Project profile — My Health, My Choice - Support to the Health Pooled Fund in South Sudan for COVID-19

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

My Health, My Choice - Support to the Health Pooled Fund in South Sudan for COVID-19 - Overview
CA-3-P007169002
$4,500,000
Government of the United Kingdom - DFID - Department for International Development
2020-07-09 - 2021-03-31
Operational
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Health
COVID-19 control (12264) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

As the largest provider of healthcare in South Sudan, the Health Pooled Fund is on the frontlines of responding to the coronavirus (COVID-19). Through this project, Canada’s contribution aims to help ensure that supported health workers and facilities are properly equipped to respond to, and protected from, the transmission of the virus. The project also supports public health promotion and education to help prevent the further spread of COVID-19. Supported by Canada, the United Kingdom, Sweden, the United States, the European Union and Gavi: the vaccine alliance, the Health Pooled Fund supports the delivery of basic health and nutrition services in hospitals, health facilities, and communities in eight of South Sudan’s ten former states. Canada’s contribution to the Health Pooled Fund helps support the empowerment of women and girls to access quality health services, including sexual and reproductive health services, free from discrimination, coercion and violence. This requires ensuring that quality, gender-sensitive health services, including sexual and reproductive health (SRH) services, are available in facilities and communities, and by increasing knowledge on sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) and shaping positive attitudes and practices in order to support women’s and girls’ agency and decision-making power. This project builds on previous support to the Health Pooled Fund and is part of Canada’s commitment to improve the reproductive health and rights of women and children.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of December 2020 include: (1) facilitated 50% percent of supported health facilities (396) in having staff who are trained to identify and manage sexual and gender-based violence, an increase of 28% over the previous year; (2) provided support leading to 61,201 deliveries taking place in a health facility attended by a skilled birth attendant, a 48% increase compared to the same nine-month period in the previous year; (3) facilitated 57,750 individuals in becoming new adopters of modern family planning methods, an 18% increase to the previous twelve month period; (4) supported access for 7,065 women to post-abortion care, an increase of 113% over the previous year; (5) reached 968,827 community members with public health education through family health sessions, including sessions related to sexual and reproductive health and rights and gender based violence; (6) trained 4,608 health workers on coronavirus (COVID-19) safety, case detection, treatment or surveillance, and the use of personal protective equipment; (7) improved water, sanitation and health infrastructure in 112 health facilities; and (8) distributed 2,031 low-literacy friendly resources to support home-based care of family members with suspected cases of COVID-19. Together these results have contributed to the increased availability and accessibility of quality, gender-sensitive health services in South Sudan, and increased knowledge on sexual and reproductive health and rights, so that women and girls can exercise their right to health.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $4,500,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
09-07-2020 Commitment $4,500,000
16-07-2020 Disbursement $4,500,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

My Health, My Choice - Support to the Health Pooled Fund in South Sudan for COVID-19 - Related information
Related activities
My Health, My Choice - Support to the Health Pooled Fund in South Sudan
Related links
Partner website — Government of the United Kingdom - DFID - Department for International Development
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Basket funds/pooled funding
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Ma santé, mon choix - Appui au Fonds commun en santé au Soudan du Sud pour COVID-19

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Ma santé, mon choix - Appui au Fonds commun en santé au Soudan du Sud pour COVID-19 - Aperçu
CA-3-P007169002
4 500 000 $
Gouvernement du Royaume-Uni - DFID - Ministère du Développement international
2020-07-09 - 2021-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé
Contrôle du COVID-19 (12264) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

En tant que principal fournisseur de soins de santé au Soudan du Sud, le Fonds commun en santé est en première ligne de la lutte contre le coronavirus (COVID-19). Par le biais de ce projet, la contribution du Canada vise à garantir que les travailleurs et les établissements de santé soutenus sont correctement équipés pour répondre à la transmission du virus et s’en protéger. Le projet soutient également la promotion de la santé publique et l’éducation pour aider à prévenir la propagation de la COVID-19. Avec l’appui du Canada, du Royaume-Uni, de la Suede, des États-Unis, de l'Union Européenne, et du Gavi: l'alliance du vaccine, le Fonds commun en santé soutient la prestation de services de base en matière de santé et de nutrition dans des hôpitaux, des établissements de santé et des collectivités de huit des dix anciens États du Soudan du Sud. La contribution du Canada au Fonds commun pour la santé aide à appuyer l'habilitation des femmes et des filles à accéder à des services de santé de qualité, y compris des services de santé sexuelle et génésique, sans discrimination, coercition et violence. Pour ce faire, il faut veiller à ce que des services de santé de qualité qui tiennent compte des sexospécificités, notamment des services de la santé et les droits sexuels (SDS), soient offerts dans les établissements et communautés. Il faudra également accroître les connaissances sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs (SDSR) et promouvoir des attitudes et des pratiques positives afin de soutenir l’action et le pouvoir décisionnel des femmes et des filles. Ce projet s’ajoute à l’aide accordée antérieurement au Fonds commun en santé et s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’engagement pris par le Canada d’améliorer la santé génésique et les droits connexes des femmes et des enfants.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en décembre 2020 : 1) aidé 50 % des établissements de santé subventionnés (396) à avoir du personnel formé à repérer et à gérer la violence fondée sur le genre, une augmentation de 28 % par rapport à l’année précédente; 2) fourni un soutien menant à 61 201 accouchements qui ont eu lieu dans un établissement de santé en présence d’une accoucheuse qualifiée, une augmentation de 48 % par rapport à la même période de neuf mois de l’année précédente; 3) aidé 57 750 personnes à devenir de nouveaux adeptes des méthodes modernes de planification familiale, une augmentation de 18 % par rapport à la période de douze mois précédente; 4) soutenu l’accès de 7 065 femmes aux soins après l’avortement, une augmentation de 113 % par rapport à l’année précédente; 5) atteint 968 827 membres de la collectivité avec une formation en matière de santé publique dans le cadre de séances de santé familiale, notamment sur la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs et sur la violence fondée sur le sexe; 6) formé 4 608 travailleurs de la santé à la sécurité liée au coronavirus (COVID-19), à l’utilisation de l’ÉPI, à la détection, au traitement ou à la surveillance des cas de COVID-19; 7) amélioré l’infrastructure d’eau, d’assainissement et d’hygiène dans 112 établissements de santé; 8) distribué 2 031 ressources adaptées aux personnes peu alphabétisées à l’appui des soins à domicile des membres de la famille présentant des cas présumés de COVID-19. L’ensemble de ces résultats a contribué à accroître la disponibilité et l’accessibilité de services de santé de qualité, tenant compte de la dimension de genre, au Soudan du Sud, et à améliorer les connaissances en matière de santé et de droits sexuels et reproductifs, afin que les femmes et les filles puissent exercer leur droit à la santé.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 4 500 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
09-07-2020 Engagement 4 500 000 $
16-07-2020 Déboursé 4 500 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Ma santé, mon choix - Appui au Fonds commun en santé au Soudan du Sud pour COVID-19 - Information reliée
Activités reliées
Ma santé, mon choix - Appui au Fonds commun en santé au Soudan du Sud
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Fonds communs/financements groupés
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: