Project profile — Improving Maternal, Newborn and Child Health

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Improving Maternal, Newborn and Child Health - Overview
CA-3-S065431001
$4,111,788
Canadian Red Cross (CA-CRA_ACR-3119219814)
2012-05-23 - 2016-03-31
Closed
Country / region • Kenya (60.00%)
• Liberia (40.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic nutrition (12240) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Infectious disease control (12250) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Health education (12261) (20.00%)
• Basic Health
Malaria control (12262) (10.00%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (10.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (principal objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This project seeks to save the lives of women, newborns and children in Kenya and Liberia. The Canadian Red Cross Society and its partners in Kenya and Liberia work with the Ministries of Health in those countries to deliver a program in Integrated Community Case Management (iCCM), an approach to improve the health of pregnant women, newborns and children in 44 hard-to access rural communities. The project expects to reach 66,000 beneficiaries, including 12,000 children under five years old and 26,000 women of childbearing age in West Pokot District in Kenya and Bomi, Gbarpolu and Grand Gedeh Counties in Liberia. Ministry of Health-supervised community health workers and volunteers are selected by Community Health Committees and trained in community based health and first aid, in order to treat and refer sick children, and ensure community-level access to life-saving medications and basic health services.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: improved ability of Minister of Health to implement a gender sensitive Integrated Community Case Management (ICCM) approach to addressing diarrhoea, malaria and pneumonia; increased ability of community health workers (CHWs) to deliver gender sensitive and environmentally sustainable maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH) services, including integrated Community Case Management; increased access to a range of gender sensitive MNCH services, including treatment for diarrhoea, malaria and pneumonia; improved ability of male and female to prevent illness and seek health services for themselves, mothers and children; Increased ability of communities, women and men, to mitigate risk; increased livelihood diversification for women and men; improved ability of the KRCS and LNRCS to coordinate and collaborate with the MoH in the delivery of MNCH services; improved ability of KRCS to contribute field-based evidence to advance MoH policy and practice related to MNCH, especially ICCM.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of June 2013 include: In Kenya: (i) selecting and training 300 community health workers (CHW) and 19 community health extension workers (CHEW) on community health strategy; (ii) training 65 CHW in Community-based Health and First Aid; (iii) training 121 members of 11 community health committees (CHC) set up by the Ministry of Health on the management of community-based health activities to increase the use of maternal, newborn and child health services and preventative practices in West Pokot; (iv) by creating 2 additional units in the communities health centers, and by training 121 CHC members on management of community-based health activities (v) establishing, in collaboration with the Agency For Technical Cooperation and Development (ACTED), 11 village planning committees and providing training in participatory rural appraisal as well as disaster-conscious development planning to improve resilience to hazards within communities; and (vi) facilitating the establishment of 16 agro-pastoral field schools out of 22 planned in eleven communities to ensure the diversification of livelihoods. In Liberia: (i) Establishing a solid foundation by establishing a network of various actors include the organizing, planning and establishment of Project Advisory Committee (PAC (ii) setting up one outreach clinic to serve five hard-to-reach communities with a total population of about 25,000 (iii) Training 468 CHC in organisational management; conducting 43 community sessions in environmental hazards (standing water, sanitation-vector control) and prevention strategies ; and iv) supporting the National Polio Campaign by mobilizing 97 volunteers and contributing to vaccinating 81,190 children. These are contributing to improving the health of vulnerable women, children and newborns by improving people’s access to quality health care in hard-to-reach communities.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
16-07-2015 Disbursement $30,763
29-03-2016 Disbursement $205,589
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Improving Maternal, Newborn and Child Health - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Canadian Red Cross
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Amélioration de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Amélioration de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants - Aperçu
CA-3-S065431001
4 111 788 $
Croix-Rouge canadienne (CA-CRA_ACR-3119219814)
2012-05-23 - 2016-03-31
Fermé
Pays / région • Kenya (60,00%)
• Libéria (40,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Nutrition de base (12240) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (12250) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Éducation sanitaire (12261) (20,00%)
• Santé de base
Lutte contre le paludisme (12262) (10,00%)
• Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (10,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif principal)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Ce projet vise à sauver la vie des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants au Kenya et au Libéria. La Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge et ses partenaires au Kenya et au Libéria collaborent avec les ministères de la Santé de ces pays pour mettre en oeuvre un programme de prise en charge intégrée des cas dans la communauté (PEC-C), une approche visant à améliorer la santé des femmes enceintes, des nouveau-nés et des enfants dans 44 collectivités rurales difficiles d'accès. Il est attendu que le projet rejoigne 66 000 personnes, dont 12 000 enfants de moins de cinq ans et 26 000 femmes en âge de procréer, dans le district de West Pokot au Kenya, et dans les comtés de Bomi, de Gbarpolu et de Grand Gedeh au Libéria. Des bénévoles et travailleurs de la santé communautaire supervisés par le ministère de la Santé sont sélectionnés par les comités de santé communautaire et formés aux soins de santé communautaire de base et aux premiers soins. Ces derniers peuvent ainsi traiter les enfants malades ou les diriger vers d'autres centres de soins et garantir l'accès des collectivités à des médicaments essentiels et à des services de soins de santé de base.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés pour ce projet comprennent: une capacité améliorée du Ministère de la Santé (MdS) à mettre en œuvre une approche de gestion intégrée des cas en milieu communautaire en tenant compte de l’égalité entre les sexes pour traiter la diarrhée, le paludisme, et la pneumonie; une capacité accrue des travailleurs de santé communautaire à fournir des services en matière de Santé pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants (SMNE) tout en tenant compte de l’égalité entre les sexes et de la viabilité de l’environnement, incluant la gestion intégrée des cas en milieu communautaire; un accès accru à une gamme de services en matière de SMNE qui tient compte de l’égalité entre les sexes et comprennent des traitements pour la diarhée, le paludisme et la pneumonie; une capacité accrue des hommes et des femmes à prévenir les maladies et à consulter les services de santé pour leur propre bénéfice, ainsi que celui des mères et des enfants; une capacité accrue des communautés, des femmes et des hommes à atténuer les risques; une diversification augmentée des moyens de subsistance pour les femmes et les hommes; une capacité accrue de la Croix-Rouge du Kénya (KRCS) et du Libéria (LNRCS) à coordonner et à collaborer avec le MdS pour la provision de services de SMNE; une capacité améliorée de KRCS à contribuer aux données de base sur le terrain pour faire avancer les politiques et les pratiques du MdS en matière de SMNE, particulièrement la gestion intégrée des cas en milieu communautaire

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'en juin 2013: au Kenya : i) 300 agents de santé communautaire (ASC) et 19 agents de santé communautaire d’extension (ASCE) sont recrutés et formés sur la stratégie de la santé communautaire; ii) 65 ASC sont formés en santé à base communautaire et en premiers soins; iii) 121 membres des 11 comités de santé communautaire (CSC) mis en place par le ministère de la Santé sont formés en gestion des activités de santé à base communautaire afin d’augmenter le recours aux services de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, ainsi qu’aux pratiques de prévention, dans le comté de West Pokot; iv) 2 unités additionnelles créées dans les centres de santé communautaire et 121 membres des CSC sont formés en gestion des activités de santé à base communautaire; v) 11 comités de planification de village mis sur pied (en collaboration avec l’Agence de coopération et de développement technique) et formés en évaluation rurale participative ainsi qu’en planification de développement lié aux catastrophes afin d’améliorer la résilience aux dangers dans les collectivités; vi) mise sur pied de 16 écoles de formation agropastorale dans 11 collectivités pour assurer la diversification des moyens de subsistance. Au Libéria : i) bases solides établies en créant un réseau composé de divers acteurs comprenant l'organisation, la planification et la mise en place d’un Comité consultatif du projet; ii) une clinique mobile mise sur pied au service de cinq collectivités éloignées dans lesquelles vivent quelque 25 000 personnes; iii) 468 comités de santé communautaire formés en gestion organisationnelle; 43 séances communautaires menées au sujet des risques environnementaux (eau stagnante, assainissement, lutte contre les vecteurs) et des stratégies de prévention; iv) appui à la campagne nationale d’éradication de la poliomyélite fourni en mobilisant 97 bénévoles et en contribuant à vacciner 81 190 enfants. Ces résultats contribuent à améliorer la santé des femmes, des enfants et des nouveau-nés vulnérables en améliorant l’accès des gens à des soins de santé de qualité dans des communautés difficiles d’accès.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
16-07-2015 Déboursé 30 763 $
29-03-2016 Déboursé 205 589 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Amélioration de la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Croix-Rouge canadienne
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: