Project profile — Community-Based Maternal, Newborn and Child Health

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Community-Based Maternal, Newborn and Child Health - Overview
CA-3-S065337001
$688,881
World Renew (CA-CRA_ACR-2118857366)
2011-10-14 - 2015-04-30
Closed
Country / region • Malawi (50.00%)
• Bangladesh (50.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (30.00%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (30.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project aims to improve the health of the most marginalized mothers and children in the Dimla sub-district of Nilphamari district, Bangladesh, and in the Lilongwe and Ntchisi districts of Malawi. The project is designed to improve partnerships between communities and health facilities, train community volunteer health workers, and use community education to promote household behaviours that improve the health of mothers and children. Using an integrated model for managing childhood illness, the project supports community health volunteers in providing malaria prevention and nutrition education at the household level and linking communities with maternal and child health services. The project reaches 200 community health volunteers, traditional birth attendants and informal health service providers, as well as 150,000 mothers and their children. World Renew is working in partnership with Scheme for Under-Privileged People to Organize Themselves (Bangladesh) and the Church of Central Africa Presbyterian, Nkhoma Relief and Development (Malawi) to implement this project. This project is part of Canada's maternal, newborn and child health commitment.

Results achieved

Results as of March 31, 2014 include: 14,625 households are receiving messages that promote behaviors for better maternal, newborn and child health. In Bangladesh, 53 female community health volunteers and 53 female traditional birth attendants have been trained on maternal and newborn care and are doing home visits to pregnant women to educate them on eating nutritious foods, going for antenatal care visits, making birth preparedness plans and watching for danger signs that indicate a need to go to the health facility. These volunteers are currently doing home visits to 3,325 households. 106 informal service providers have been trained to reduce harmful practices and to increase appropriate referrals for mothers and newborns. In Malawi, 600 (231 male and 369 female) community health volunteers have been recruited and organized into 40 Care Groups. They are doing monthly home visits to 9,600 households that have a pregnant woman and/or children under age two and are delivering messages about malaria prevention and treatment and proper nutrition for pregnant and lactating women and children under two.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
05-10-2016 Disbursement -$15,138
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Community-Based Maternal, Newborn and Child Health - Related information
Related links
Partner website — World Renew
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Santé communautaire pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Santé communautaire pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants - Aperçu
CA-3-S065337001
688 881 $
World Renew (CA-CRA_ACR-2118857366)
2011-10-14 - 2015-04-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Malawi (50,00%)
• Bangladesh (50,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (30,00%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (30,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet améliore la santé des mères et des enfants les plus marginalisés du sous-district de Dimla dans le district de Nilphamari au Bangladesh, et des districts de Lilongwe et de Ntchisi au Malawi. Le projet améliore les partenariats entre les collectivités et les établissements de santé, forme les travailleurs de la santé communautaire bénévoles et favorise les comportements qui améliorent la santé des mères et des enfants au sein des familles par l’entremise de l’éducation communautaire. En utilisant un modèle intégré pour la gestion des maladies infantiles, le projet soutient les travailleurs de la santé communautaire bénévoles à éduquer les familles en matière de nutrition et de prévention du paludisme, et à faire la liaison entre les collectivités et les services de santé pour les mères et les enfants. Ce projet touche 200 bénévoles de la santé communautaire, sages-femmes et fournisseurs informels de soins de santé, ainsi que 150 000 mères et leurs enfants. World Renew réalise ce projet en partenariat avec le Scheme for Under-Privileged People to Organize Themselves (Bangladesh) et la Church of Central Africa Presbyterian, Nkhoma Relief and Development (Malawi). Ce projet fait partie de l’engagement du Canada en matière de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus en mars 2014 : 14 625 familles reçoivent des messages pour les encourager à adopter les comportements qui favorisent une meilleure santé pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants. Au Bangladesh, 53 femmes volontaires pour la santé communautaire et 53 accoucheuses traditionnelles ont reçu une formation en soins pour les mères et les nouveau-nés, et rendent visite aux femmes enceintes pour les éduquer en matière d’alimentation plus nutritive, de soins prénataux continus, de préparation à l’accouchement et pour surveiller les signes qui indiquent la nécessité de se rendre à la clinique de santé. Ces volontaires font actuellement des visites dans 2 398 foyers. 106 fournisseurs de service informel ont reçu une formation pour réduire les pratiques dangereuses et augmenter les consultations adéquates pour les mères et les nouveau-nés. Au Malawi, 600 volontaires pour la santé communautaire (231 hommes et 369 femmes) ont été recrutés pour organiser 40 groupes de soins. Ils poursuivent des visites mensuelles dans 9 600 foyers qui comptent une femme enceinte ou des enfants de moins de deux ans, et livrent des messages concernant la prévention du paludisme et son traitement, et une bonne alimentation pour les femmes enceintes et qui allaitent, ainsi que pour les enfants de moins de deux ans.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
05-10-2016 Déboursé (15 138 $)
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Santé communautaire pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: