Project profile — Empowering Women through Sustainable Entrepreneurship in Morocco

Download project profile:

Overview

Overview

Empowering Women through Sustainable Entrepreneurship in Morocco - Overview
CA-3-D003528001
$5,700,500
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2018-05-14 - 2023-12-31
Operational
Country / region • Morocco (100.00%)
Sector • Government And Civil Society, General
Women’s equality organisations and institutions (15170) (60.00%)
• Business And Other Services
Business support services and institutions (25010) (20.00%)
• Business And Other Services
Business Development Services (25030) (20.00%)
Policy marker • Gender equality (principal objective)
• Environmental sustainability (cross-cutting) (significant objective)
• Climate change mitigation (not targeted)
• Indigenous Issues (not targeted)
• Biodiversity (not targeted)
• Children's issues (not targeted)
• Desertification (not targeted)
• Climate Change Adaptation (not targeted)
• Urban issues (not targeted)
• Participatory development and good governance (not targeted)
• ICT as a tool for development (not targeted)
• Trade development (not targeted)
• Youth Issues (not targeted)
• Disability (not targeted)
Description and results

Description

The purpose of the project is to economically empower rural women in Morocco’s Marrakesh-Safi region. The project seeks to increase women’s decision-making power over their businesses, to improve business development support services’ responsiveness to gender equality issues, and to engage communities in supporting women’s rights and breaking down gender stereotypes (in public and private spheres) related to women’s entrepreneurship. The project seeks to ensure that women have genuine, full control over the assets, technologies, finances and benefits of their economic activities and that gender stereotypes are significantly reduced and eliminated in the rural communities of the Marrakesh-Safi region. Project activities include the following: (1) implementing perennial and inclusive groups of Village Savings and Loans Associations (VSLAs) for marginalized women, and providing these women with training to foster their personal development and promote more efficient financial management; (2) guiding women-led cooperatives in developing ties with financial institutions and credit sources so they can implement their business plans; (3) training business support institutions and civil society organizations to support women-led businesses and to use dialogue instruments to reduce the gender-related barriers facing women’s entrepreneurship; and (4) training targeted households so that tasks are divided fairly and there is greater acceptance of women’s involvement in economic matters.

Expected results

The expected results for this project include the following: (1) women’s decision-making power over their businesses is increased; (2) business development support services are more responsive to gender equality issues; and (3) communities are engaged in supporting women’s rights and breaking down gender stereotypes (in public and private spheres) related to women’s entrepreneurship.

Results achieved

Results achieved as of March 2022 include: (1) initiated activities with the 15 cooperatives of the third cohort (eight artisanal and seven olive); (2) identified, mobilized, and created 18 village savings and credit associations of the third cohort. The associations come from 16 small villages in different communes of El Haouz province; (3) completed literacy classes for these village associations and for the cooperatives of the second cohort. There were 22 classes in partnership with 15 associations and 324 participants; (4) provided a training cycle on gender and equitable household management to 100 female and 100 male community members (trainers from the selected civil society organizations gave the courses); (5) organized a brainstorming workshop on the social and solidarity economy with civil society organizations working with youth and women in different Moroccan regions; (6) organized a roundtable on the gender approach in the services of trade support and social entrepreneurship institutions; (7) prepared a national media campaign on women's participation in economic life and women's entrepreneurship; and (8) implemented a media plan.

Financials

Financials


Original budget $0
Planned Disbursement $1,204,764
Transactions
Transaction Date Type Value
02-08-2022 Disbursement $195,415
18-01-2023 Disbursement $325,014
21-09-2022 Disbursement $478,045
Country Percentages by Sector
Related information

Related information

Empowering Women through Sustainable Entrepreneurship in Morocco - Related information
Related links
Partner website — CARE Canada
Global Affairs Canada
EGM Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Magh
Aid grant excluding debt reorganisation
Bilateral
Project-type interventions
Legend

The coloured circles represent the number of markers in proximity. Simply click on the circle to zoom in for more information on projects.

2 to 9 markers 10 to 99 markers 100 to 999 markers 1,000 to 9,999 markers
Marker


Note: The Project Browser provides access to project data published by Global Affairs Canada in accordance with the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) standard. This is not meant for official reporting, but to provide information on past and current international projects.

Date modified:

Profil de projet — Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes à travers l’entreprenariat durable au Maroc

Télécharger le profil de projet :

Aperçu

Aperçu

Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes à travers l’entreprenariat durable au Maroc - Aperçu
CA-3-D003528001
5 700 500 $
CARE Canada (CA-CRA_ACR-0010011116)
2018-05-14 - 2023-12-31
Actif
Pays / région • Maroc (100,00%)
Secteur • Gouvernement et société civile, général
Organisations et institutions pour la lutte contre la corruption (15170) (60,00%)
• Entreprises et autres services
Services et institutions de soutien commerciaux (25010) (20,00%)
• Entreprises et autres services
Services de développement des affaires (25030) (20,00%)
Marqueur politique • Égalité entre les sexes (objectif principal)
• Durabilité de l'environnement (thème transversal) (objectif significatif)
• Changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les Autochtones (activité non orientée)
• Biodiversité (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les enfants (activité non orientée)
• Désertification (activité non orientée)
• Adaptation au changement climatique (activité non orientée)
• Questions urbaines (activité non orientée)
• Développement participatif/Bonne gouvernance (activité non orientée)
• Les TIC comme outils de développement (activité non orientée)
• Développement du commerce (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les jeunes (activité non orientée)
• Questions touchant les personnes handicapées (activité non orientée)
Description et résultats

Description

L’objectif du projet est le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes rurales de la région Marrakech-Safi au Maroc. Le projet vise l’augmentation du pouvoir de prise de décisions des femmes sur leurs entreprises, l’augmentation de la réactivité des services d’appui au développement des entreprises aux questions d’égalité entre les genres et l’engagement des communautés à soutenir les droits des femmes et briser les stéréotypes de genre (dans les sphères publique et privée) liés à l’entreprenariat féminin. Le projet vise à s’assurer que les femmes aient un réel et plein contrôle sur les biens, les technologies, les finances et les bénéfices de leurs activités économiques et que les stéréotypes de genre soient réduits significativement et éliminés dans les communautés rurales de la région de Marrakech-Safi. Les activités du projet comprennent : 1) la mise en place de groupes pérennes et inclusifs d’Associations villageoises de crédit et d’épargne (AVEC) pour les femmes marginalisées et la formation de ces dernières pour favoriser leur développement personnel et une gestion financière plus efficace; 2) l’accompagnement des coopératives dirigées par des femmes dans le développement de liens avec des institutions financières et des sources de crédit afin de mettre en œuvre leurs plans d’affaires; 3) la formation des institutions d’appui au commerce et des organisations de la société civile pour soutenir les entreprises dirigées par des femmes et utiliser des instruments de dialogue pour réduire les barrières de genre à l'entrepreneuriat féminin; 4) la formation des ménages ciblés pour une répartition équitable des tâches et pour une meilleure acceptation de la participation des femmes à la vie économique.

Résultats escomptés

Les résultats escomptés pour ce projet comprennent : 1) l’augmentation du pouvoir de prise de décisions des femmes sur leurs entreprises; 2) l’augmentation de la réactivité des services d’appui au développement des entreprises aux questions d’égalité entre les genres; 3) l’engagement des communautés à soutenir les droits des femmes et briser les stéréotypes de genre (dans les sphères publiques et privées) liés à l’entreprenariat féminin.

Résultats atteints

Parmi les résultats obtenus jusqu’en mars 2022 : 1) le lancement des activités avec les 15 coopératives de la troisième cohorte (huit cohortes artisanales et sept oléicoles); 2) l'identification, mobilisation et création de 18 associations villageoises d’épargne et de crédit de la troisième cohorte. Les associations viennent de 16 petits villages dans différentes communes de la province d’El Haouz; 3) l'achèvement des cours d’alphabétisation pour ces associations villageoises et pour les coopératives de la deuxième cohorte, soit 22 classes en partenariat avec 15 associations et 324 participantes); 4) l'offre d’un cycle de formation sur le genre et la gestion équitable des ménages à 100 femmes et 100 hommes membres des communautés (ce sont des formateurs et formatrices des organisations de la société civile sélectionnées qui donnent les cours); 5) l'organisation d’un atelier de remue-méninges sur l’économie sociale et solidaire avec des organisations de la société civile qui travaillent avec les jeunes et les femmes dans différentes régions marocaines; 6) l’organisation d’une table ronde sur l’approche genre dans les services des institutions d’appui au commerce et d’entrepreneuriat social; 7) la préparation d’une campagne médiatique nationale sur la participation des femmes à la vie économique et l’entrepreneuriat féminin; 8) la mise en place d’un plan médias.

Finances

Finances


Budget original 0 $
Décaissements prévus 1 204 764 $
Transactions
Date de la transaction Type Valeur
02-08-2022 Déboursé 195 415 $
18-01-2023 Déboursé 325 014 $
21-09-2022 Déboursé 478 045 $
Pourcentages des pays par secteur
Information reliée

Information reliée

Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes à travers l’entreprenariat durable au Maroc - Information reliée
Liens reliés
Site web du partenaire — CARE Canada
Divulgation proactive
Affaires mondiales Canada
EGM Europe, Arctique, Moyen-Orient et Ma
Don hors réorganisation de la dette (y compris quasi-dons)
Bilatéral
Interventions de type projet
Légende

Les cercles colorés indiquent le nombre de points de repère à proximité. D’un simple clic sur le cercle vous changez d’échelle pour accéder à l’information sur les projets.

2 à 9 points de repère 10 à 99 points de repère 100 à 999 points de repère 1 000 à 9 999 points de repère
Point de repère


Note : La Banque de projets donne accès aux données publiées par Affaires mondiales Canada selon le standard de l’Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA). Elle n'est pas conçue pour des fins de rapports officiels, mais pour fournir des renseignements sur les projets internationaux passés et actuels.

Date de modification: