Project profile — Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development - International Internships 2013-2014



Overview 

CA-3-S065695001
$310,000
Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (CA-CRA_ACR-3864967922)
2013-03-18 - 2014-03-31
Closed
Global Affairs Canada
KFM Intl Dev Partnerships & Operations

Country / region 

• Vietnam (5.00%)
• Bangladesh (5.00%)
• Antigua and Barbuda (5.00%)
• Suriname (5.00%)
• Thailand (5.00%)
• Dominican Republic (10.00%)
• Lesotho (20.00%)
• Saint Lucia (10.00%)
• Tanzania (5.00%)
• Belize (5.00%)
• Uganda (15.00%)
• South Africa (10.00%)

Sector 

• Basic Health: Health education (12261) (50.00%)
• Population Policies/Programmes And Reproductive Health: STD control including HIV/AIDS (13040) (50.00%)

Policy marker 

• Gender equality (significant objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)

Description 

This project is part of CIDA's International Youth Internship Program (IYIP), funded by the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES). The IYIP contributes to the YES by providing a large spectrum of Canadian graduates with valuable international development work experience abroad.

Expected results 

The expected intermediate outcomes for this project include: (i) increased awareness among female and male Canadian youth of the equal possibility of working internationally; (ii) enhanced equal employability of female and male International Youth Internship Program (IYIP) interns in Canada and in the field of international development; and (iii) improved capacity of female and male IYIP interns to contribute to international development in a gender-sensitive way.

Results achieved 

Interagency Coalition on Aids and Development (S065695) coordinated 20 (18 F and 2 M) internships in 11 countries (Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominican Republic, Bangladesh, Thailand, Suriname, Vietnam, Tanzania, Uganda, Lesotho and South Africa). Results achieved as of the end of the project (March 2014): Interns have gained and identified tangible skills. As a result, one intern has been offered a position with her host-organization; three interns have been offered additional internships; nine interns intend to pursue additional education; and seven interns intend to look for work in international development. Interns also contributed to the World AIDS Day blog series by using various mediums (text, photo, video) and exposed to a wide general audience the nature of HIV vulnerabilities in diverse global settings while increasing awareness and knowledge of the IYIP program. A probative result is the interns’ increased understanding of the connections between gender inequality, poverty, food insecurity, vulnerability/resiliency and the effects of marginalization on HIV and health. Interns had contributed positively to the development objectives of host organizations. ICAD, as host organization, has experienced a dramatic increase in traffic on the Development Voices Blog due to the influx of new content, with 2,051 visits and 4926 pages views indicating visitors an average of 2.4 pages per visit.

Budget and spending 


Original budget $307,000
Planned disbursement $0
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
10-07-2013 Disbursement $65,875
10-10-2013 Disbursement $49,332
16-01-2014 Disbursement $51,718
20-03-2014 Disbursement $15,500
Country percentages by sector
Type of finance Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Collaboration type Bilateral
Type of aid Donor country personnel
Date modified:

Profil de projet — Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development - Stages internationaux 2013-2014



Aperçu 

CA-3-S065695001
310 000 $
Coalition interagence sida et développement (CA-CRA_ACR-3864967922)
2013-03-18 - 2014-03-31
Fermé
Affaires mondiales Canada
KFM Partenariat&Ops dével international

Pays / région 

• Viêt-Nam (5,00%)
• Bangladesh (5,00%)
• Antigua-et-Barbuda (5,00%)
• Suriname (5,00%)
• Thaïlande (5,00%)
• République dominicaine (10,00%)
• Lesotho (20,00%)
• Sainte-Lucie (10,00%)
• Tanzanie (5,00%)
• Bélize (5,00%)
• Ouganda (15,00%)
• Afrique du Sud (10,00%)

Secteur 

• Santé de base : Éducation sanitaire (12261) (50,00%)
• Politique en matière de population/santé et fertilité : Lutte contre les MST et le VIH/sida (13040) (50,00%)

Marqueur politique 

• Égalité entre les sexes (objectif significatif)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)

Description 

Ce projet fait partie du programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ) de l'ACDI, programme financé par la Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement du Canada. Le PSIJ contribue au SEJ en fournissant à un large éventail de jeunes diplômé(e)s canadien(ne)s une enrichissante expérience de travail à l'étranger en développement international.

Résultats escomptés 

Les résultats intermédiaires escomptés de ce projet comprennent : i) sensibilisation accrue parmi les jeunes canadiens, hommes et femmes, aux possibilités égales d’emploi au niveau international ; ii) employabilité accrue et égale des femmes et hommes stagiaires du Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ) au Canada et dans le domaine du développement international ; et iii) capacité accrue des femmes et hommes stagiaires du PSIJ à contribuer au développement international de manière sensible aux inégalités entre les femmes et les hommes.

Résultats atteints 

La Coalition interagence sida et développement (CISD) (S065695) a coordonné 20 stages, pour 18 jeunes femmes et deux jeunes hommes, dans 11 pays : à Antigua-et-Barbuda, au Bélize, en République Dominicaine, au Bangladesh, en Thaïlande, au Suriname, au Vietnam, en Tanzanie, en Ouganda, au Lesotho et en Afrique du Sud. Parmi les résultats obtenus à la fin du projet en mars 2014 : Les stagiaires ont visiblement acquis des compétences. Une des stagiaires s’est vue offrir un poste au sein de son organisation hôte, trois stagiaires ont obtenu d’autres stages, neuf stagiaires ont l’intention de poursuivre leurs études et sept stagiaires ont l’intention de trouver un emploi en développement international. Les stagiaires ont également contribué à la série de blogues de la Journée mondiale du sida, par l’entremise de divers médias (textes, photos, vidéos) et ont diffusé à un large auditoire des renseignements sur la nature des vulnérabilités associées au VIH dans divers contextes internationaux, tout en augmentant la sensibilisation et les connaissances concernant le PSIJ. Un résultat probant est l’augmentation de la compréhension qu’ont les stagiaires au sujet des liens qui existent entre l’inégalité entre les sexes, la pauvreté, l’insécurité alimentaire, les vulnérabilités/la résilience et les effets de la marginalisation sur le VIH et le secteur de la santé. Les stagiaires ont aidé de manière positive les organisations hôtes à atteindre leurs objectifs de développement. En tant qu’organisation hôte, la CISD a connu une plus grande visibilité dans le Development Voices Blog grâce à l’injection de nouveau contenu, recevant 2 051 visiteurs et 4 926 pages ont été visionnées, ce qui représente 2,4 pages visionnées par visiteur.

Budget et dépenses 


Budget original 307 000 $
Décaissements prévus 0 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
10-07-2013 Déboursé 65 875 $
10-10-2013 Déboursé 49 332 $
16-01-2014 Déboursé 51 718 $
20-03-2014 Déboursé 15 500 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Type de financement Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Type de collaboration Bilatéral
Type d'aide Personnel du pays donneur
Date de modification :