Project profile — When She Leads, Everyone Succeeds - Senegal



Overview 

CA-3-P006851001
$4,177,798
Tostan Inc
2019-03-27 - 2023-12-31
Operational
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa

Country / region 

• Senegal (100.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Health: Health education (12261) (6.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health: Population policy and administrative management (13010) (4.00%)
• Decentralisation and support to subnational government:
Decentralisation and support to subnational government (15112) (5.00%)
Democratic participation and civil society (15150) (14.00%)
Human rights (15160) (26.00%)
Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (20.00%)
• Conflict Prevention And Resolution, Peace And Security: Civilian peace-building, conflict prevention and resolution (15220) (20.00%)
• Banking And Financial Services: Informal/semi-formal financial intermediaries (24040) (5.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (principal objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The project promotes women and girls as agents of change to enhance their own well-being and the well-being of their communities, with a view to abandon harmful practices such as child, early and forced marriage, and female genital mutilation in four regions of Senegal (Tambacounda, Kolda, Kédougou and Sédhiou). This is achieved through the Community Empowerment Program (CEP), which focuses on gender equality and human rights, and offers classes on Peace and Security. Project activities include: (1) providing training to facilitators and supervisors on how to run classes and non-formal education programs in communities; (2) providing training to women and girls on human rights, democracy and good governance, health and hygiene, as well as literacy and numeracy, peaceful conflict mediation, and women’s leadership and participation; (3) providing training to local governing bodies on their roles and responsibilities, human rights and gender-sensitive budgeting; (4) conducting sharing and training seminars on gender-related issues with religious and local leaders; (5) holding inter-village meetings on topics such as human rights, harmful practices, and gender equality; (6) conducting social mobilization campaigns in communities, in addition to youth forums, on human rights and gender equality issues; (7) broadcasting radio programs on human rights and gender equality issues; (8) establishing Community Management Committees and Peace Committees, and training them on their roles and responsibilities, human rights, child protection, peaceful conflict mediation, project management and leading social mobilization to promote gender equality; (9) sharing project results with communities, local governing bodies and departmental committees on child protection throughout the project cycle; and (10) providing funds for income-generating activities for women. The project directly benefits 6,300 women and girls, and 2,700 men and boys, through CEP classes, as well as 6,300 women and girls, and 2,700 men and boys through classes on Peace and Security. The project indirectly affects the lives of more than 50,000 women. By the end of this project, 200 communities are expected to have publicly committed to abandon harmful practices, and safeguard the rights of women and girls.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased respect and promotion of women and girls’ rights by communities and local governing bodies; (2) increased action to end gender-based violence and harmful practices, such as female genital cutting and child, early and forced marriage, that have a disproportionate negative impact on women and girls; and (3) increased participation and leadership of women and girls in economic activities and peace processes in participating communities.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as March 2022 include: (1) 4,753 actions carried out by the communities to combat harmful practices, including awareness campaigns on child marriage and female genital mutilation, as well as on adherence to the immunization schedule, disease transmission, and the care of abused children; (2) 9992 people, including 5777 women and girls and 4215 men and boys, were sensitized on human rights. Women and girls are now more aware of their rights and participate in a more informed manner in community discussions on issues that concern them. Men and boys are more open to listen to them and to take their needs and points of view into account in community decision-making processes; (3) 9 beneficiary local governments took the initiative to develop a gender-sensitive budget with the participation of community members, which resulted in better consideration of their needs in public services and programs; (4) 4,535 people, including 2,439 women and 1,062 girls, have received training in calculation, financial management and feasibility studies in order to have the knowledge and skills required to have an income-generating activity. Of this number, 3191 people, 75% of whom were women and girls, received financing to start their activity.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $459,523
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
14-06-2023 Disbursement $239,835
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Quand elle dirige, tout le monde réussit - Sénégal



Aperçu 

CA-3-P006851001
4 177 798 $
Tostan Inc
2019-03-27 - 2024-07-31
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Sénégal (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé de base : Éducation sanitaire (12261) (6,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Politique/programmes en matière de population et gestion administrative (13010) (4,00%)
• Décentralisation et soutien aux administrations infranationales :
Décentralisation et soutien aux administrations infranationales (15112) (5,00%)
Participation démocratique et société civile (15150) (14,00%)
Droits de la personne (15160) (26,00%)
Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (20,00%)
• Prévention et règlement des conflits, paix et sécurité : Dispositifs civils de construction de la paix, et de prévention et de règlement des conflits (15220) (20,00%)
• Banques et services financiers : Intermédiaires financiers du secteur informel et semi-formel (24040) (5,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif principal)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet cherche à promouvoir les femmes et les filles en tant qu’agentes de changement pour améliorer leur propre bien-être et celui de leurs communautés, en vue d’abandonner les pratiques néfastes telles que les mariages d'enfants, précoces et forcés et les mutilations génitales féminines dans quatre régions du Sénégal (Tambacounda, Kolda, Kédougou et Sédhiou). Ceci est réalisé par le biais du Programme d'autonomisation des communautés (CEP), qui met l'accent sur l'égalité des sexes et les droits de la personne et offre des classes sur la paix et la sécurité. Les activités du projet comprennent: 1) la formation des animateurs et des superviseurs sur la manière de gérer des cours et des programmes d’éducation non formelle dans les communautés; 2) dispenser aux femmes et aux filles une formation aux droits de la personne, à la démocratie et à la bonne gouvernance, à la santé et à l’hygiène, ainsi qu’à l’alphabétisation et au calcul, à la médiation de conflits pacifiques, ainsi qu’au leadership et à la participation des femmes; 3) fournir une formation aux autorités locales sur leurs rôles et responsabilités, les droits de la personne et la budgétisation sensible au genre; 4) organiser des séminaires de partage et de formation sur les questions liées à l'égalité des sexes avec les dirigeants religieux et locaux; 5) organiser des réunions intervillageoises sur des sujets tels que les droits de la personne, les pratiques préjudiciables et l'égalité des sexes; 6) mener des campagnes de mobilisation sociale dans les communautés, en plus des forums de jeunes, sur les questions relatives aux droits de la personne et à l'égalité des sexes; 7) diffuser des programmes radiophoniques sur les droits de l'a personne et l'égalité des sexes; 8) établir des comités de gestion de communauté et des comités de paix et les former à leurs rôles et responsabilités, aux droitsde la personne, à la protection des enfants, à la médiation pacifique de conflits, à la gestion de projets et à la mobilisation sociale pour promouvoir l'égalité des sexes; 9) partager les résultats du projet avec les communautés, les autorités locales et les comités départementaux de protection de l'enfant tout au long du cycle du projet; 10) fournir des fonds pour des activités génératrices de revenus pour les femmes. Le projet bénéficie directement à 6 300 femmes et filles, et 2 700 hommes et garçons dans les classes du programme, ainsi qu'à 6 300 femmes et filles et à 2 700 hommes et garçons pour les formations sur la paix et la sécurité. Le projet affecte indirectement la vie de plus de 50 000 femmes. À la fin de ce projet, 200 communautés devraient s’être publiquement engagées à abandonner les pratiques néfastes et à protéger les droits des femmes et des filles.  

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent: 1) respect accru et promotion accrue des droits des femmes et des filles par les communautés et les autorités locales; 2) une action accrue pour mettre fin à la violence sexiste et aux pratiques préjudiciables, telles que les mutilations génitales féminines et les mariages d'enfants, précoces et forcés, qui ont un impact négatif disproportionné sur les femmes et les filles; 3) une participation et un leadership accrus des femmes et des filles dans les activités économiques et les processus de paix dans les communautés participantes.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2022 : 1) les communautés ont mené 4 753 actions pour lutter contre les pratiques néfastes. Entre autres, ils ont mené des campagnes de sensibilisation sur le mariage des enfants, sur l’excision, sur le respect du calendrier vaccinal, sur la transmission des maladies et sur la prise en charge d'enfants victimes d’abus; 2) sensibilisés 9 992 personnes, dont 5 777 femmes et filles et 4215 hommes et garçons, sur les droits de la personne. Les femmes et les filles connaissent désormais davantage leurs droits et participent de manière plus informée aux échanges de la communauté sur les thématiques qui les concernent. Les hommes et les garçons sont, quant à eux, davantage ouverts à les écouter et à prendre en compte leurs besoins et leurs points de vue dans les processus de prise de décision communautaire; 3) les neuf collectivités territoriales bénéficiaires ont pris l’initiative d’élaborer un budget avec la participation des membres des communautés, ce qui s’est traduit par une meilleure prise en compte de leurs besoins dans les services et programmes publics ; 4) fourni une formation à 4 535 personnes, dont 2 439 femmes et 1 062 filles, sur le calcul, la gestion financière et l’étude de faisabilité en vue de leur fournir les connaissances et les compétences requises pour trouver une activité génératrice de revenus. De ce nombre, 3191 personnes, dont 75% de femmes et de filles ont reçu du financement pour démarrer leur activité.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 113 733 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :