Project profile — Reduction of Maternal and Neonatal Mortality

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Reduction of Maternal and Neonatal Mortality - Overview
CA-3-S065570001
$1,189,650
Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-2108099045)
2012-12-05 - 2016-04-30
Closed
Country / region • Mali (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Health policy and administrative management (12110) (20.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health
Reproductive health care (13020) (80.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Youth Issues (significant objective)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The project supports Mali’s efforts to improve the maternal and neonatal health and helps improve access to and quality of care for more than 596,919 pregnant women, new mothers and their newborns. The project aligns with the Government of Mali’s priorities to improve the quality of and access to health services in order to reduce maternal and neonatal mortality and morbidity rates, which remain high in Mali. It builds on the knowledge and lessons learned from a research-action project (QUARITÉ trial), initiated in 2007 by the University of Montréal and the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) in 12 referral health centres (CsREF) which offer comprehensive emergency obstetrical care. This project specifically aims to improve the availability and accessibility of essential obstetrical and neonatal care in the country’s functional health structures.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: National strategy to reduce maternal and neonatal mortality supported by key players in the sector, including interventions focused on obstetric and neonatal emergency care (EmOC) recognized for their effectiveness in saving the lives of mothers and newborns and promoting a human rights approach; Increased collaboration between the leaders of professional associations and key players in the health sector in the implementation of the national strategy to reduce maternal and neonatal mortality.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of December 2013 include: 1) Training key national stakeholders in evidence-based emergency obstetric and neonatal care (EmONC); 2) holding a workshop to reflect on the updating of EmONC clinical guidelines; 3) conducting an initial tour of 9 out of 10 referral health centres (CSREFs)/regional hospitals that have participated in the QUARITÉ project; 4) providing GESTA [labour and delivery management] International training for opinion leaders of the 12 new CSREFs/regional hospitals targeted and a training in maternal death audit implementation methodology; 5) training four supervisors to conduct maternal death audit activities at CSREFs/regional hospitals; 6) holding workshops devoted to an organizational assessment of two associations, involving 10 leaders of the Société malienne de gynécologie obstétrique [society of obstetricians and gynaecologists of Mali] (three of whom are women) and 13 leaders of the Association des Sages-Femmes du Mali [Malian midwives’ association].

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Reduction of Maternal and Neonatal Mortality - Related information
Related links
Partner website — Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Donor country personnel
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale - Aperçu
CA-3-S065570001
1 189 650 $
Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-2108099045)
2012-12-05 - 2016-04-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Mali (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Politique de la santé et gestion administrative (12110) (20,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité
Soins en matière de fertilité (13020) (80,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (objectif significatif)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Le projet appuie le Mali dans ses efforts pour améliorer la santé des mères et des nouveau-nés et contribue à améliorer l’accès et la qualité des soins pour plus 596,919 femmes enceintes, nouvelles mamans et leurs nouveau-nés. Le projet concorde avec les priorités du Gouvernement malien visant à améliorer la qualité et l’accès aux soins de santé en vue de diminuer les hauts taux de mortalité et de morbidité chez les mères et les nouveau-nés qui persistent au Mali. Il se base sur les acquis et les leçons apprises d’un projet de recherche-action (Essai QUARITÉ), initié en 2007 par l’Université Montréal et la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC), au sein de 12 centres de santé de référence (CsREF) offrant les soins obstétricaux d’urgence complets. Le projet vise tout particulièrement le renforcement de la disponibilité et de l’accessibilité du paquet de soins obstétricaux et néonataux essentiels dans les structures de santé fonctionnelles du pays.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : Stratégie nationale de réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale appuyée par les acteurs clés du secteur, intégrant des interventions centrées sur les soins obstétricaux et néonataux d’urgence (SONU) reconnues pour leur efficacité à sauver la vie des mères et des nouveau-nés et faisant la promotion de l’approche des droits; Collaboration accrue entre les leaders des associations professionnelles et les acteurs clé du secteur de la Santé pour l’opérationnalisation de la stratégie nationale de réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en décembre 2013 : 1) la formation des acteurs clés au niveau national aux évidences probantes en matière des soins obstétricaux et néonataux d’urgence (SONU); 2) la tenue d’un atelier de réflexion sur la mise à jour des directives cliniques en SONU; 3) une première tournée dans 9 des 10 centres de santé de référence (CsREF)/hôpitaux régionaux ayant participé au projet QUARITÉ; 4) la tenue d’une formation GESTA (Gestion du travail et de l'accouchement) International pour les leaders d’opinion des 12 nouveaux CsREF/hôpitaux régionaux ciblés, ainsi qu’une formation sur la méthodologie pour la mise en place des audits de décès maternels; 5) la formation de quatre superviseures pour mener les activités des audits de décès maternels dans les CsREF/hôpitaux régionaux; 6) la tenue d’ateliers dédiés à l’évaluation organisationnelle de deux associations, avec la participation de 10 leaders de la Société malienne de gynécologie obstétrique (dont 3 sont des femmes) et de 13 leaders de l’Association des Sages-Femmes du Mali.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Personnel du pays donneur
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: