Project profile — Protecting Adolescent Health and Rights in Nigeria and Senegal



Overview 

CA-3-S065541001
$1,678,057
World Renew (CA-CRA_ACR-2118857366)
2013-01-23 - 2017-04-30
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Nigeria (50.00%)
• Senegal (50.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Education: Basic life skills for youth and adults (11230) (30.00%)
• Basic Health: Health education (12261) (70.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Disability (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

The project supports adolescents, particularly girls aged 13-18, in 71 communities in Nigeria and Senegal where teenagers are exposed to high levels of risk to their health. The project is designed to increase healthy behaviours among adolescents to reduce the risks of HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections and early/unwanted pregnancies. The project also seeks to better protect adolescents, especially girls, from violence and sexual abuse and improve literacy and vocational skills among participating adolescents. World Renew is working in partnership with Evangelical Lutheran Church of Senegal (EELS) and Evangelical Health Coordination Committee (CECS) in Senegal and Beacon of Hope Initiative (BHI) in Nigeria.

Expected results 

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (i) increased practice among adolescents of healthy behaviours that reduce risks from HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections (STIs) and early/unwanted pregnancies; (ii) improved protection of children and youth from violence and sexual abuse; and (iii) increased engagement in income earning activities by program participants.

Results achieved 

Results as of the end of the project (April 2017) include: (1) 9,278 youth (6,799 girls) have been reached in Senegal and Nigeria with adolescent sexual and reproductive health and rights education. The increase in reproductive health knowledge has resulted in increased confidence of youth to communicate their rights, and also in the ability of communities to better identify, discuss and respond to allegations of sexual abuse; (2) youth who could identify two or three methods of contraception increased by 88% from baseline. This increased knowledge improved their ability to talk openly with family members, sexually transmitted infections (STIs), and early or unwanted pregnancies; (3) 100 community-level groups, neighbour councils and parent groups were created, that have helped support improved protection for youth from violence and sexual abuse; (4) there was a decrease in the percentage of youth who have experienced sexual coercion (5.9% weighted average for Nigeria and Senegal) and who thought it justified hitting their female partners (8.1%); and (5) in Nigeria, 180 out-of-school youth (126 girls) received vocational training directly from the project, 100 different youths (70 girls) received business training and start-up capital from the project. The project supported adolescent youth in Senegal and Nigeria in taking control of their reproductive health, protecting themselves from sexual violence, and resisting early and forced marriage

Budget and spending 


Original budget $83,903
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-03-2018 Disbursement $83,903
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Project-type interventions
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Protéger la santé et les droits des adolescents au Nigéria et au Sénégal



Aperçu 

CA-3-S065541001
1 678 057 $
World Renew (CA-CRA_ACR-2118857366)
2013-01-23 - 2017-04-30
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Nigéria (50,00%)
• Sénégal (50,00%)

Secteur 

• Éducation de base : Éducation pour une meilleure qualité de vie pour les jeunes et les adultes (11230) (30,00%)
• Santé de base : Éducation sanitaire (12261) (70,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Le projet soutient des adolescents, en particulier des filles de 13 à 18 ans, dans 71 communautés au Nigéria et au Sénégal, où les adolescents sont exposés à de très hauts niveaux de risques pour leur santé. Le projet est conçu pour renforcer les comportements qui réduisent les risques de transmission du VIH/SIDA, de maladies transmises sexuellement et qui réduisent les risques de grossesses précoces ou non-souhaitées parmi les adolescents. Il vise également à améliorer la protection des adolescents, spécialement les filles, contre la violence et l’abus sexuel, et à améliorer le niveau d’alphabétisation et les compétences professionnelles parmi les participants adolescents. World Renew travaille en partenariat avec l'Église Évangélique Luthérienne du Sénégal (EELS) et le Comité Evangélique de Coordination pour la Santé (CECS) au Sénégal, et l’initiative Beacon of Hope Initiative (BHI) au Nigéria.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : i) l'augmentation de comportements sains qui réduisent les risques de transmission du VIH/SIDA et des maladies transmises sexuellement (MTS) et qui réduisent les risques de grossesses précoces ou non-souhaitées parmi les adolescents; ii) la protection accruedes enfants et des jeunes contre la violence et l’abus sexuel; iii) l'augmentation de l’engagement des participants du programme dans des activités génératrices de revenus.

Résultats atteints 

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (avril 2017) : 1) 9 278 jeunes (6 799 filles) au Sénégal et au Nigéria ont reçu une éducation sur la santé sexuelle et génésique chez les adolescents et les droits connexes. Cette amélioration des connaissances liées à la santé génésique a permis aux jeunes de communiquer leurs droits avec une plus grande confiance et aux collectivités d’être mieux à même de cerner les allégations d’abus sexuel, d’en discuter et d’y réagir; 2) le pourcentage de jeunes qui peuvent nommer deux ou trois moyens de contraception s’est accru de 88 % par rapport aux données de référence. Ces plus grandes connaissances ont amélioré leur capacité à parler ouvertement avec les membres de leur famille, ce qui a permis d’augmenter les comportements sains qui réduisent le risque de contracter le VIH/sida ou une infection transmissible sexuellement (ITS) et de vivre une grossesse précoce ou non désirée; 3) 100 groupes communautaires, conseils de quartier et groupes de parents ont été créés, ce qui a permis d’offrir une protection accrue aux jeunes contre la violence et l’abus sexuel; 4) on a observé une diminution du pourcentage de jeunes qui ont vécu de la coercition sexuelle (moyenne pondérée de 5,9 % au Nigéria et au Sénégal) et qui pensaient qu’il était justifié de frapper une partenaire féminine (8,1 %); 5) au Nigéria, 180 jeunes décrocheurs (126 filles) ont reçu une formation professionnelle directement grâce au projet, et 100 jeunes différents (70 filles) ont reçu une formation commerciale et un capital de démarrage dans le cadre du projet. Le projet a permis d’appuyer des adolescents au Sénégal et au Nigéria afin qu’ils prennent en charge leur santé génésique, se protègent de la violence sexuelle et résistent au mariage précoce et au mariage forcé.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 83 903 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-03-2018 Déboursé 83 903 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Interventions de type projet
Date de modification :