Project profile — Maternal Access and Infant Survival for Health Advancement

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Maternal Access and Infant Survival for Health Advancement - Overview
CA-3-S065559001
$1,465,512
College of the Rockies (CA-CRA_ACR-3107273989)
2012-09-13 - 2017-12-31
Terminating
Country / region • Kenya (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Personnel development for population and reproductive health (13081) (80.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (principal objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project aims to reduce maternal mortality rates by increasing access to quality health care during pregnancy and delivery in the Nyeri region in Central Province and the Migori region in Nyanza Province in Kenya. This will be accomplished in partnership with the Kimathi University College of Technology (KUCT) working with the Ministry of Medical Services. Medical employees are trained in updated obstetric techniques and requisite equipment installed. Community Health Units are being established at all dispensaries to spread key health messages throughout the two regions. This project is known by its acronym 'MAISHA', which means 'life' in Swahili.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: Increased quality of gender-sensitive health care available to maternal and infant patients in rural Nyeri and Migori regions; Increased equitable use of quality health care infrastructure by maternal and infant patients in rural Nyeri and Migori

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (December 2017) include: (1) 100% of all targeted MAISHA’s facilities met the Ministry of Health guidelines for provision of Basic Emergency Obstetric and Newborn care in the Migori county and 75% in the Nyeri county; (2) 92% of surveyed community members expressed satisfaction with maternal newborn and child health services received at the health facilities in the targeted counties; (3) 90% of live births were attended by skilled health personnel; (4) 100% of the health facilities implemented policies and procedures referring to family-centered or baby-friendly care guidelines; and (5) 76% of facility health workers reported being very comfortable in each of the 11 key intrapartum situations (identify labour, dilation, fetal well-being, partogram, abnormal fetal heart rate, abnormal progress, NSVD, active 3rd stage, newborn resuscitation, PPH, BP emergency).

Financials

Financials


Original budget $237,238
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
31-03-2018 Disbursement $11,110
05-09-2017 Disbursement $63,781
01-09-2017 Disbursement $5,071
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Maternal Access and Infant Survival for Health Advancement - Related information
Related links
Partner website — College of the Rockies
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Other technical assistance
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Accès maternel et la survie infantile pour la promotion de la santé

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Accès maternel et la survie infantile pour la promotion de la santé - Aperçu
CA-3-S065559001
1 465 512 $
College of the Rockies (CA-CRA_ACR-3107273989)
2012-09-13 - 2017-12-31
Finalisation
Pays / région • Kenya (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Formation de personnel en matière de population et de santé et fertilité (13081) (80,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif principal)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet vise à réduire les taux de mortalité maternelle en améliorant l'accès aux soins de santé de qualité pendant la grossesse et l'accouchement dans la région de Nyeri, dans la province centrale et la région Migori dans la province de Nyanza au Kenya. Cet objectif sera réalisé en partenariat avec le Collège Kimathi University of Technology (KUCT) travaille avec le ministère des Services médicaux. Employés médicaux sont formés aux techniques obstétricales mis à jour et de l'équipement nécessaire est installé. Les bureaux de santé communautaires sont mis en place à tous les dispensaires pour diffuser des messages clés de la santé tout au long des deux régions. Ce projet est connu sous son acronyme anglais «MAISHA», qui signifie «vie» en swahili.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : augmentation de la qualité des services de santé pour les mères et les nouveau-nés dans les régions rurales de Nyeri et Migori; augmentation de l’usage équitable d’infrastructures de santé de qualité par les mères et les nouveau-nés dans les régions rurales de Nyeri et Migori.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (décembre 2017) : 1) 100 % de tous les établissements ciblés du projet MAISHA ont respecté les directives du Ministère de la Santé pour la fourniture de soins obstétriques d'urgence de base et de soins aux nouveau-nés dans le comté de Migori et 75 % dans le comté de Nyeri ; 2) 92 % des membres des communautés interrogés se sont déclarés satisfaits des services de santé maternelle, néonatale et infantile reçus dans les établissements de santé des comtés ciblés ; 3) 90 % des naissances vivantes ont été assistées par un personnel de santé qualifié ; 4) 100 % des établissements de santé ont mis en œuvre des politiques et des procédures se référant aux directives de soins centrés sur la famille ou amis des bébés ; 5) 76 % des agents de santé des établissements ont déclaré être très à l'aise dans chacune des 11 principales situations intrapartum (identification du travail, dilatation, bien-être du fœtus, partogramme, rythme cardiaque fœtal anormal, progression anormale, NSVD, 3e stade actif, réanimation du nouveau-né, HPP, BP d'urgence).

Finances

Finances


Budget original 237 238 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
31-03-2018 Déboursé 11 110 $
05-09-2017 Déboursé 63 781 $
01-09-2017 Déboursé 5 071 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Accès maternel et la survie infantile pour la promotion de la santé - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Autres formes d’assistance technique
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: