Project profile — The Leyaata (“Rescue Us”) Project to Reduce Maternal, Infant and Child Mortality

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

The Leyaata (“Rescue Us”) Project to Reduce Maternal, Infant and Child Mortality - Overview
CA-3-S065355001
$640,464
Ghana Rural Integrated Development (CA-CRA_ACR-2837694926)
2011-12-06 - 2015-02-28
Closed
Country / region • Ghana (100.00%)
Sector • Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (75.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (25.00%)
Policy marker • Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Gender equality (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to reduce maternal, infant and child mortality in 50 marginalized villages in the north Kintampo and south Bole districts of Ghana by directly addressing key health issues. Reaching approximately 10,000 beneficiaries, the project addresses care during pregnancy and childbirth, neonatal care, and malaria control as critical health concerns in these communities. Key project components include establishing a prenatal and neonatal home visit system for pregnant women and infants, and launching a malaria control program that prioritizes mothers and infants. Specific activities include: distributing neonatal care kits; training community-based volunteers and local health professionals; providing mosquito nets for all village residents; conducting malaria control workshops; and supplying local clinics with rapid malaria test kits. Ghana Rural Integrated Development is working in partnership with the Northern Empowerment Association to implement this project. This project is part of Canada’s Maternal, Newborn and Child Health commitment. The maximum CIDA contribution to this project includes $10,000 for monitoring purposes.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (February 2015) include: (1) 2,216 infants were delivered in a health facility and 8,654 neonatal visits were conducted by Community-Based Surveillance Volunteers, to monitor for any signs of poor health; (2) 33 health providers participated in the Helping Babies Breathe training program, facilitated by two volunteer Canadian health professionals; (3) after the implementation of the Helping Babies Breathe program in 2014, 100% of newborns with breathing difficulty (170), born in a health facility received assistance; (4) 7,826 long-lasting insecticidal nets were distributed and installed for residents of 48 communities; and (5) 1,497 men/elders, 1,766 women, 533 boys and 765 girls received malaria training. As a result, there were 12,427 direct beneficiaries of antenatal and neonatal care, of which 8,982 were registered mothers. In the project area, neonatal mortality rates were originally assessed between 30 and 45 deaths per 1000 live births, while in the final year, only eight out of 1,769 newborns died, which is equivalent to five neonatal deaths per 1000 live births. The project also improved malaria prevention by distributing and installing long-lasting insecticidal nets (LLINs) for residents in all homes of 48 communities, and in homes of registered pregnant women in an additional 34 communities. This project also equipped health facilities with the capacity to test for malaria and conduct community-based malaria training sessions to improve awareness of malaria causes and prevention.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
24-03-2016 Disbursement $32,133
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

The Leyaata (“Rescue Us”) Project to Reduce Maternal, Infant and Child Mortality - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Ghana Rural Integrated Development
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Le projet Leyaata (« Sauvez-nous ») pour diminuer la mortalité des mères, nouveau-nés et enfants

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Le projet Leyaata (« Sauvez-nous ») pour diminuer la mortalité des mères, nouveau-nés et enfants - Aperçu
CA-3-S065355001
640 464 $
Ghana Rural Integrated Development (CA-CRA_ACR-2837694926)
2011-12-06 - 2015-02-28
Fermé
Pays / région • Ghana (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé de base
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (75,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (25,00%)
Marqueur politique • Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Égalité entre les sexes (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet réduit le taux de mortalité chez les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants dans 50 villages marginalisés du Nord dans les districts de Kintampo et Sud-Bole au Ghana, en répondant directement aux principaux enjeux en matière de santé. Atteignant environ 10 000 bénéficiaires, le projet se concentre sur les soins prodigués lors des grossesses et des naissances, les soins néonataux, et le contrôle du paludisme en tant que première nécessité pour la santé dans ces communautés. Les principaux éléments du projet comprennent un système de visites prénatales et néonatales dans les foyers pour les femmes enceintes et les nouveau-nés, ainsi que le lancement d’un programme de contrôle du paludisme qui accorde la priorité aux mères et aux nouveau-nés. D’autres activités spécifiques comprennent la distribution de trousses de soins néonataux, la formation des volontaires communautaires et des professionnels de la santé locaux, la provision de moustiquaires aux résidents du village, l’animation d’ateliers sur le contrôle du paludisme, et le ravitaillement des cliniques locales en trousses de dépistage rapide du paludisme. Ghana Rural Integrated Development réalise ce projet en partenariat avec la Northern Empowerment Association. Ce projet fait partie de l’engagement du Canada en matière de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. La contribution maximale de l'ACDI pour ce projet comprend 10 000 $ pour des fins de suivi.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet en février 2015 : (1) Les naissances de 2 216 nourrissons ont eu lieu dans des établissements de santé et 8 654 consultations néonatales ont été effectuées par des surveillants communautaires bénévoles pour dépister les signes de mauvaise santé; (2) Deux professionnels de la santé, volontaires et canadiens, ont facilité le programme de formation d’aide à la respiration des bébés qui s’est déroulé avec la participation de 33 dispensateurs de soins de santé; (3) À la suite du programme d’aide à la respiration des bébés en 2014, 100 % des nouveau-nés ayant des difficultés respiratoires, dont 170 nés dans des établissements de santé, on reçut l’aide nécessaire; (4) La distribution de 7 826 moustiquaires insecticides durables s’est effectuée et ces moustiquaires sont installés dans les résidences de 48 collectivités; (5) Une formation sur le paludisme a été offerte à 1 497 hommes/aînés, 1 766 femmes, 533 garçons et 765 filles. En tout et partout, il y a eu 12 427 bénéficiaires directs des soins anténataux et néonataux, parmi lesquels 8 982 étaient des mères inscrites. Dans la région où s’est réalisé le projet, les taux de mortalité néonatale s’évaluaient de 30 à 45 morts sur 1000 nouveau-nés. Dans la dernière année du projet, seulement huit des 1 769 nouveau-nés sont morts, ce qui équivaut à un taux de mortalité néonatale de cinq sur 1000 nouveau-nés. Le projet a également amélioré la prévention du paludisme en distribuant et installant des moustiquaires insecticides durables dans les résidences de 48 collectivités, et dans les résidences des femmes enceintes inscrites dans 34 collectivités additionnelles. Ce projet a également développé la capacité des établissements de santé à dépister le paludisme et à effectuer des séances de formation visant à améliorer la sensibilisation aux causes et à la prévention du paludisme.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
24-03-2016 Déboursé 32 133 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Le projet Leyaata (« Sauvez-nous ») pour diminuer la mortalité des mères, nouveau-nés et enfants - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: