Project profile — Maternal and Child Health in Chittagong District

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Maternal and Child Health in Chittagong District - Overview
CA-3-S064753001
$473,632
IDRF - International Development and Relief Foundation (CA-CRA_ACR-3132542705)
2010-02-10 - 2014-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Bangladesh (100.00%)
Sector • Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (100.00%)
Policy marker • Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to improve the health of mothers and infants by addressing the medical, cultural and social factors affecting maternal and child health in 100 villages of Chittagong District in Bangladesh. Some project activities include: (1) establishing two community health centres and outreach facilities for women and their children; (2) training 100 traditional birth attendants on all aspects of safe home deliveries; (3) training peer educators to promote maternal and child health; and (4) establishing several community groups such as mothers’ clubs, community health groups, water and sanitation action committees, to encourage community animation, community organization, and leadership development among community members on reproductive, maternal and child health and other health issues.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2014) include: (1) 24,503 community members (18,665 women and 5,838 men) received primary health care through health camps, satellite clinics, ambulance services, and hospitals; (2) 2,500 community members (1,300 women and 1,200 men) were engaged in community health groups and community mobilisation efforts focusing on hygiene and reproductive health, through Mother’s Clubs, Community Health Groups, and Water and Sanitation, Waste Management and Health Watch committees; (3) 156 traditional birth attendants received safe birthing training and a safe birthing kit, conducted 3,124 unassisted live births and made 781 referrals to health services; (4) 30 water points were installed, serving approximately 4,400 people; (5) 93 household sanitary latrines were installed, serving 529 people directly; and (6) one school-based sanitary latrine block was installed, serving 264 mixed-gender students and teachers. These results have contributed to significantly improving the reproductive and general health, sanitation awareness, access to safe drinking water and access to health care services for several communities in the Chittagong District in Bangladesh.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-03-2014 Disbursement $573
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Maternal and Child Health in Chittagong District - Related information
Related links
Partner website — IDRF - International Development and Relief Foundation
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Santé maternelle et infantile au district de Chittagong

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Santé maternelle et infantile au district de Chittagong - Aperçu
CA-3-S064753001
473 632 $
IDRF - International Development and Relief Foundation (CA-CRA_ACR-3132542705)
2010-02-10 - 2014-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Bangladesh (100,00%)
Secteur • Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (100,00%)
Marqueur politique • Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à améliorer la santé maternelle et infantile au moyen d’interventions qui tiennent compte des facteurs médicaux, sociaux et culturels pouvant affecter la santé maternelle et infantile dans 100 villages du district de Chittagong, au Bangladesh. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) la mise en place de deux centres de santé communautaire et de services de proximité pour les femmes et leurs enfants; 2) la formation de 100 accoucheuses traditionnelles au sujet des aspects entourant les accouchements sécuritaires à domicile; 3) la formation de pairs éducateurs pour promouvoir la santé maternelle et infantile; 4) la création de plusieurs groupes communautaires tels que des clubs de mères, des groupes de santé communautaire et des comités d’action en matière d’approvisionnement en eau et d’assainissement, pour favoriser l’animation et l’organisation communautaires ainsi que le développement des qualités de chef chez les membres des communautés relativement à la santé génésique, maternelle et infantile et à d’autres problèmes de santé.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’à la fin du projet (mars 2014) : 1) 24 503 membres de la communauté (18 665 femmes et 5 838 hommes) ont reçu des soins de santé primaires par l’intermédiaire de camps de santé, de cliniques satellites, de services ambulanciers et d’hôpitaux; 2) 2 500 membres de la communauté (1 300 femmes et 1 200 hommes) ont participé à des groupes de santé communautaire et à des activités de mobilisation communautaire axées sur l’hygiène et la santé génésique, par l’intermédiaire de clubs de mères, de groupes de santé communautaire et de comités responsables des services d’approvisionnement en eau et d’assainissement, de la gestion des déchets et de la surveillance de la santé; 3) 156 accoucheuses traditionnelles ont reçu une formation sur les accouchements sécuritaires ainsi qu’une trousse d’accompagnement. Elles ont supervisé sans assistance 3 124 naissances vivantes et ont référé781 personnes à des services de santé; 4) 30 points d’eau ont été installés, au bénéfice d’environ 4 400 personnes; 5) 93 latrines sanitaires familiales ont été installées, au profit de 529 personnes; 6) un bloc de latrines a été installé dans une école à l’intention de 264 élèves et enseignants des deux sexes. Ces résultats ont contribué à améliorer de façon importante la santé génésique et générale, à accroître la sensibilisation à l’assainissement et à élargir l’accès à l’eau potable et aux services de santé dans plusieurs collectivités du district de Chittagong, au Bangladesh.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-03-2014 Déboursé 573 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Santé maternelle et infantile au district de Chittagong - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: