Project profile — Girls' Education South Sudan



Overview 

CA-3-P006982001
$17,000,000
Government of the United Kingdom - DFID - Department for International Development
2019-12-05 - 2025-03-31
Operational
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa

Country / region 

• South Sudan (100.00%)

Sector 

• Education policy and administrative management:
Education policy and administrative management (11110) (7.00%)
Education facilities and training (11120) (7.00%)
Teacher training (11130) (7.00%)
• Basic Education: Primary education (11220) (28.00%)
• Secondary Education: Secondary education (11320) (46.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General: Ending violence against women and girls (15180) (5.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Youth Issues (principal objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (principal objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)

Description 

This project aims to increase access to education for girls in South Sudan by improving girls’ enrolment and retention in primary and secondary schools and the quality of education they receive. Project activities include: (1) distributing cash transfers to school-aged girls to encourage the completion of their education; (2) providing grants to schools for the improvement of physical conditions and resources, such as sanitation and hygiene infrastructure and books or other learning materials; (3) improving education services through teacher training, curriculum reviews, and systems to monitor attendance and school performance; and (4) addressing key barriers to girls’ access to education emphasizing the prevention of sexual and gender-based violence and child marriage. Girls’ Education South Sudan is part of Canada’s $400 million G7 Charlevoix Declaration that supports education for women and girls in crisis and conflict situations.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) improved girls’ enrollment and retention at primary and secondary school; and (2) improved gender-responsive, evidence-based, quality education for girls.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of May 2023 include: (1) the total number of children enrolled in school in South Sudan is 2,021,553 (of whom 1,011,607 are girls and 1,009,946 are boys), surpassing the 1,784,664 children enrolled as of March 2019; (2) girls made up 50% of total enrolment in 2022, up from 45.4% in 2020; (3) a cumulative total of 1,049,220 unique girls have received cash transfer payments to encourage them to enroll in and attend school, help them buy educational materials and purchase menstrual hygiene supplies; and (4) reached 2,734 school communities through community mobilization activities. These activities included families listening to the ‘Our School’ radio programs on techniques to improve learning, benefits of educating girls, disability inclusion, dealing with sexual harassment and menstrual health, amongst others. Overall, this project is improving the enrolment and retention of girls and promotes equal access for all children in South Sudan.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Éducation des filles au Soudan du Sud



Aperçu 

CA-3-P006982001
17 000 000 $
Gouvernement du Royaume-Uni - DFID - Ministère du Développement international
2019-12-05 - 2024-03-31
Actif
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Soudan du Sud (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Politique de l'éducation et gestion administrative :
Politique de l'éducation et gestion administrative (11110) (7,00%)
Équipements scolaires et formation (11120) (7,00%)
Formation des enseignants (11130) (7,00%)
• Éducation de base : Enseignement primaire (11220) (28,00%)
• Éducation secondaire : Enseignement secondaire (11320) (46,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général : Élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles (15180) (5,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif principal)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (objectif principal)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet vise à accroître le nombre de filles ayant accès à l’éducation au Soudan du Sud en augmentant le nombre d’inscription et le taux de rétention des petites Sud-Soudanaises aux niveaux primaire et secondaire et en améliorant la qualité de l’éducation qui leur est offerte. Les activités de ce projet comprennent : 1) distribuer de l’argent aux filles d’âge scolaire pour les encourager à terminer leur scolarité; 2) offrir des subventions aux écoles pour améliorer les ressources et les conditions physiques; 3) améliorer les services d’éducation par la formation des enseignants, l’examen des programmes, et le suivi de la fréquentation et des résultats scolaires; 4) s’attaquer aux principaux obstacles qui limitent l’accès des filles à l’éducation, en mettant l’accent sur la prévention de la violence sexuelle et sexiste et le mariage des enfants. Une partie des 400 millions de dollars que le Canada s’est engagé à consacrer à l’éducation des femmes et des filles dans les pays en situation de crise et de conflit – en appui à la Déclaration de Charlevoix du G7.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) augmentation du nombre d’inscriptions des filles dans les écoles primaires et secondaires et amélioration de la rétention; 2) amélioration de la qualité de l’éducation pour les filles (laquelle est fondée sur des données probantes et tient compte des sexospécificités).

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en mai 2023 : 1) dépassement du nombre total d’enfants inscrits à l’école au Soudan du Sud en 2019. Ce nombre est passé de 1 784 664 à 2 021 553. De ce nombre, 1 011 607 sont des filles et 1 009 946 sont des garçons; 2) augmentation du pourcentage des filles inscrites à l’école. Les filles représentaient 50 % des inscriptions totales en 2022, par rapport à 45,4 % en 2020; 3) réception de paiements en transfert en espèce par un total de 1 049 220 de filles uniques pour les encourager à s’inscrire et à aller à l’école. Cette allocution les aident aussi à acheter du matériel éducatif et des produits d’hygiène féminine; 4) des activités de mobilisation ont atteint 2 734 communautés. Ces activités comprennent l’écoute des émissions de radio « Notre école » sur les techniques pour améliorer l’apprentissage et l’inclusion des personnes à mobilité réduite. Ces émissions abordent aussi les avantages de l’éducation des filles ainsi que la façon d’aborder le harcèlement sexuel et la santé menstruelle. Dans l’ensemble, ce projet améliore la scolarisation des filles. De plus, il réduit les obstacles à l’éducation et favorise un accès égal pour tous les enfants du Soudan du Sud.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
08-12-2023 Déboursé 1 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :