Project profile — South Sudan - Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, and Nutrition Assistance - Concern 2019

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

South Sudan - Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, and Nutrition Assistance - Concern 2019 - Overview
CA-3-P007406001
$2,000,000
Concern Worldwide
2019-05-10 - 2020-03-31
Closed
Country / region • South Sudan (100.00%)
Sector • Emergency Response
Material relief assistance and services (72010) (90.00%)
• Humanitarian aid
Basic Health Care in Emergencies (72011) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

March 2019 - An estimated 7.1 million people across South Sudan are in need of humanitarian assistance and protection across the country as a result of armed conflict, food insecurity, malnutrition, economic decline and disease. Approximately 1.9 million people are internally displaced within South Sudan and almost 2.3 million South Sudanese have sought protection in neighbouring countries. An estimated 6.2 million people are currently severely food insecure, with malnutrition rates over emergency thresholds. Outbreaks of communicable diseases have strained an already overwhelmed health system. Humanitarian access remains restricted in many areas and large numbers of people are accessible only by air drops. With GAC’s support, Concern Worldwide is providing emergency water, sanitation, hygiene and nutrition assistance for up to 113,366 displaced and conflict-affected people in Unity and Central Equatoria states of South Sudan. Project activities include: (1) rehabilitating and operating 10 boreholes equipped with hand pumps in Rubkona and Guit counties; (2) constructing 32 communal latrines, and 100 handwashing stations in the Bentiu Protection of Civilian site; and (3) delivering outpatient therapeutic programs, targeted supplementary feeding programs and infant and young child feeding services for 14,596 children and 3,574 pregnant and lactating women across all project sites.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased access to safe drinking water, safe sanitation and hygiene practices among conflict affected populations; and (2) increased access to life saving nutrition treatment and prevention services for children under five, and pregnant and lactating women. The expected ultimate outcome is lives saved, suffering alleviated and human dignity maintained in countries experiencing humanitarian crises or acute food insecurity.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $2,000,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
10-05-2019 Commitment $2,000,000
14-05-2019 Disbursement $2,000,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

South Sudan - Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, and Nutrition Assistance - Concern 2019 - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Concern Worldwide
Global Affairs Canada
MFM Global Issues & Dev.Branch
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Soudan du Sud - Aide en Eau, assainissement, hygiène, et nutrition - Concern 2019

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Soudan du Sud - Aide en Eau, assainissement, hygiène, et nutrition - Concern 2019 - Aperçu
CA-3-P007406001
2 000 000 $
Concern Worldwide
2019-05-10 - 2020-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Soudan du Sud (100,00%)
Secteur • Intervention d'urgence
Assistance matérielle et services d'urgence (72010) (90,00%)
• Aide humanitaire
Service de santé de base en situation d'urgence (72011) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

En mars 2019, on estime que 7,1 millions de personnes dans le Soudan du Sud ont besoin d'aide humanitaire et de protection dans tout le pays en raison du conflit armé, de l'insécurité alimentaire, de la malnutrition, du déclin économique et des maladies. Environ 1,9 million de personnes sont déplacées à l'intérieur du Soudan du Sud et près de 2,3 millions de Soudanais du Sud ont cherché refuge dans les pays voisins. On estime que 6,2 millions de personnes souffrent actuellement d'une grave insécurité alimentaire et que les taux de malnutrition dépassent les seuils d'urgence. Les épidémies de maladies transmissibles ont mis à rude épreuve un système de santé déjà débordé. L'accès humanitaire reste limité dans de nombreuses régions et un grand nombre de personnes ne sont accessibles que par largage. Avec le soutien d'AMC, Concern Worldwide fournit une aide d'urgence en matière d'eau, d'assainissement, d'hygiène et de nutrition à 113 366 personnes déplacées et touchées par des conflits dans les États d'Unity et d'Equatoria central au Soudan du Sud. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) réhabilitation et exploitation de 10 forages équipés de pompes à main dans les comtés de Rubkona et de Guit ; 2) construction de 32 latrines communales et de 100 stations de lavage des mains sur le site de protection des civils à Bentiu ; 3) prestation de programmes thérapeutiques ambulatoires, de programmes d'alimentation complémentaire ciblés et de services de nutrition pour nourrissons et jeunes enfants pour 14 596 enfants et 3 574 femmes enceintes et allaitantes dans tous les sites du projet.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés du projet sont les suivants : 1) un meilleur accès à l'eau potable et à des pratiques d'hygiène et d'assainissement sûres parmi les populations touchées par le conflit ; 2) un meilleur accès aux services de prévention et de traitement nutritionnel pour les enfants de moins de cinq ans, et les femmes enceintes et allaitantes pour sauver des vies. Le résultat final escompté est de sauver des vies, d'atténuer les souffrances et de préserver la dignité humaine dans les pays qui connaissent des crises humanitaires ou une insécurité alimentaire aiguë.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 2 000 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
10-05-2019 Engagement 2 000 000 $
14-05-2019 Déboursé 2 000 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Soudan du Sud - Aide en Eau, assainissement, hygiène, et nutrition - Concern 2019 - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Site web du partenaire — Concern Worldwide
Affaires mondiales Canada
MFM Enjeux Mondiaux & Développement
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: