Project profile — WUSC - Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai District Assembly Development Project

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

WUSC - Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai District Assembly Development Project - Overview
CA-3-S065129001
$498,500
WUSC - World University Service of Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3119304848)
2011-01-06 - 2014-01-31
Closed
Country / region • Ghana (100.00%)
Sector • Education, Level Unspecified
Teacher training (11130) (11.30%)
• Secondary Education
Vocational training (11330) (70.40%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic drinking water supply (14031) (5.00%)
• Water And Sanitation
Basic sanitation (14032) (5.00%)
• Government And Civil Society, General
Decentralisation and support to subnational government (15112) (8.30%)
Policy marker • Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Urban issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This pilot project aims to improve the knowledge, coordination and overall capacity of the Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai District Assembly in order to enhance its governance and service delivery to the 134,030 residents of the district. More specifically, it seeks to improve the quality of education and access to clean water through teacher training, skills transfer and improved water services. Economic growth and job creation is also sought through training geared to increase skills for employment in various areas for 325 youth, of which 50% are female. This pilot project builds on a relationship developed between the World University Service of Canada (WUSC), Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai (BAB) District Assembly and Rio Tinto Alcan.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (1) Enhanced governance and service delivery through improved knowledge, coordination and capacity strengthening of District Assembly officers; (2) Strengthened quality of education through teacher training and skills transfer and improved services available in target communities; and (3) Economic growth and job creation through increased skills for employment for youth within the target communities.

Results achieved

Results achieved at the end of the project (January 31, 2014): The project contributed to strengthening local governance in the District of Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai where active and vibrant community committees are now making a difference in the life of their community. 102 community-based projects supporting governance, education, access to water and sanitation were implemented during the life of the project. These projects were or are being realized with the support of community members (labour, levies), the District Assembly (equipment, infrastructure) and some mining companies (infrastructure). The project also contributed to economic growth in the district with training of skills for employment in four agricultural trades (piggery, local poultry, beekeeping and cocoa nursery) with potential for sound revenues. Selected figures include: (1) 412 people participated in district forums in which, for the first time and henceforth, all development actors (government, civil society, community/traditional leaders, mining and other companies) will regularly convene to weigh in on broad development priorities of the district; (2) 8,354 participants from the communities mobilized and took ownership over concrete development activities within the context of transparency, accountability, gender equity, networking, linkages (especially with the District Assembly) and management performance; (3) 538 teachers have strengthened their ability to effectively deal with classroom management, club management and gender equality, and have increased skills in teaching methodology and in teaching mathematics and science; (4) 342 executives from School Management Committees and Parent-Teacher Associations have increased capacities in school management, monitoring and evaluation, in gender equality and sensitivity, and enhanced leadership to improve quality of education at the community level; (5) through activities conducted with 24 Boys & Girls Clubs such as debates, reading competitions, variety shows and dramas, 1,222 pupils have enhanced their confidence, leadership and life skills; (6) water and sanitation committees or water boards are in place and functional in each of the 12 target communities; their 169 members are ensuring a clean and safe environment, and managing water and sanitation facilities including 112 water points; and (7) of the 325 trained youth 280 are applying the skills learned in local poultry (160 people), piggery (85), cocoa nursery (20) and beekeeping (15); the 45 persons who are not applying the new acquired skills are pursuing other job opportunities.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
11-04-2016 Disbursement -$309
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

WUSC - Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai District Assembly Development Project - Related information
Related links
Partner website — WUSC - World University Service of Canada
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — WUSC - Projet de développement avec l'assemblée du comté Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

WUSC - Projet de développement avec l'assemblée du comté Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai - Aperçu
CA-3-S065129001
498 500 $
EUMC - Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-3119304848)
2011-01-06 - 2014-01-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Ghana (100,00%)
Secteur • Éducation, niveau non spécifié
Formation des enseignants (11130) (11,30%)
• Éducation secondaire
Formation professionnelle (11330) (70,40%)
• Eau et assainissement
Approvisionnement en eau potable - dispositifs de base (14031) (5,00%)
• Eau et assainissement
Assainissement - dispositifs de base (14032) (5,00%)
• Gouvernement et société civile, général
Décentralisation et soutien aux administrations infranationales (15112) (8,30%)
Marqueur politique • Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet pilote vise à améliorer les connaisances et à renforcer la coordination ainsi que les capacités de l’Assemblée du comté de Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai afin qu’elle puisse faire preuve d’une meilleure gouvernance et offrir de meilleurs services aux 134 030 résidents du comté. Il vise également à améliorer la qualité de l’éducation et à offrir l’accès à de l’eau potable, notamment en formant les formateurs et en améliorant les services d’approvisionnement en eau. La croissance économique et la création des emplois fait aussi partie des objectifs et, à cet effet, 325 jeunes dont 50 % sont des femmes développent leurs compétences dans plusieurs domaines. Ce projet pilote s’appuie sur les relations développées entre EUMC, l'Assemblée du comté Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai (BAB) et Rio Tinto Alcan (RTA).

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent: 1) Provision de services rehaussés et de gouvernance grâce à de meilleures connaissances, coordinations et capacités renforcées des agents de l'assemblée du district. (2) Renforcement de la qualité de l’éducation grâce à la formation des enseignants et du transfert de compétences et de services améliorés disponibles dans les communautés ciblées. (3) La croissance économique et la création d’emplois grâce à l’augmentation des compétences pour l’emploi des jeunes au sein des communautés ciblées.

Résultats atteints

Résultats obtenus à la fin du projet (le 31 janvier 2014) : Le projet a renforcé la gouvernance locale du district de Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai qui collabore maintenant avec des comités communautaires actifs, dynamiques et engagés à améliorer la qualité de vie de leurs collectivités. 102 projets communautaires ont été mis en œuvre au cours de la période d’activité du projet, et ont appuyé la gouvernance, l’éducation, l’accès à l’eau et à des services sanitaires. Ces projets ont été réalisés ou sont en cours de réalisation avec le soutien des membres des collectivités (main-d’œuvre, impôts), de l’assemblée du district (équipement, infrastructure) et de certaines compagnies minières (infrastructure). Le projet a également participé à la croissance économique du district en fournissant une formation de compétences en emploi dans quatre métiers agricoles (porcherie, élevage de volaille, apiculture et pépinière de cacao) qui offrent de bonnes possibilités de revenus. Parmi les résultats finals : (1) 412 personnes ont participé à des forums qui pour la première fois et dorénavant inclura tous les acteurs développementaux (gouvernements, société civile, chefs traditionaux, compagnies minières et autres firmes du secteur privé) pour qu’ils se penchent collectivement aux enjeux développementales du district; (2) 8 354 personnes des communautés se sont mobilisées et assumé la responsabilité de nombreux activités de développement and le contexte de transparence, imputabilité, d’égalité entre les sexes, de réseautage, d’échanges (particulièrement avec l’assemblée du district) et de gestion du rendement; (3) 538 enseignants ont renforcé leurs capacités à gérer efficacement leurs classes, des clubs et l’égalité entre les sexes, et ont augmenté leurs compétences en méthodologie de l’enseignement, pour l’enseignement des mathématiques et des sciences; (4) 342 membres des exécutifs des comités de gestion scolaire et des associations parents-enseignants ont augmenté leurs capacités à gérer les écoles, à faire des suivis et des évaluations, la sensibilisation pour l’égalité entre les sexes et le renforcement du leadership, dans le but d’améliorer la qualité de l’éducation à l’échelle des collectivités; (5) Grâce à des activités organisées par 24 clubs pour garçons et filles, telles des débats, des compétitions de lecture, des spectacles de variété et de théâtre, 1 222 élèves ont augmenté leur assurance en eux, leurs compétences de leadership et de vie; (6) Des comités d’eau et de services sanitaires ou des conseils d’administration de l’eau ont été établis et opèrent dans chacune des 12 collectivités ciblées; leurs 169 membres asurent un environnement propre et sain, et gèrent l’eau et les installations sanitaires, dont 112 points d’eau; (7) Parmi les 325 jeunes qui ont été formés, 280 utilisent leurs nouvelles compétences pour la gestion de poulaillers (160 personnes), de porcheries (85), de pépinières de cacao (20) et l’apiculture (15); les 45 autres personnes explorent d’autres possibilités d’emploi.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
11-04-2016 Déboursé (309 $)
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

WUSC - Projet de développement avec l'assemblée du comté Bibiani-Ahnwiaso-Bekwai - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — EUMC - Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: