollars in support of health and basic education services for the Rohingya. The project has two components: (1) a health component, which enables the displaced Rohingya, particularly women and girls, to access maternal, neonatal, infant, child and adolescent health and nutrition services, as well as reproductive health care and family planning support; and (2) a basic education component, which provides Rohingya children and adolescents access to basic education in a safe environment; and psycho-social services aimed at helping Rohingya children recover from shocks and prevent exploitation, with a focus on girls who are often victims of gender-based violence. By enhancing the Government of Bangladesh’s service delivery systems in Cox’s Bazar, the project also benefits the affected host communities.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) inclusive, efficient and equitable provision of essential health, nutrition and population services that meet the different needs of the displaced Rohingya population, particularly women and girls; and (2) increased provision of access to equitable learning opportunities in a safe environment for approximately 300,000 displaced Rohingya children and youth aged 3-24 years, with a focus on young women, adolescent girls and young girls.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2019: Too early to report.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Health and Education in Cox's Bazar - Related information
Related links
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Santé et éducation à Cox's Bazar

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Santé et éducation à Cox's Bazar - Aperçu
CA-3-P006407001
16 269 421 $
International DevelopmentAssociation (XM-DAC-44002)
2018-07-30 - 2023-07-19
Actif
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Politique de l'éducation et gestion administrative (11110) (10,00%)
• Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Équipements scolaires et formation (11120) (10,00%)
• Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Formation des enseignants (11130) (10,00%)
• Éducation de base
Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11230) (10,00%)
• Éducation secondaire
Formation professionnelle (11330) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Infrastructure pour la santé de base (12230) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (10,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (objectif significatif)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L’afflux de plus de 700 000 Rohingyas du Myanmar au Bangladesh depuis août 2017 a porté le nombre total de Rohingyas déplacés à environ 1 million de personnes dans le district de Cox’s Bazar au Bangladesh. Cette population, qui comprend un grand nombre de femmes, d’enfants et d’autres groupes vulnérables, a d’importants besoins en matière de santé, de nutrition, de services à la population et de services de santé sexuelle et reproductive et droits connexes, et exerce une énorme pression sur un système de prestation de services déjà sous-financé. Il existe aussi un grand besoin d’éducation et de soutien à l’apprentissage de l’autonomie fonctionnelle pour les quelque 300 000 enfants et adolescents rohingyas, ainsi que des besoins en formation des enseignants, en activités psychosociales pour faire face aux chocs et aux traumatismes et en sensibilisation des enfants rohingyas, des adolescents et de leur famille à des questions telles que les droits des enfants, la violence sexuelle et la sécurité personnelle. L’afflux soudain de Rohingyas a également fait peser un fardeau sans précédent sur les communautés d’accueil (environ 1,3 million de personnes) qui étaient déjà parmi les plus pauvres du Bangladesh. Ce projet soutient les efforts déployés par le gouvernement du Bangladesh pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé, de nutrition et d’éducation de base de la population déplacée rohingya de Cox’s Bazar. Grâce à un mécanisme de financement novateur, pour chaque dollar versé par le Canada, la Banque mondiale accorde cinq dollars de plus à l’appui des services de santé et d’éducation de base pour les Rohingyas. Le projet comporte deux volets : 1) une composante santé, qui permet aux Rohingyas déplacés, en particulier aux femmes et aux filles, d’accéder aux services de santé et de nutrition maternelle, néonatale, infantile, des enfants et juvénile, ainsi qu’aux soins de santé reproductive et au soutien à la planification familiale; et 2) une composante liée à l’éducation de base, qui donne aux enfants et adolescents rohingyas accès à une éducation de base dans un environnement sûr; des services psychosociaux destinés à les aider à se remettre des chocs et à prévenir leur exploitation, avec une attention spéciale accordée aux filles souvent victimes de violence sexuelle. Étant donné qu’il améliore les systèmes de prestation de services du gouvernement du Bangladesh à Cox’s Bazar, le projet profite également aux communautés hôtes touchées.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet sont les suivants : 1) prestation inclusive, efficace et équitable de services essentiels de santé, de nutrition et de services à la population qui répondent à différents besoins de la population déplacée rohingya, en particulier les femmes et les filles; et 2) accès accru à des possibilités d’apprentissage équitables dans un environnement sûr pour environ 300 000 enfants et jeunes Rohingyas déplacés âgés de 3 à 24 ans, en particulier les jeunes femmes, adolescents et jeunes filles.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2019: Trop tôt pour faire un rapport de la situation.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Santé et éducation à Cox's Bazar - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: