Project profile — Protecting the Health of Mothers and Newborns

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Protecting the Health of Mothers and Newborns - Overview
CA-3-S065669001
$4,180,189
University of Alberta (CA-CRA_ACR-0010009266)
2013-01-28 - 2018-04-30
Closed
Country / region • Ethiopia (100.00%)
Sector • Health, General
Medical education/training (12181) (25.00%)
• Basic Health
Basic health care (12220) (50.00%)
• Basic Health
Health personnel development (12281) (25.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (significant objective)
• Children's issues (significant objective)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

This initiative aims to improve the skills of 200 primary health workers and 4,500 midwives to deliver healthy babies, benefiting more than 50,000 women and 100,000 children in a country with one of the highest maternal mortality rates in the world. This project also strengthens the skills of health specialists and officers to deal with emergency birthing situations, and contributes to building the institutional capacity of the two local partners, the Federal Ministry of Health and St. Paul’s Hospital Millennium Medical College. This project seeks to reduce the incidence of illness and death in mothers during childbirth and in the period just before and just after, by enhancing the teaching and clinical skills of key frontline workers in the Ethiopian health system involved in maternal and newborn health.

Expected results

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: increased use of good quality skilled birth attendants among expectant mothers; increased use of improved referral system for emergency birthing situations; and enhanced institutional environment to support sustainable, equitable and gender sensitive maternal health services.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of the end of the project (April 2018) include: (1) 103 midwifery educators, also known as senior midwife tutors (SMT), from 55 midwifery educational institutions across Ethiopia were trained. The majority of graduates of SMT training program reported that its content was relevant to filling their knowledge and skills gaps as instructors and midwife practitioners; (2) opportunities to practice midwifery skills were created for several midwife tutors who had no prior experience of attending labor during their previous educational experiences; (3) 51 institutions each received a donation of two clinical simulation dolls to use for training of staff; (4) 575 participants attended training sessions on topics related to maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH), of which more than half of the trainees were women and the majority (90.2%) of these women were from North Shoa zone; (5) 1,250 caesarian sections and 3,302 obstetrical ultrasound examinations were performed between 2015 and 2017, which minimized unnecessary referrals to other health centres, and allowed mothers and newborns to receive services close to where they live; (6) obstetric referrals from Fiche Hospital to St. Paul’s Hospital Millenium Medical College (SPHMMC) were decreased from 107 per year in 2015 to 6 per year in 2017 demonstrating that the skills learned allowed to provide services in more regions; (7) the number of stillbirths and neonatal deaths declined despite an increase in the number of deliveries; (8) research capacity building was provided to SPHMMC’s staff and other stakeholders, as well as training on Health Management Information Systems (HMIS); (9) facilitation services and provision of financial support was provided for observing-visits at Canadian health institutions and participation in international and national conferences; (10) training on MicroResearch (MR) was provided to 82 participants from SPHMMC and other stakeholders which helped to address knowledge and skill gaps of research team members; (11) financing was provided for 14 small research projects on MNCH topics, and the research was conducted by multidisciplinary teams from SPHMMC; and (12) two of the health centres in SPHMMC’s catchment area were converted to primary care centres with the capacity to perform caesarian sections, which has resulted in less cases being referred to SPHMMC and the two primary care centres being able to take on additional cases from SPHMMC when they have too many patients.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $223,354
Planned Disbursement $0
Transactions
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Protecting the Health of Mothers and Newborns - Related information
Related links
Partner website — University of Alberta
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Partnerships for Devlpmnt Innovation
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Other technical assistance
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Protection de la santé des mères et des nouveau-nés

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Protection de la santé des mères et des nouveau-nés - Aperçu
CA-3-S065669001
4 180 189 $
Université de l'Alberta (CA-CRA_ACR-0010009266)
2013-01-28 - 2018-04-30
Fermé
Pays / région • Éthiopie (100,00%)
Secteur • Santé, général
Éducation et formation médicales (12181) (25,00%)
• Santé de base
Soins et services de santé de base (12220) (50,00%)
• Santé de base
Formation de personnel de santé (12281) (25,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Questions touchant les enfants (objectif significatif)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

Cette initiative renforce les compétences de 200 travailleurs de la santé en matière de prestation de soins de santé primaire et de 4 500 sages-femmes à mettre au monde des bébés en santé. Plus de 50 000 femmes et 100 000 enfants profiteront de cette initiative mise en œuvre dans un pays où le taux de mortalité maternelle est l’un des plus élevés au monde. Ce projet renforce aussi les compétences des spécialistes de la santé et des agents de santé à intervenir de manière efficace dans le cas d’accouchements d'urgence. Il contribue de plus à développer la capacité institutionnelle de deux partenaires locaux, soit le ministère fédéral de la Santé et le Collège médical Millenium de l'Hôpital St. Paul. Ce projet vise à réduire la mortalité et la morbidité chez les mères au moment de l’accouchement et durant la période périnatale, en renforçant les compétences cliniques et pédagogiques des travailleurs de la santé de première ligne du système de santé éthiopien qui travaillent dans le domaine de la santé des mères et des nouveau-nés.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : un usage accru des sages-femmes compétentes parmi les femmes enceintes; un usage accrus d’un système amélioré de consultation en situation de naissance d’urgence; et un environnement institutionnel amélioré au soutien de services de maternité durables, équitables et sensible au genre.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu'à la fin du projet (avril 2018) : 1) 103 éducateurs en sage-femmerie — ou senior midwife tutors (SMT) — issus de 55 établissements d’enseignement éthiopiens ont suivi une formation. La majorité des diplômés du programme de SMT ont affirmé que celui-ci leur a permis de combler des lacunes qu’ils avaient en tant qu’instructeurs ou praticiens, et ce autant sur le plan des connaissances que des compétences; 2) des éducateurs en sage-femmerie n’ayant jamais assisté à un accouchement au cours de leurs expériences éducatives antérieures ont eu l’occasion de mettre en pratique leurs compétences de sages-femmes; 3) 51 établissements ont chacun reçu deux poupées de simulation clinique pour la formation de leur personnel; 4) 575 participants, dont la moitié était des femmes — la majorité d’entre elles (90,2 %) étaient originaires de la zone du Nord-Choa — ont assisté à des séances de formation portant sur des sujets ayant trait à la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (SMNE); 5) entre 2015 et 2017, on a procédé à 1 250 césariennes et à 3 302 échographies obstétricales, réduisant ainsi la nécessité de rediriger les patients vers d’autres centres de santé, ce qui a permis aux mères et à leurs nouveau-nés de recevoir les services dont ils avaient besoin à proximité de leur domicile; 6) le nombre de patients en obstétrique devant être redirigés du Fiche Hospital au St. Paul’s Hospital Millennium Medical College (SPHMMC) a diminué — passant de 107 en 2017 à 6 en 2015 —, démontrant ainsi que les compétences acquises ont permis d’accroître l’offre de service dans les régions; 7) le taux de mortinatalité et de mort néonatale a diminué, et ce en dépit d’une augmentation du nombre d’accouchements; 8) le personnel du SPHMMC ainsi que d’autres intervenants ont reçu une formation au sujet des systèmes de gestion de l’information sur la santé ainsi qu’une formation sur la capacité de recherche; 9) des services de facilitation ainsi qu’un soutien financier ont été fournis afin de permettre des visites à des établissements de soins de santé canadiens et la participation à des conférences nationales et internationales; 10) 82 participants du SPHMMC ainsi que d’autres intervenants ont reçu une formation MicroResearch, ce qui a permis aux membres des équipes de recherche de combler certaines de leurs lacunes sur le plan des connaissances et des compétences; 11) 14 projets de recherche de petite envergure — menés par des équipes multidisciplinaires du SPHMMC et portant sur des sujets relatifs à la SMNE — ont reçu du financement; 12) deux centres de santé situés dans la zone desservie par le SPHMMC ont été convertis en centre de soins primaires pouvant pratiquer des césariennes. Par conséquent, on a redirigé moins de patients vers le SPHMMC et, au besoin, les deux centres ont pu alléger la surcharge de patients du SPHMMC.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 223 354 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Protection de la santé des mères et des nouveau-nés - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariats innovation et develop
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Autres formes d’assistance technique
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: