Project profile — Strengthening Education for Children and internally displaced in host communities in Ethiopia



Overview 

CA-3-P009888001
$4,000,000
UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund (41122)
2021-02-25 - 2022-03-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
WGM Africa

Country / region 

• Ethiopia (100.00%)

Sector 

• Primary education:
Primary education (11220) (50.00%)
Basic life skills for youth (11231) (50.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR) (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Nutrition (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project aimed to provide safe and protective learning opportunities to approximately 30,000 girls and boys (50 percent girls) in internally displaced people/IDP sites and host communities in Afar (8,250), Oromiya (15,000), and the State of Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples (SNNPR) (6,750). During the project implementation period, factors beyond the partners` control prevented the complete implementation of planned activities. Persistent insecurity and access constraints caused by armed conflicts in some of the target areas, particularly in Afar and SNNPR contributed to a partial implementation of the project. Due to these factors, the project only reached some of the targeted children.

Expected results 

The expected outcomes of this project include: (1) enhanced equitable provision of accessible, safe, secure, quality, inclusive education and mental health and psycho-social support for girls and boys. This includes accelerated learning and skills for employment training in internally displaced and in Ethiopian host communities affected by COVID-19; and (2) reduced barriers preventing girls’ access to and retention in quality education in internally displaced and in Ethiopian host communities.

Results achieved 

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2022) include: (1) provided 25,612 out-of-school children (48% girls) access to accelerated learning programme and skills training linked with child protection services in Afar, Oromia and the State of Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples (SNNPR). This indicates that UNICEF achieved 85.4% against its target of 30,000 children. Persistent insecurity and access constraints due to armed conflicts in some of the target areas, particularly in Afar and SNNPR prevented the implementation of some project activities. Due to these challenges, the project could not reach the targeted number of children. Despite the volatile operational context, UNICEF’s partners (Edukans Foundation in Afar, Imagine 1 Day in Oromia and SNNPR) have continued to conduct remote monitoring and deliver project results, participate in regional Cluster and Inter-Cluster fora in respective regions, coordinate with government authorities, and prioritize staff safety and well-being.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $0
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Contributions to specific-purpose programmes and funds managed by implementing partners
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcer l'éducation des enfants et des personnes déplacées dans les communautés d'accueil en Éthio



Aperçu 

CA-3-P009888001
4 000 000 $
UNICEF - Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (41122)
2021-02-25 - 2022-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
WGM Afrique

Pays / région 

• Éthiopie (100,00%)

Secteur 

• Enseignement primaire :
Enseignement primaire (11220) (50,00%)
Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11231) (50,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Réduction des risques de catastrophe (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Nutrition (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet visait à fournir des opportunités d’apprentissage collectif sûr à environ 30 000 filles et garçons (50% de filles) sur des sites de personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays (PDI) et dans les communautés d’accueil en Afar (8250), en Oromia (15 000) et dans la région des Nations, nationalités et peuples du Sud (SNNPR) (6750). Au cours de la période de mise en œuvre de ce projet, des facteurs ne relevant pas du pouvoir des partenaires ont empêché la pleine réalisation des activités prévues. L’insécurité persistante et les contraintes d’accès dues à des conflits armés dans les zones cibles, notamment en Afar et en SNNPR, ont contribué à une mise en œuvre partielle du projet. En raison de ces facteurs, le projet n’est parvenu à toucher qu’une portion des enfants ciblés.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats escomptés de ce projet comprennent : 1) une prestation améliorée et plus équitable en matière d’éducation et d’accompagnement psychosocial et en santé mentale, qui soit accessible, sûre, sécurisée, de qualité et inclusive, pour les filles et les garçons. Il s’agit notamment de l’apprentissage accéléré et de la formation en compétences nécessaires pour le travail chez les personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays et dans les communautés d’accueil touchées par la COVID-19; 2) réduire les obstacles empêchant les filles d’avoir accès et de conserver une éducation de qualité dans les communautés déplacées et d’accueil éthiopiennes.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (mars 2022) : 1) a fourni à 25 612 enfants (48% de filles) déscolarisés un accès à un programme d’apprentissage accéléré et à une formation en compétences, en lien avec les services de protection de l’enfance en Afar, en Oromia et dans la région des Nations, nationalités et peuples du Sud (SNNPR). Ceci montre que l’UNICEF a atteint 85,4 % de son objectif de cibler 30 000 enfants. L’insécurité persistante et les contraintes d’accès dues à des conflits armés dans les zones cibles, notamment en Afar et en SNNPR, ont empêché de mettre en œuvre certaines des activités du projet. En raison de ces problèmes, le projet n’a pas pu toucher le nombre d’enfants prévu. Malgré ce contexte opérationnel instable, les partenaires de l’UNICEF (Edukans Foundation en Afar, Imagine 1 Day en Oromia et en SNNPR) ont continué à mener leur suivi à distance et à livrer les résultats du projet, ont participé aux forums des cluster et inter-cluster régionaux dans leurs régions respectives, coordonné leur travail avec les autorités étatiques et priorisé la sûreté et le bien-être du personnel.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Contributions à des programmes ou fonds à objectif spécifique gérés par des partenaires d'exécution
Date de modification :