Project profile — Increasing Women's Participation in United Nations Peace Operations

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Increasing Women's Participation in United Nations Peace Operations - Overview
CA-3-P007487001
$1,775,908
International Peace Institute
2019-05-06 - 2022-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Oceania, regional (20.00%)
• Asia, regional (20.00%)
• South America, regional (20.00%)
• Africa, regional (20.00%)
• Europe, regional (20.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (90.00%)
• Conflict Prevention And Resolution, Peace And Security
Participation in international peacekeeping operations (15230) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to support the long-term positive impact of increasing uniformed women’s meaningful participation in United Nations (UN) Peace Operations, through improved policies and programming at the local, national and global levels. Although governments and the UN have been making concrete commitments to increase women’s participation, these commitments have not yet yielded sufficient results. In order to effect positive change, research and advocacy are needed to ensure that recommendations, policies and programming are grounded in evidence-based analysis. Project activities include: (1) conducting consultations and workshops with UN Peace Operations practitioners and experts to validate methodologies and approaches for researching women’s involvement in UN Peace Operations; (2) producing a survey instrument to collect data on the experiences and needs of uniformed women peacekeepers; (3) producing research publications based on analysis, and providing policy recommendations to increase and best support women’s meaningful participation in UN Peace Operations; and (4) conducting policy forums and outreach to raise visibility and foster a shared understanding of research results, analyses and recommendations to increase uniformed women’s meaningful participation in UN Peace Operations.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) enhanced decision-making by UN officials and members of state to address factors contributing to meaningful participation of uniformed women in UN Peace Operations; and (2) improved effectiveness of interventions by the UN, national governments, and civil society organizations to increase the meaningful participation of uniformed women in UN Peace Operations.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of September 2022 include: (1) increased body of knowledge through research publications on various factors affecting women's meaningful participation in UN Peace Operations. The International Peace Institute ((IPI)) published one issue brief and two policy papers on various topics in line with the meaningful participation of women in Peace Operations with wide circulation. The three key publications include: (a) an issue brief on "Perceptions and Lived Realities of Women Police Officers in UN Peace Operations," published in June 2021; (b) a policy paper on "From Female Engagement Teams to Engagement Platoons: The Evolution of Gendered Community Engagement in UN Peace Operations," published in November 2021; and (c) a policy paper on "Uniformed Women and Gender Responsive Leadership" was published in February 2022; and (2) increased decision-makers knowledge on policies affecting women's meaningful participation in UN peace operations. IPI organized research workshops attended by more than 20 Member States, UN officials, and civil society representatives. These stakeholders discussed barriers and incentives affecting the meaningful participation of uniformed women in UN peace operations and encouraged global research and learning. Some of the discussions included: (a) a research workshop with three sessions held in December 2021 on the subject Host Communities Gendered Perceptions of UN Peace Operations; and (b) IPI organized a public policy forum to launch the policy report "From Female Engagement Teams to Engagement Platoons: The Evolution of Gendered Community Engagement in UN Peace Operations." in January 2022.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
10-11-2021 Disbursement $297,117
13-07-2021 Disbursement $321,125
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Increasing Women's Participation in United Nations Peace Operations - Related information
Related links
Partner website — International Peace Institute
Global Affairs Canada
IFM International Security
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Accroître la participation des femmes aux opérations de paix des Nations Unies

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Accroître la participation des femmes aux opérations de paix des Nations Unies - Aperçu
CA-3-P007487001
1 775 908 $
International Peace Institute
2019-05-06 - 2022-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Océanie, régional (20,00%)
• Asie, régional (20,00%)
• Amérique du Sud, régional (20,00%)
• Afrique, régional (20,00%)
• Europe, régional (20,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (90,00%)
• Prévention et règlement des conflits, paix et sécurité
Participation à des opérations internationales de maintien de la paix (15230) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à soutenir l'impact positif à long terme de l'augmentation de la participation significative des femmes en uniforme aux opérations de paix de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) grâce à une amélioration des politiques et des programmes aux niveaux local, national et mondial. Bien que les gouvernements et l’ONU aient pris des engagements concrets pour accroître la participation des femmes, ces engagements n'ont pas encore donné des résultats suffisants. Afin d’apporter des changements positifs, il faut fair de la recherche et de la promotion pour s'assurer que les recommandations, les politiques et les programmes sont fondés sur une analyse fondée sur des données probantes. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) organiser des consultations et des ateliers avec des praticiens et des spécialistes des opérations de paix de l’ONU pour valider les méthodologies et les démarches concernant la recherche sur la participation des femmes aux opérations de paix de l’ONU; 2) produire un outil de sondage pour recueillir des données sur les expériences et les besoins des femmes Casques bleus en uniforme; 3) produire des publications de recherche en fonction d’une analyse, et faire des recommandations en matière de politique pour avoir une participation plus significative des femmes aux opérations de paix de l’ONU et pour mieux l’appuyer; 4) organiser des forums politiques et faire de la sensibilisation pour rendre les résultats, les analyses et les recommandations de la recherche à l’appui d’une participation plus significative des femmes en uniforme aux opérations de la paix de l’ONU plus visibles et pour favoriser une compréhension commune.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) l'amélioration de la prise de décisions par les responsables de l'ONU et les membres des États afin d'aborder les facteurs contribuant à une participation significative des femmes en uniforme aux opérations de paix de l'ONU ; 2) l'amélioration de l'efficacité des interventions de l'ONU, des gouvernements nationaux et des organisations de la société civile pour accroître la participation significative des femmes en uniforme aux opérations de paix des Nations Unies.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en septembre 2022 : 1) l'augmentation du corpus de connaissances par le biais de publications de recherche sur divers facteurs affectant la participation significative des femmes aux opérations de paix de l'ONU. L'Institut international de la paix ((IPI)) a publié une note d'information et deux documents d'orientation sur divers sujets en rapport avec la participation significative des femmes aux opérations de paix, avec une large diffusion. Les trois publications clés comprennent : a) une note d'information sur les "Perceptions et réalités vécues des femmes policières dans les opérations de paix de l'ONU", publiée en juin 2021; b) un document de politique générale sur "From Female Engagement Teams to Engagement Platoons : The Evolution of Gendered Community Engagement in UN Peace Operations", publié en novembre 2021; c) un document d'orientation sur "Uniformed Women and Gender-Responsive Leadership" a été publié en février 2022; 2) l'amélioration des connaissances des décideurs sur les politiques affectant la participation significative des femmes dans les opérations de paix de l'ONU. L'IPI a organisé des ateliers de recherche auxquels ont participé plus de 20 États membres, des fonctionnaires de l'ONU et des représentants de la société civile. Ces parties prenantes ont discuté des obstacles et des incitations qui affectent la participation significative des femmes en uniforme aux opérations de paix de l'ONU et ont encouragé la recherche et l'apprentissage au niveau mondial. Parmi les discussions, citons a) un atelier de recherche avec trois sessions qui s'est tenu en décembre 2021 sur le sujet Host Communities Gendered Perceptions of UN Peace Operations; et b) l'IPI a organisé un forum de politique publique pour lancer le rapport politique " From Female Engagement Teams to Engagement Platoons : The Evolution of Gendered Community Engagement in UN Peace Operations", en janvier 2022.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
10-11-2021 Déboursé 297 117 $
13-07-2021 Déboursé 321 125 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Accroître la participation des femmes aux opérations de paix des Nations Unies - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
IFM Sécurité internationale
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: