Project profile — Health Systems Strengthening in Zomba District

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Health Systems Strengthening in Zomba District - Overview
CA-3-S064702001
$499,137
Dignitas International (CA-CRA_ACR-3860333426)
2009-06-11 - 2012-09-30
Closed
Country / region • Malawi (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (50.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (50.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to improve health outcomes in Zomba District, Malawi, by strengthening the capacity of the Zomba District health system to provide comprehensive, high quality and decentralized HIV/AIDS health services. In close cooperation with national and regional governmental institutions, the project (1) provides specialized training for HIV/AIDS front line workers; (2) provides mentorship and support to health managers and supervisors to strengthen system monitoring and evaluation procedures; (3) improves medical information management, referral systems and standard operating procedures; and (4) mainstreams gender considerations into health care services.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (September 2012) include: (i) 600 frontline health care providers were trained in HIV/AIDS specialized care or counseling; (ii) decentralized Prevention of Mother-to-Child Transmission of HIV and Antiretroviral treatment services to 35 rural health facilities, and HIV Testing and Counseling services to 45 sites in the district were expanded; (iii) an electronic medical records system, which facilitates health care delivery by providing patients' historical data and generating reports, was rolled out in two health facilities; and (iv) 50% of the district patient population was decentralized, thus reducing the burden of the central hospital and increasing access to specialized health services for patients from other districts. These have contributed to strengthening the capacity of the clinical staff of 35 health facilities to provide high quality HIV related care and to improve health outcomes for patients on antiretroviral treatment in rural areas of Malawi’s Zomba District.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $50,000
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
17-09-2012 Disbursement $67,076
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Health Systems Strengthening in Zomba District - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Dignitas International
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcement des systèmes de santé dans le district de Zomba

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcement des systèmes de santé dans le district de Zomba - Aperçu
CA-3-S064702001
499 137 $
Dignitas International (CA-CRA_ACR-3860333426)
2009-06-11 - 2012-09-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Malawi (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (50,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (50,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à améliorer les résultats de santé du district de Zomba au Malawi, en renforçant la capacité du système de santé du district à fournir des services médicaux complets, décentralisés et de haute qualité, axés sur le VIH/SIDA. En étroite coopération avec les instances gouvernentales régionales et nationales, le projet 1) founit de la formation spécialisée destinée aux travailleurs de première ligne en VIH/sida; 2) propose des activités de mentorat et un appui aux gestionnaires et superviseurs de la santé pour améliorer le système de suivi et d'évaluation; 3) améliore les pratiques de gestion de l'information médicale, des systèmes d'aiguillage; 4) rationalise les éléments d'égalité entre les sexes au sein des services de santé.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (septembre 2012) : i) 600 fournisseurs de soins de santé de première ligne ont été formés en soins spécialisés ou en counseling en matière de VIH/sida; ii) décentralisation des services de traitements antirétroviraux et de prévention de la transmission du VIH de la mère à son enfant dans 35 établissements de santé en milieu rural, et expansion des services de dépistage du VIH et de counseling dans 45 sites du district; iii) un système de gestion électronique des données médicales qui facilite la provision des services de santé en fournissant les données historiques des patients et en produisant des rapports a été mis en œuvre dans deux établissements de santé; iv) 50 % des patients du district ont été décentralisés réduisant ainsi la charge de l’hôpital régional et augmentant l’accès à des services de santé spécialisés pour les patients des autres districts. Ces résultats ont contribué à renforcer la capacité du personnel clinique de 35 établissements de santé à fournir des soins de grande qualité pour traiter le VIH et à améliorer la condition des patients qui reçoivent des traitement antirétroviraux dans les régions rurales du district de Zomba au Malawi.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 50 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
17-09-2012 Déboursé 67 076 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcement des systèmes de santé dans le district de Zomba - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Dignitas International
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: