Project profile — Resilience and Inclusion through Investment for Sustainable Agrikultura (RIISA)

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Resilience and Inclusion through Investment for Sustainable Agrikultura (RIISA) - Overview
CA-3-P008973001
$6,800,000
MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011098)
2021-03-19 - 2026-03-31
Operational
Country / region • Philippines (100.00%)
Sector • Business And Other Services
Business Development Services (25030) (40.00%)
• Agriculture
Food crop production (31161) (10.00%)
• Agriculture
Agricultural financial services (31193) (50.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to support inclusive economic opportunities in the poor, rural areas of Mindanao, in the Philippines. Aligned with the Government of the Philippines’ post-coronavirus (COVID-19) recovery response, this project works to increase the productivity of cacao farms and enterprises, particularly those led by women, while promoting gender equality and resiliency in communities vulnerable to conflict and climate change. Project activities include: (1) assessing needs, providing training and offering matching-grants to financial and business service providers in the cacao sector; (2) providing investment capital to financial intermediaries and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs); (3) improving the farming and business practices of cacao smallholder farmers and co-operatives, through training and matching grants; (4) offering workshops and retreats to women and men cacao smallholder farmers, and appointing gender equality champions, to promote gender equality in households and communities; and (5) increasing awareness of the gender and environmental needs of cacao smallholder farms, SMEs and co-operatives through an advisory council. This project expects to benefit 6,250 smallholder cacao farmers, 15 cacao co-operatives and 150 smallholder household couples, in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanano (BARMM) and Davao regions of Mindanao.

Expected results

The expected outcomes for this project include: (1) increased integration of gender equality, environmental sustainability and human rights considerations into the operations of businesses and financial intermediaries serving small and medium-sized enterprises and co-operatives in the Mindanao cacao market system; (2) improved farming and business practices with inclusive socio-economic dynamics for smallholder farmers and co-operatives in the cacao market system in Mindanao; and (3) improved practice of relevant actors to promote best gender equality, environmental sustainability and human rights practices in the cacao market system in the Philippines.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $1,300,000
Planned Disbursement $1,592,500
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Resilience and Inclusion through Investment for Sustainable Agrikultura (RIISA) - Related information
Related links
Partner website — MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates
Global Affairs Canada
OGM Asia
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Résilience et inclusion par l’investissement pour une agriculture durable

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Résilience et inclusion par l’investissement pour une agriculture durable - Aperçu
CA-3-P008973001
6 800 000 $
MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011098)
2021-03-19 - 2026-03-31
Actif
Pays / région • Philippines (100,00%)
Secteur • Entreprises et autres services
Services de développement des affaires (25030) (40,00%)
• Agriculture
Production agricole (31161) (10,00%)
• Agriculture
Services financiers agricoles (31193) (50,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à favoriser des débouchés économiques ouverts à tous dans les zones rurales pauvres de Mindanao, aux Philippines. S’inscrivant dans le prolongement du plan de reprise après la COVID-19 du gouvernement des Philippines, ce projet a pour objectif d’accroître la productivité des exploitations agricoles et des entreprises de cacao, en particulier celles qui sont dirigées par des femmes, tout en favorisant l’égalité des genres et la résilience dans les communautés vulnérables aux conflits et aux changements climatiques. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) évaluer les besoins des fournisseurs de services financiers et de services aux entreprises du secteur du cacao, et leur fournir de la formation et des subventions de contrepartie; 2) fournir des capitaux d’investissement aux intermédiaires financiers et aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME); 3) améliorer les pratiques agricoles et commerciales des propriétaires de petites exploitations agricoles et des coopératives de cacao, grâce à de la formation et à des subventions de contrepartie; 4) offrir des ateliers et des journées de réflexion à des femmes et des hommes propriétaires de petites exploitations agricoles de cacao, et désigner des champions de l’égalité des genres pour promouvoir cet enjeu dans les ménages et les communautés; 5) mieux faire connaître les besoins en matière d’égalité des genres et d’environnement des petites exploitations agricoles, des PME et des coopératives de cacao grâce à un conseil consultatif. Ce projet devrait profiter à 6 250 propriétaires de petites exploitations agricoles de cacao, 15 coopératives de cacao et 150 couples propriétaires d’une petite exploitation dans la région autonome de Bangsamoro dans le Mindanao musulman (RABMM) et dans la région de Davao à Mindanao.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) les enjeux qui concernent l’égalité des genres, la durabilité de l’environnement et les droits de la personne sont davantage intégrés dans les activités des entreprises et des intermédiaires financiers qui fournissent des services aux PME et aux coopératives présentes dans le système de marché du cacao à Mindanao; 2) les pratiques agricoles et commerciales sont améliorées par une dynamique socioéconomique inclusive dans les petites exploitations agricoles et les coopératives présentes dans le système de marché du cacao à Mindanao; 3) les intervenants pertinents améliorent leurs méthodes pour favoriser les pratiques exemplaires en ce qui concerne l’égalité des genres, la durabilité de l’environnement et les droits de la personne dans le système de marché du cacao aux Philippines.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 1 300 000 $
Décaissements prévus 1 592 500 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Résilience et inclusion par l’investissement pour une agriculture durable - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Site web du partenaire — MEDA - Mennonite Economic Development Associates
Affaires mondiales Canada
OGM de l'Asie
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: