Project profile — Safer Surgeries, Obstetrics and Communities in Africa

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Safer Surgeries, Obstetrics and Communities in Africa - Overview
CA-3-S064830001
$2,100,000
Canadian Network for International Surgery (CA-CRA_ACR-3898961552)
2010-08-19 - 2013-09-30
Closed
Country / region • Mali (15.00%)
• Rwanda (10.00%)
• Ethiopia (20.00%)
• Uganda (20.00%)
• Tanzania (20.00%)
• Africa, regional (15.00%)
Sector • Education, Level Unspecified
Educational research (11182) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (80.00%)
Policy marker • Children's issues (significant objective)
• ICT as a tool for development (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The Canadian Network for International Surgery (CNIS) program focuses on building capacity of high-priority dimensions within the health sector in Africa by strengthening the capacity of medical professionals and institutions through the development of new curriculum and the training of practitioners and instructors in surgical techniques. The program incorporates four components: (1) Safer surgery and obstetrics program including: Training in surgical and obstetrical skills, production, editing and translation of course material, development of new curriculum, and the development or rehabilitation of laboratories to achieve safer care for those suffering from surgical and obstetrical disorders; (2) Safer communities in Africa program including: Three specialized injury-prevention institutions, the development and piloting of new courses, and sharing information and strengthening capacity related to the prevention and treatment of injuries to achieve safer African communities through a reduction in the incidence and severity of unintentional injury; (3) African Information Initiatives including: Dissemination of courses, books and manuals, translation of manuals, and use of internet technology to provide, collect and share surgical, obstetric and injury related information to achieve safer individuals and communities in Africa through increased transmission of information; and (4) Canadian public engagement program: Focus on injury and maternal death, which involves awareness and prevention of critical injury and maternal mortality, and participation in international development to achieve expanded engagement and support of Canadian public for safer health care in Africa.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of June 2013 include: (1) 2,919 health professionals in Ethiopia, Mali, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Ghana received training in emergency surgical skills, fundamental interventions, referral, safe transfer, and safer surgery skills, among other skills; (2) surgical skills teaching labs were established in Ethiopia and Uganda, and are being used regularly to train local health professionals and improve care for those suffering from surgical and obstetrical disorders; (3) injury surveillance in five Ugandan and five Tanzanian hospitals is helping local health professionals identify priority injuries that require intervention; and (4) non-violent conflict resolution interventions are being implemented in schools in Uganda and northern Ethiopia; and traffic safety courses are being held in schools, with support from the police in Tanzania and Uganda, in order to reduce the incidence of unintentional injury. These results are contributing to safer care for those suffering from surgical and obstetrical disorders and, safer African communities through a reduction in the incidence and severity of violence and unintentional injury.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $262,500
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
04-09-2013 Disbursement $50,000
07-01-2014 Disbursement $55,000
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Safer Surgeries, Obstetrics and Communities in Africa - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Canadian Network for International Surgery
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Chirurgies, obstétrique et collectivités plus sécuritaires en Afrique

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Chirurgies, obstétrique et collectivités plus sécuritaires en Afrique - Aperçu
CA-3-S064830001
2 100 000 $
Réseau Canadien pour la Chirurgie Internationale (CA-CRA_ACR-3898961552)
2010-08-19 - 2013-09-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Mali (15,00%)
• Rwanda (10,00%)
• Éthiopie (20,00%)
• Ouganda (20,00%)
• Tanzanie (20,00%)
• Afrique, régional (15,00%)
Secteur • Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Recherche en éducation (11182) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (80,00%)
Marqueur politique • Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le programme du Réseau canadien pour la chirurgie internationale (RCCI) met l'accent sur le renforcement des capacités dans les dimensions des grandes priorités du secteur de la santé en Afrique, en renforçant la capacité des professionnels de la santé et les institutions, à travers le développement de nouveaux programmes et la formation des praticiens et des instructeurs en techniques chirurgicales. Le programme comprend quatre composantes : 1) Programme d'obstétrique et de chirurgies plus sécuritaires : Formation en compétences chirurgicales et obstétricales, production, édition et traduction de matériel de cours, développement de nouveaux curriculum, et le développement ou la réhabilitation de laboratoires pour accroître la sécurité des soins aux personnes souffrant de troubles chirurgicaux et obstétricaux; 2) Programme pour des collectivités plus sécuritaires en Afrique : Trois institutions spécialisées de prévention des blessures, le développement et pilotage de nouveaux cours, et le partage d'informations et le renforcement des capacités liées à la prévention et le traitement des blessures visant à accroître la sécurité des communautés africaines par une réduction de la fréquence et de la gravité des blessures non intentionnelles; 3) Programme africain d’initiatives de l'information: La diffusion des cours, livres et manuels, la traduction des manuels, et l'utilisation de la technologie venant de l’Internet pour offrir, rassembler et partager de l’information sur la chirurgie, l'obstétrique et les blessures afin d'accroître la sécurité des individus et des communautés en Afrique à travers une meilleure transmission de l'information; 4) Programme d'engagement du public canadien : Accent mis sur les blessures et les décès maternels, impliquant la sensibilisation et la prévention des blessures graves et la mortalité maternelle, et la participation au développement international pour atteindre un plus grand engagement et un soutien accru du public canadien pour des soins plus sécuritaires en Afrique.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en juin 2013 : 1) 2 919 professionnels de la santé en Éthiopie, au Mali, au Rwanda, en Tanzanie, en Ouganda et au Ghana ont bénéficié d’une formation portant, entre autres, sur les compétences chirurgicales d’urgence, les interventions fondamentales, service de référence, les transferts sécuritaires et les pratiques chirurgicales plus sûres; 2) en Éthiopie et en Ouganda, des laboratoires d’enseignement des compétences chirurgicales ont été établis et sont utilisés couramment pour former des professionnels de la santé locaux et améliorer les soins offerts aux personnes souffrant de troubles chirurgicaux et obstétricaux; 3) la surveillance des blessures dans cinq hôpitaux ougandais et cinq hôpitaux tanzaniens aide les professionnels de la santé locaux à déterminer les blessures qui doivent être traitées en priorité; 4) des interventions de résolution de conflits non violente sont mises en œuvre dans des écoles en Ouganda et dans le nord de l’Éthiopie, et des cours de sécurité routière sont donnés dans des écoles de l’Ouganda et de la Tanzanie, avec l’appui de la police, afin de réduire l’incidence des blessures accidentelles. Ces résultats aident à offrir des soins plus sûrs aux personnes souffrant de troubles chirurgicaux et obstétricaux et à rendre les communautés africaines plus sûres grâce à la réduction de l’incidence et de la gravité de la violence et des blessures accidentelles.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 262 500 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
04-09-2013 Déboursé 50 000 $
07-01-2014 Déboursé 55 000 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Chirurgies, obstétrique et collectivités plus sécuritaires en Afrique - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Réseau Canadien pour la Chirurgie Internationale
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: